{"rid":"compute/microsoft-ai","card":{"rid":"compute/microsoft-ai","eid":"microsoft","topic":"compute","slug":"microsoft-ai","provider":"Microsoft AI","url":"https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/academic-program/ai-for-good-lab-open-call/","domain":"microsoft.com","category":"GPU cloud","tier":null,"verdict":"fails-identity","vorder":4,"grp":"rejected","confidence":"documented","binding":"write-gated","identity_kind":"email","identity_basis":"stated","needs_card":0,"needs_phone":0,"needs_id":0,"needs_institution":0,"country":null,"crypto":null,"interfaces":"rest","egress_metered":null,"per_object_bytes":null,"retention_days":null,"verified_at":"2026-10-22T00:00:00.000Z","verified_basis":"live","checked_on":"2026-10-22","stale_on":"2026-11-21","n_evidence":2,"usd_month":null,"usd_per_tb_month":null,"summary":"'a total of $5 million in Azure service credits' across a 'two-year program', with 'scientific collaboration with the Microsoft AI for Good Lab'. Eligibility...","duplicate_of":null,"n_unknown":9},"record":{"topic":"compute","slug":"microsoft-ai","provider":"Microsoft AI","url":"https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/academic-program/ai-for-good-lab-open-call/","category":"GPU cloud","free_tier":{"stated":"'a total of $5 million in Azure service credits' across a 'two-year program', with 'scientific collaboration with the Microsoft AI for Good Lab'. Eligibility is broad on identity and narrow on place: 'entities and/or projects must be based in or benefit Washington State and its residents. Eligible entities include nonprofits, academic institutions, individual researchers, startups, and businesses'.","unit":"none","metered_on":"wall-clock","source_url":"https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/academic-program/ai-for-good-lab-open-call/","read_on":"2026-10-22","notes":"one-time-credit"},"per_object_cap":{"stated":"not applicable","bytes":null,"source_url":"https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/academic-program/ai-for-good-lab-open-call/","notes":null},"retention":{"stated":"not applicable","days":null,"source_url":"https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/academic-program/ai-for-good-lab-open-call/","notes":null},"egress":{"terms":"not stated","metered":false,"free_allowance":null,"price_per_tb":null,"source_url":"https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/academic-program/ai-for-good-lab-open-call/"},"interface":["rest"],"interface_detail":"inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed","tooling":"not stated","chaining":"Azure credits compose with nothing in the TPU class and only weakly with the rest, because the credits buy Azure list-price capacity rather than a quota.","limits":[{"kind":"write-gated","value":"the geographic condition - based in or benefiting Washington State - is the failure, not the identity: an applicant outside Washington cannot meet it however strong the project.","source":"https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/academic-program/ai-for-good-lab-open-call/"}],"limits_note":"the geographic condition - based in or benefiting Washington State - is the failure, not the identity: an applicant outside Washington cannot meet it however strong the project.","binding":"write-gated","binding_note":"the geographic condition - based in or benefiting Washington State - is the failure, not the identity: an applicant outside Washington cannot meet it however strong the project.","identity_cost":{"kind":"email","detail":null,"country":null},"reliability_note":"no reliability event recorded","confidence":"documented","evidence":[{"url":"https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/academic-program/ai-for-good-lab-open-call/","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"'a total of $5 million in Azure service credits'; 'entities and/or projects must be based in or benefit Washington State and its residents'; 'Eligible entities include nonprofits, academic institutions, individual researchers, startups, and businesses'; quoted; page 200"},{"url":"https://www.geekwire.com/2025/microsoft-launches-5m-grant-program-for-ai-projects-in-wa-state-as-part-of-50th-anniversary/","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"'the pool of $5 million in Azure credits will probably be split up among about 20 projects and organizations', and the 2025 round closed on Feb. 17 - a press account, so the per-award figure is an estimate rather than a vendor number [re-read 2026-10-22]"}],"verdict":"fails-identity","verified_at":"2026-10-22T00:00:00.000Z","notes":"The one Microsoft program found that names 'individual researchers' as an eligible entity, which is exactly why the location clause matters: the door is open to an individual and shut to anyone outside Washington State. A per-award figure of about USD 250,000 is inferred from USD 5,000,000 split across 'about 20 projects' in a press account, and is reported as an estimate, not as a published amount.","extras":{"wave2":{"class":"research-credit","free_tier_kind":"one-time-credit","shape":{"vcpu":null,"ram_gib":null,"gpu_class":null,"gpu_count":null}}}},"claims":[{"path":"$.free_tier.stated","kind":"free-quota","num":null,"unit":null,"per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"unparsed"},{"path":"$.limits[0].value","kind":"limit:write-gated","num":null,"unit":null,"per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"unparsed"}],"unknown":[["$.egress.metered","egress-unknown"],["$.egress.terms","not-stated"],["$.identity_cost.detail","process"],["$.per_object_cap.notes","process"],["$.per_object_cap.stated","not-applicable"],["$.reliability_note","none-observed"],["$.retention.notes","process"],["$.retention.stated","not-applicable"],["$.tooling","not-stated"]],"history":[],"drift":[]}