{"rid":"compute/designsafe-ci","card":{"rid":"compute/designsafe-ci","eid":"designsafe-ci","topic":"compute","slug":"designsafe-ci","provider":"DesignSafe-CI","url":"https://designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/tools/advanced/hpcallocations/","domain":"designsafe-ci.org","category":"GPU cloud","tier":null,"verdict":"fails-identity","vorder":4,"grp":"rejected","confidence":"documented","binding":"write-gated","identity_kind":"institution","identity_basis":"stated","needs_card":0,"needs_phone":0,"needs_id":0,"needs_institution":1,"country":null,"crypto":null,"interfaces":null,"egress_metered":null,"per_object_bytes":null,"retention_days":null,"verified_at":"2026-10-22T00:00:00.000Z","verified_basis":"live","checked_on":"2026-10-22","stale_on":"2026-11-21","n_evidence":5,"usd_month":null,"usd_per_tb_month":null,"summary":"A Startup Allocation may request up to 20,000 node-hours annually with fast-track review acted on within two weeks, a Research Allocation up to 100,000 node-...","duplicate_of":null,"n_unknown":10},"record":{"topic":"compute","slug":"designsafe-ci","provider":"DesignSafe-CI","url":"https://designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/tools/advanced/hpcallocations/","category":"GPU cloud","free_tier":{"stated":"A Startup Allocation may request up to 20,000 node-hours annually with fast-track review acted on within two weeks, a Research Allocation up to 100,000 node-hours annually, and an Educational Allocation up to 10,000 node-hours, all provided through NSF funding \"at no direct cost to the end user\". Unfunded exploratory research is explicitly allowed on a Startup Allocation. Users outside the NSF eligibility categories may buy time from TACC at approximately USD 0.50 per node-hour and storage at approximately USD 60 per TB per year.","unit":"hours","metered_on":"wall-clock","source_url":"https://designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/tools/advanced/hpcallocations/","read_on":"2026-10-22","notes":"merit-reviewed-allocation"},"per_object_cap":{"stated":"not applicable","bytes":null,"source_url":"https://designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/tools/advanced/hpcallocations/","notes":null},"retention":{"stated":"not applicable","days":null,"source_url":"https://designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/tools/advanced/hpcallocations/","notes":null},"egress":{"terms":"not stated","metered":false,"free_allowance":null,"price_per_tb":null,"source_url":"https://designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/tools/advanced/hpcallocations/"},"interface":["unknown"],"interface_detail":"inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed","tooling":"not stated","chaining":"The purchased route is the composition worth noting: USD 0.50 per node-hour buys a TACC node of 48 to 64 cores, so roughly USD 0.008 to USD 0.01 per core-hour with no affiliation and no review, which is the cheapest way out of the identity gate found and does not depend on the NSF eligibility categories at all.","limits":[{"kind":"write-gated","value":"The PI is \"typically a faculty member or research scientist at a US-based academic institution\" and the enumerated alternatives are all US organisations, agencies, school districts, museums or companies; a self-employed person outside the US appears in no category, and foreign collaborators reach the machine only through a US PI's allocation.","source":"https://designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/tools/advanced/hpcallocations/"}],"limits_note":"The PI is \"typically a faculty member or research scientist at a US-based academic institution\" and the enumerated alternatives are all US organisations, agencies, school districts, museums or companies; a self-employed person outside the US appears in no category, and foreign collaborators reach the machine only through a US PI's allocation.","binding":"write-gated","binding_note":"The PI is \"typically a faculty member or research scientist at a US-based academic institution\" and the enumerated alternatives are all US organisations, agencies, school districts, museums or companies; a self-employed person outside the US appears in no category, and foreign collaborators reach the machine only through a US PI's allocation.","identity_cost":{"kind":"institution","detail":null,"country":null},"reliability_note":"no reliability event recorded","confidence":"documented","evidence":[{"url":"https://designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/tools/advanced/hpcallocations/","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"\"A Startup Allocation may request up to 20,000 node-hours annually\"; \"A Research allocation has a maximum size of 100,000 node-hours annually\"; \"An Educational allocation may request up to 10,000 node-hours\", quoted"},{"url":"https://designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/tools/advanced/hpcallocations/","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"\"an additional allocation via DesignSafe is headed by a project PI, typically a faculty member or research scientist at a US-based academic institution\"; \"foreign collaborators are eligible to make use of that allocation\", quoted"},{"url":"https://designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/tools/advanced/hpcallocations/","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"\"Allocations are provided through NSF funding at no direct cost to the end user\"; purchase rates \"approximately $0.50 per node hour\" for compute and \"approximately $60/TB/year\" for storage, dated January 2024 in the text, quoted"},{"url":"https://designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/tools/advanced/hpcallocations/","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"\"DesignSafe is broadly available to any researcher or practitioner working in open Natural Hazards Engineering and Social Science research\", quoted"},{"url":"https://www.designsafe-ci.org/community/news/2025/july/message-from-the-nheri-council/","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"services, including HPC resources and data publication, are described as operating during a no-cost extension, quoted"}],"verdict":"fails-identity","verified_at":"2026-10-22T00:00:00.000Z","notes":"The account is open to anyone, but the account alone does not reach the HPC queue: portal tools are capped by \"built-in constraints that limit the amount of compute time\" with no published ceiling, and command-line access needs the allocation. Startup review skips the Allocation Advisory Board and is decided within two weeks, which makes 20,000 node-hours the realistic ask rather than the 100,000. The no-cost extension reported in the July 2025 council message is a horizon fact: the corpus should re-check this record when that extension ends rather than treating the allocation as permanent. The corpus holds no DesignSafe record. Node-hour to core-hour conversion depends on the TACC system assigned, which the page does not name, so no conversion is published here.","extras":{"wave2":{"class":"national-hpc","free_tier_kind":"merit-reviewed-allocation","shape":{"vcpu":null,"ram_gib":null,"gpu_class":null,"gpu_count":null}}}},"claims":[{"path":"$.free_tier.stated","kind":"free-quota","num":null,"unit":null,"per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"unparsed"},{"path":"$.limits[0].value","kind":"limit:write-gated","num":null,"unit":null,"per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"unparsed"}],"unknown":[["$.egress.metered","egress-unknown"],["$.egress.terms","not-stated"],["$.identity_cost.detail","process"],["$.interface","interface-unknown"],["$.per_object_cap.notes","process"],["$.per_object_cap.stated","not-applicable"],["$.reliability_note","none-observed"],["$.retention.notes","process"],["$.retention.stated","not-applicable"],["$.tooling","not-stated"]],"history":[],"drift":[]}