{"eid":"graphcore","name":"Graphcore IPU Cloud","domain":"graphcore.ai","resolved_by":"domain","topics":["compute"],"n_records":1,"best_vorder":4,"review":null,"aliases":["Graphcore IPU Cloud","graphcore.ai"],"records":[{"rid":"compute/graphcore-ipu-cloud","card":{"rid":"compute/graphcore-ipu-cloud","eid":"graphcore","topic":"compute","slug":"graphcore-ipu-cloud","provider":"Graphcore IPU Cloud","url":"https://docs.graphcore.ai/projects/graphcloud-getting-started/en/latest/system.html","domain":"graphcore.ai","category":"cloud VM","tier":null,"verdict":"fails-identity","vorder":4,"grp":"rejected","confidence":"documented","binding":"write-gated","identity_kind":"institution","identity_basis":"stated","needs_card":0,"needs_phone":0,"needs_id":0,"needs_institution":1,"country":null,"crypto":null,"interfaces":"rest","egress_metered":null,"per_object_bytes":null,"retention_days":null,"verified_at":"2026-10-22T00:00:00.000Z","verified_basis":"live","checked_on":"2026-10-22","stale_on":"2026-11-21","n_evidence":4,"usd_month":null,"usd_per_tb_month":null,"summary":"The free tier is gone and what remains is a sales contract. Graphcore's Paperspace guide now opens with 'Running code on IPUs in Paperspace is no longer supp...","duplicate_of":null,"n_unknown":9},"record":{"topic":"compute","slug":"graphcore-ipu-cloud","provider":"Graphcore IPU Cloud","url":"https://docs.graphcore.ai/projects/graphcloud-getting-started/en/latest/system.html","category":"cloud VM","free_tier":{"stated":"The free tier is gone and what remains is a sales contract. Graphcore's Paperspace guide now opens with 'Running code on IPUs in Paperspace is no longer supported', and the page that advertised IPU cloud access 'with free trials and a range of pricing options' returns 404 today. The surviving lane is Graphcloud, whose systems are 'available on Graphcloud that you can purchase access to' with 'Full pricing details for accessing these systems... available from Cirrascale or from Graphcore sales'. The smallest listed system is a Bow Pod16: four Bow-2000s and a host server.","unit":"none","metered_on":"wall-clock","source_url":"https://docs.graphcore.ai/projects/graphcloud-getting-started/en/latest/system.html","read_on":"2026-10-22","notes":"none"},"per_object_cap":{"stated":"not applicable","bytes":null,"source_url":"https://docs.graphcore.ai/projects/graphcloud-getting-started/en/latest/system.html","notes":null},"retention":{"stated":"not applicable","days":null,"source_url":"https://docs.graphcore.ai/projects/graphcloud-getting-started/en/latest/system.html","notes":null},"egress":{"terms":"not stated","metered":false,"free_allowance":null,"price_per_tb":null,"source_url":"https://docs.graphcore.ai/projects/graphcloud-getting-started/en/latest/system.html"},"interface":["rest"],"interface_detail":"inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed","tooling":"not stated","chaining":"It chains with nothing for a user: a four-card minimum and a quote step sit outside a single-person budget, and the free IPU-POD4 notebook route that did fit has now been withdrawn on two independent platforms.","limits":[{"kind":"write-gated","value":"no published price and no self-serve checkout: the entry step is a quote from Graphcore sales or Cirrascale for a four-card minimum.","source":"https://docs.graphcore.ai/projects/graphcloud-getting-started/en/latest/system.html"}],"limits_note":"no published price and no self-serve checkout: the entry step is a quote from Graphcore sales or Cirrascale for a four-card minimum.","binding":"write-gated","binding_note":"no published price and no self-serve checkout: the entry step is a quote from Graphcore sales or Cirrascale for a four-card minimum.","identity_cost":{"kind":"institution","detail":null,"country":null},"reliability_note":"no reliability event recorded","confidence":"documented","evidence":[{"url":"https://docs.graphcore.ai/projects/paperspace-getting-started/en/latest/overview.html","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"'Running code on IPUs in Paperspace is no longer supported', quoted at the top of the guide"},{"url":"https://www.graphcore.ai/ipus-in-the-cloud","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"the page that carried the free-trial claim returns 404 to the broker today"},{"url":"https://docs.graphcore.ai/projects/graphcloud-getting-started/en/latest/system.html","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"'Full pricing details for accessing these systems are available from Cirrascale or from Graphcore sales', quoted, with Bow Pod16 as the smallest example"},{"url":"https://docs.digitalocean.com/release-notes/machines/","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"release note dated 26 February 2024: 'Graphcore IPU machines are now discontinued in Notebooks'"}],"verdict":"fails-identity","verified_at":"2026-10-22T00:00:00.000Z","notes":"Three candidates tested for the free lane: (a) it moved to Paperspace under a new name, refuted by the 'no longer supported' banner plus the DigitalOcean discontinuation note; (b) it moved to Graphcloud with a trial, refuted by the 404 on the page that claimed free trials and by quote-only pricing; (c) only notebook hosting died, refuted because no live page on graphcore.ai offers a trial. What would reopen it: a published trial SKU on the Cirrascale marketplace.","extras":{"wave2":{"class":"refutation","free_tier_kind":"none","shape":{"vcpu":null,"ram_gib":null,"gpu_class":"Graphcore Bow-2000 IPU","gpu_count":4}}}},"claims":[{"path":"$.free_tier.stated","kind":"free-quota","num":null,"unit":null,"per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"unparsed"},{"path":"$.limits[0].value","kind":"limit:write-gated","num":null,"unit":null,"per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"unparsed"}],"unknown":[["$.egress.metered","egress-unknown"],["$.egress.terms","not-stated"],["$.identity_cost.detail","process"],["$.per_object_cap.notes","process"],["$.per_object_cap.stated","not-applicable"],["$.reliability_note","none-observed"],["$.retention.notes","process"],["$.retention.stated","not-applicable"],["$.tooling","not-stated"]],"history":[],"drift":[]}]}