{"rid":"compute/ibm-quantum-open","card":{"rid":"compute/ibm-quantum-open","eid":"ibm","topic":"compute","slug":"ibm-quantum-open","provider":"IBM Quantum Open","url":"https://quantum.cloud.ibm.com/docs/en/guides/plans-overview","domain":"ibm.com","category":"quantum compute","tier":null,"verdict":"qualifies-with-caveat","vorder":1,"grp":"usable","confidence":"documented","binding":"volume-quota","identity_kind":"email","identity_basis":"stated","needs_card":0,"needs_phone":0,"needs_id":0,"needs_institution":0,"country":null,"crypto":null,"interfaces":null,"egress_metered":null,"per_object_bytes":null,"retention_days":null,"verified_at":"2026-10-22T00:00:00.000Z","verified_basis":"live","checked_on":"2026-10-22","stale_on":"2026-11-21","n_evidence":5,"usd_month":null,"usd_per_tb_month":null,"summary":"Batch 1 recorded the Open Plan at 10 minutes of QPU runtime per 28-day rolling window. IBM's documentation confirms it and adds a time box and a constraint b...","duplicate_of":null,"n_unknown":10},"record":{"topic":"compute","slug":"ibm-quantum-open","provider":"IBM Quantum Open","url":"https://quantum.cloud.ibm.com/docs/en/guides/plans-overview","category":"quantum compute","free_tier":{"stated":"Batch 1 recorded the Open Plan at 10 minutes of QPU runtime per 28-day rolling window. IBM's documentation confirms it and adds a time box and a constraint batch 1 did not carry, quoted: 'Run your quantum circuits on the world's leading QPUs for free (up to 10 minutes per 28-day rolling window)' and 'Open Plan instances can only be created in the us-east region'. The promotion is quoted: 'As of 16 March 2026, active Open Plan users can opt in to an additional 180 minutes over the next 12 months', and the blog states the precondition: 'Use 20 minutes of runtime within any 12-month period' and that the plan 'reverts back to 10 minutes/month once 12-month period ends'.","unit":"minutes","metered_on":"wall-clock","source_url":"https://quantum.cloud.ibm.com/docs/en/guides/plans-overview","read_on":"2026-10-22","notes":"monthly-allowance"},"per_object_cap":{"stated":"not applicable","bytes":null,"source_url":"https://quantum.cloud.ibm.com/docs/en/guides/plans-overview","notes":null},"retention":{"stated":"not applicable","days":null,"source_url":"https://quantum.cloud.ibm.com/docs/en/guides/plans-overview","notes":null},"egress":{"terms":"not stated","metered":false,"free_allowance":null,"price_per_tb":null,"source_url":"https://quantum.cloud.ibm.com/docs/en/guides/plans-overview"},"interface":["unknown"],"interface_detail":"inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed","tooling":"not stated","chaining":"A 10-minute-a-month QPU allowance composes with a simulator on a free CPU runner, because most of the work in a variational loop can be done on a simulator and only the final evaluation needs the hardware.","limits":[{"kind":"volume-quota","value":"The allowance is 10 minutes in 28 days and every circuit execution plus its transpile and queue overhead spends it, so a single variational loop exhausts a month, and the 180-minute promotion cannot be reached in under two months because it requires 20 minutes of prior runtime.","source":"https://quantum.cloud.ibm.com/docs/en/guides/plans-overview"}],"limits_note":"The allowance is 10 minutes in 28 days and every circuit execution plus its transpile and queue overhead spends it, so a single variational loop exhausts a month, and the 180-minute promotion cannot be reached in under two months because it requires 20 minutes of prior runtime.","binding":"volume-quota","binding_note":"The allowance is 10 minutes in 28 days and every circuit execution plus its transpile and queue overhead spends it, so a single variational loop exhausts a month, and the 180-minute promotion cannot be reached in under two months because it requires 20 minutes of prior runtime.","identity_cost":{"kind":"email","detail":null,"country":null},"reliability_note":"no reliability event recorded","confidence":"documented","evidence":[{"url":"https://quantum.cloud.ibm.com/docs/en/guides/plans-overview","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"quoted: 'up to 10 minutes per 28-day rolling window'; 'Open Plan instances can only be created in the us-east region'; 'active Open Plan users can opt in to an additional 180 minutes over the next 12 months'"},{"url":"https://www.ibm.com/quantum/pricing","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"Open Plan: 'Access quantum computers for up to 10 minutes of runtime per month. Active users may be eligible to request additional time.' Price: Free, quoted"},{"url":"https://quantum.cloud.ibm.com/docs/en/guides/plans-overview","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"'Run your quantum circuits on the world's best QPUs for free (up to 10 minutes per 28-day rolling window)'; Open Plan instances can only be created in the us-east region, quoted"},{"url":"https://www.ibm.com/quantum/blog/open-plan-updates","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"quoted: 'users who use 20 minutes of runtime within any 12-month period can opt in to a special one-time promotion and get 180 minutes of runtime for the next 12 months'; 'Plan reverts back to 10 minutes/month once 12-month period ends'; pre-req 'Non-trial account' [re-read 2026-10-22]"},{"url":"https://quantumcomputing.stackexchange.com/questions/46432/do-paid-pay-as-you-go-minutes-count-toward-the-20-minutes-needed-for-ibms-180-m","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"a user who spent the whole 10-minute allowance reports being 10 minutes short of the promotion, and quotes the pay-as-you-go rate as USD 96 a minute, with no documented answer on whether paid minutes count [date precision: year precision] [re-read 2026-10-22]"}],"verdict":"qualifies-with-caveat","verified_at":"2026-10-22T00:00:00.000Z","notes":"The promotion is the interesting term: 180 minutes for 12 months is 18 times the base allowance, and it is reachable by for a user because the only preconditions are a non-trial account and 20 minutes of prior use. The failure is the price beyond the line: one user cites USD 96 a minute on the pay-as-you-go meter, so an overrun is not a soft stop and the 10-minute window has to be watched rather than delegated. Batch 1's figure is confirmed; the region restriction and the promotion are additions.","extras":{"wave2":{"class":"verification","free_tier_kind":"monthly-allowance","shape":null}}},"claims":[{"path":"$.free_tier.stated","kind":"free-quota","num":10,"unit":"minutes","per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"ok"},{"path":"$.limits[0].value","kind":"limit:volume-quota","num":10,"unit":"minutes","per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"ok"}],"unknown":[["$.egress.metered","egress-unknown"],["$.egress.terms","not-stated"],["$.identity_cost.detail","process"],["$.interface","interface-unknown"],["$.per_object_cap.notes","process"],["$.per_object_cap.stated","not-applicable"],["$.reliability_note","none-observed"],["$.retention.notes","process"],["$.retention.stated","not-applicable"],["$.tooling","not-stated"]],"history":[],"drift":[]}