{"rid":"compute/databricks","card":{"rid":"compute/databricks","eid":"databricks","topic":"compute","slug":"databricks","provider":"Databricks","url":"https://www.databricks.com/product/startups","domain":"databricks.com","category":"cloud VM","tier":null,"verdict":"trial-only","vorder":2,"grp":"trial","confidence":"documented","binding":"volume-quota","identity_kind":"email","identity_basis":"stated","needs_card":0,"needs_phone":0,"needs_id":0,"needs_institution":0,"country":null,"crypto":null,"interfaces":null,"egress_metered":null,"per_object_bytes":null,"retention_days":14,"verified_at":"2026-10-23T10:57:29.000Z","verified_basis":"live","checked_on":"2026-10-24","stale_on":"2026-11-23","n_evidence":3,"usd_month":null,"usd_per_tb_month":null,"summary":"'Up to $400 in credits' on the free-trial table, with 'Full Databricks platform access for two (2) weeks used for business evaluation'. The page adds: 'A cus...","duplicate_of":null,"n_unknown":7},"record":{"topic":"compute","slug":"databricks","provider":"Databricks","url":"https://www.databricks.com/product/startups","category":"cloud VM","free_tier":{"stated":"'Up to $400 in credits' on the free-trial table, with 'Full Databricks platform access for two (2) weeks used for business evaluation'. The page adds: 'A customer's eligibility for credits under this offer, the amount of credits (if any), and when any credits expire are solely determined by Databricks following account creation.'","unit":"mixed","metered_on":"wall-clock","source_url":"https://www.databricks.com/try-databricks","read_on":"2026-10-23"},"per_object_cap":{"stated":"not applicable","bytes":null,"source_url":"https://www.databricks.com/product/startups","notes":null},"retention":{"stated":"platform access for 14 days; the credit's expiry is determined by Databricks after signup, and the trial ends when the credits are exhausted","days":14,"source_url":"https://www.databricks.com/try-databricks"},"egress":{"terms":"not stated","metered":false,"free_allowance":null,"price_per_tb":null,"source_url":"https://www.databricks.com/product/startups"},"interface":["unknown"],"interface_detail":"inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed","tooling":"not stated","chaining":"USD 200,000 on Databricks compute is the largest credit in the data-platform group and it also funds Neon Postgres, so one approval covers both a warehouse and an app database. The chain breaks at the funding round.","limits":[{"kind":"volume-quota","value":"up to USD 400 of credits, 14 days of platform access, amount at Databricks' discretion","source":"https://www.databricks.com/try-databricks"}],"limits_note":"this is a ceiling, not a grant: the page states eligibility, amount and expiry are decided after account creation","binding":"volume-quota","binding_note":"the credit is a discretionary ceiling with a 14-day access window, so the balance and the window end it together","identity_cost":{"kind":"email","detail":"no credit card is required to start the trial; a work email is recommended for full trial benefits, and the Free Edition accepts a personal address","country":null},"reliability_note":"no reliability event recorded","confidence":"documented","evidence":[{"url":"https://www.databricks.com/try-databricks","date":"2026-10-23","proved":"quoted: 'Up to $400 in credits' and 'Full Databricks platform access for two (2) weeks used for business evaluation'"},{"url":"https://www.databricks.com/try-databricks","date":"2026-10-23","proved":"quoted: 'No credit card is required to start your Databricks free trial.' and the discretion clause on eligibility, amount and expiry"},{"url":"https://www.databricks.com/product/pricing","date":"2026-10-23","proved":"200 with 413 words; every instance-type path returned 404 or an empty extraction, so no DBU rate was established"}],"verdict":"trial-only","verified_at":"2026-10-23T10:57:29.000Z","notes":"The 14 days is the access window, not a stated credit expiry. No all-purpose-cluster DBU rate could be read, so the credit cannot be sized as a machine. Working against the client's own cloud account bills that cloud provider directly, outside the credit.","extras":{"wave2":{"class":"startup-credit","free_tier_kind":"one-shot-credit","shape":null},"credit_usd_ceiling":400,"access_days":14,"dbu_rate":null},"confidence_note":"the trial page was read on 2026-10-23 and carries the amount, the two-week access window and the discretion clause; the pricing page serves its SKU tables client-side, so no DBU rate is recorded"},"claims":[{"path":"$.free_tier.stated","kind":"free-quota","num":null,"unit":null,"per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"unparsed"},{"path":"$.limits[0].value","kind":"limit:volume-quota","num":null,"unit":null,"per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"unparsed"}],"unknown":[["$.egress.metered","egress-unknown"],["$.egress.terms","not-stated"],["$.interface","interface-unknown"],["$.per_object_cap.notes","process"],["$.per_object_cap.stated","not-applicable"],["$.reliability_note","none-observed"],["$.tooling","not-stated"]],"history":[{"hid":"history/2026-10-23T114500Z/credit-ranking-twenty.md","when":"2026-10-23T11:45:00Z","status":"corrected","title":"The credit ladder was widened to twenty, and nine more claims moved"}],"drift":[]}