{"rid":"compute/mistral-la-plateforme","card":{"rid":"compute/mistral-la-plateforme","eid":"mistral","topic":"compute","slug":"mistral-la-plateforme","provider":"Mistral La Plateforme","url":"https://docs.mistral.ai/admin/billing-usage/usage-limits","domain":"mistral.ai","category":"inference API","tier":null,"verdict":"qualifies-with-caveat","vorder":1,"grp":"usable","confidence":"documented","binding":"request-rate","identity_kind":"any-phone","identity_basis":"stated","needs_card":0,"needs_phone":1,"needs_id":0,"needs_institution":0,"country":null,"crypto":null,"interfaces":"rest","egress_metered":null,"per_object_bytes":null,"retention_days":null,"verified_at":"2026-10-22T00:00:00.000Z","verified_basis":"live","checked_on":"2026-10-22","stale_on":"2026-11-21","n_evidence":4,"usd_month":null,"usd_per_tb_month":null,"summary":"Free mode still exists and its limits are now unpublished. The docs say 'Free mode lets you create API keys and use included monthly usage within the limits ...","duplicate_of":null,"n_unknown":8},"record":{"topic":"compute","slug":"mistral-la-plateforme","provider":"Mistral La Plateforme","url":"https://docs.mistral.ai/admin/billing-usage/usage-limits","category":"inference API","free_tier":{"stated":"Free mode still exists and its limits are now unpublished. The docs say 'Free mode lets you create API keys and use included monthly usage within the limits shown on the Limits page', and the help centre names the three limit dimensions, 'Requests per second (RPS)', 'Tokens per minute' and 'Tokens per month'. No figure appears on any public Mistral page: the docs point at admin.mistral.ai/plateforme/limits, which is behind a login. The 'USD 10 /mo in API credits' line that third parties still quote is no longer on mistral.ai/pricing, and a 2026-09-01 archive capture does not carry it either.","unit":"none","metered_on":"wall-clock","source_url":"https://docs.mistral.ai/admin/billing-usage/usage-limits","read_on":"2026-10-22","notes":"recurring-monthly-allowance"},"per_object_cap":{"stated":"not applicable","bytes":null,"source_url":"https://docs.mistral.ai/admin/billing-usage/usage-limits","notes":null},"retention":{"stated":"not applicable","days":null,"source_url":"https://docs.mistral.ai/admin/billing-usage/usage-limits","notes":null},"egress":{"terms":"not stated","metered":false,"free_allowance":null,"price_per_tb":null,"source_url":"https://docs.mistral.ai/admin/billing-usage/usage-limits"},"interface":["rest"],"interface_detail":"inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed","tooling":"not stated","chaining":"an unpublished monthly cap is still a cap: the only safe composition is to treat the free key as a prototype lane and move any recurring job to Cloudflare's published 10,000 Neurons a day, which at least prints its meter.","limits":[{"kind":"request-rate","value":"the number that binds is not published, so the honest answer is that the monthly token cap is unknown until an account exists; third-party guides that still print '1 billion tokens a month' and '1 request a second' describe the retired Experiment plan, whose help pages now return 404.","source":"https://docs.mistral.ai/admin/billing-usage/usage-limits"}],"limits_note":"the number that binds is not published, so the honest answer is that the monthly token cap is unknown until an account exists; third-party guides that still print '1 billion tokens a month' and '1 request a second' describe the retired Experiment plan, whose help pages now return 404.","binding":"request-rate","binding_note":"the number that binds is not published, so the honest answer is that the monthly token cap is unknown until an account exists; third-party guides that still print '1 billion tokens a month' and '1 request a second' describe the retired Experiment plan, whose help pages now return 404.","identity_cost":{"kind":"any-phone","detail":"a one-time SMS verification on any phone number, and no card: the record's notes report this from third-party signup guides, and state that no Mistral page itself documents a phone step, so this is reported rather than documented. No authorisation amount is stated because no payment method is taken; debit and prepaid acceptance are therefore not applicable on the free mode. What the guides say the SMS is sent to is not recorded","country":null},"reliability_note":"no reliability event recorded","confidence":"documented","evidence":[{"url":"https://docs.mistral.ai/admin/billing-usage/usage-limits","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"'Free mode lets you create API keys and use included monthly usage within the limits shown on the Limits page', quoted; no figure on the page"},{"url":"https://help.mistral.ai/en/articles/698531-why-am-i-hitting-my-api-usage-limits-and-how-can-i-increase-them","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"'The API enforces three limits: Requests per second (RPS)... Tokens per minute... Tokens per month', and 'See your current limits, usage, and tier on the Limits page', quoted"},{"url":"https://mistral.ai/pricing","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"the Free plan card lists Vibe and Studio features only; no API credit figure appears anywhere on the page"},{"url":"https://web.archive.org/web/20260901163208/https://mistral.ai/pricing/?provider=wayback","date":"2026-09-01","proved":"the 2026-09-01 capture also carries no 'USD 10 /mo in API credits' line, so the figure was already gone by September"}],"verdict":"qualifies-with-caveat","verified_at":"2026-10-22T00:00:00.000Z","notes":"Refutation of a widely repeated number: '1 billion tokens a month on Mistral's free tier' belongs to the Experiment plan that Mistral retired, and no current Mistral page states it. The 'USD 10 a month in API credits' line was on the pricing page in early October 2026 according to a change tracker; it is absent today and absent from the 2026-09-01 capture, so the exact date it left is unverified and the current state is that no figure is published. Identity: third-party signup guides report a one-time SMS verification and no card, and no Mistral page states a phone step; recorded as any-phone, reported rather than documented. Data on Free mode may be used for training unless opted out, which is a technical reliability fact a batch job should account for.","extras":{"wave2":{"class":"refutation","free_tier_kind":"recurring-monthly-allowance","shape":{"vcpu":null,"ram_gib":null,"gpu_class":null,"gpu_count":null}}}},"claims":[{"path":"$.free_tier.stated","kind":"free-quota","num":null,"unit":null,"per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"unparsed"},{"path":"$.limits[0].value","kind":"limit:request-rate","num":1,"unit":"request","per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"ok"}],"unknown":[["$.egress.metered","egress-unknown"],["$.egress.terms","not-stated"],["$.per_object_cap.notes","process"],["$.per_object_cap.stated","not-applicable"],["$.reliability_note","none-observed"],["$.retention.notes","process"],["$.retention.stated","not-applicable"],["$.tooling","not-stated"]],"history":[],"drift":[]}