{"rid":"compute/modelscope-notebook","card":{"rid":"compute/modelscope-notebook","eid":"modelscope","topic":"compute","slug":"modelscope-notebook","provider":"ModelScope Notebook","url":"https://www.modelscope.cn/learn/433641","domain":"modelscope.cn","category":"notebook runtime","tier":null,"verdict":"fails-identity","vorder":4,"grp":"rejected","confidence":"reported","binding":"retention-clamped","identity_kind":"national-id","identity_basis":"stated","needs_card":0,"needs_phone":0,"needs_id":1,"needs_institution":0,"country":null,"crypto":null,"interfaces":"rest","egress_metered":null,"per_object_bytes":null,"retention_days":null,"verified_at":"2026-10-22T00:00:00.000Z","verified_basis":"live","checked_on":"2026-10-22","stale_on":"2026-11-05","n_evidence":10,"usd_month":null,"usd_per_tb_month":null,"summary":"ModelScope and AMD run a developer incentive programme. Step 0 is registering for the AMD AI Developer Program through the ModelScope Notebook page, which pa...","duplicate_of":null,"n_unknown":7},"record":{"topic":"compute","slug":"modelscope-notebook","provider":"ModelScope Notebook","url":"https://www.modelscope.cn/learn/433641","category":"notebook runtime","free_tier":{"stated":"ModelScope and AMD run a developer incentive programme. Step 0 is registering for the AMD AI Developer Program through the ModelScope Notebook page, which pays 100 hours of AMD GPU notebook time automatically. Content paths stack on top: 25 hours per approved technical article capped at 50, 50 hours per approved notebook capped at 150, and 700 hours or more for an approved deployed application, which the vendor states totals 1,000 hours or more. The AMD shape reported is 8 cores, 200 GB RAM and 192 GB of VRAM, which is MI300X class.","unit":"hours","metered_on":"wall-clock","source_url":"https://www.modelscope.cn/learn/433641","read_on":"2026-10-22","notes":"one-time-credit"},"per_object_cap":{"stated":"not applicable","bytes":null,"source_url":"https://www.modelscope.cn/learn/433641","notes":null},"retention":{"stated":"the 100 hours are a one-time grant that only ticks while the instance runs, a single boot is capped at about 8 to 10 hours, and only files under /workspace persist, so the 192 GB card is reachable in 8-hour slices; the harder wall is that the ModelScope notebook needs a real-name-verified Alibaba Cloud account linked.","days":null,"source_url":"https://www.modelscope.cn/learn/433641","notes":null},"egress":{"terms":"not stated","metered":false,"free_allowance":null,"price_per_tb":null,"source_url":"https://www.modelscope.cn/learn/433641"},"interface":["rest"],"interface_detail":"inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed","tooling":"not stated","chaining":"192 GB of VRAM is enough to hold a 70B model at half precision with room for activations, which no other free resource in this corpus reaches; it composes with AMD Radeon Cloud's Token Factory for serving and leaves the GPU hours for training.","limits":[{"kind":"retention-clamped","value":"the 100 hours are a one-time grant that only ticks while the instance runs, a single boot is capped at about 8 to 10 hours, and only files under /workspace persist, so the 192 GB card is reachable in 8-hour slices; the harder wall is that the ModelScope notebook needs a real-name-verified Alibaba Cloud account linked.","source":"https://www.modelscope.cn/learn/433641"}],"limits_note":"the 100 hours are a one-time grant that only ticks while the instance runs, a single boot is capped at about 8 to 10 hours, and only files under /workspace persist, so the 192 GB card is reachable in 8-hour slices; the harder wall is that the ModelScope notebook needs a real-name-verified Alibaba Cloud account linked.","binding":"retention-clamped","binding_note":"the 100 hours are a one-time grant that only ticks while the instance runs, a single boot is capped at about 8 to 10 hours, and only files under /workspace persist, so the 192 GB card is reachable in 8-hour slices; the harder wall is that the ModelScope notebook needs a real-name-verified Alibaba Cloud account linked.","identity_cost":{"kind":"national-id","detail":"national-id: the notebook requires authorising and linking an Alibaba Cloud account, and 'an Alibaba Cloud account requires real-name verification', quoted from a third-party guide rather than a vendor page. The student route is narrower again: a full-time student at a mainland China university, on an account already through individual real-name verification, completed by Alipay scan, valid 30 days and stopping on graduation. No card requirement, hold, debit or prepaid statement appears in any evidence row: unknown.","country":null},"reliability_note":"no reliability event recorded","confidence":"reported","evidence":[{"url":"https://www.modelscope.cn/learn/433641","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"the official guide exists at this URL and its title, read through the broker, reads 'modelscope x AMD developer incentive programme: up to 1000 hours and above of free compute, a collection guide'; the body did not extract, so the figures below rest on the republished text"},{"url":"https://zhuanlan.zhihu.com/p/2044198690726860697","date":"2026-10-01","proved":"a republishing of the ModelScope guide by the AMD China account, quoted: Step 0 pays 100 hours and is the prerequisite for everything else; 25 hours per article capped at 50; 50 hours per notebook capped at 150; 700 hours or more for a deployed application; the three paths are independent and stack"},{"url":"https://www.aipromonow.com/promos/modelscope-amd-100h-gpu-notebook-sep2026","date":"2026-09-20","proved":"reported shape and route: the AMD environment carries a NEW tag and reads about 8 cores, 200 GB RAM and 192 GB of VRAM on a ROCm plus PyTorch image; the 100 hours arrive after binding an AMD developer account from the My Notebook page"},{"url":"https://juejin.cn/post/7675623932943548479","date":"2026-10-01","proved":"a comparison table of the three ModelScope environments from a user's own console: CPU 8 cores 32 GB marked long-term use, NVIDIA GPU 8 cores 32 GB with 24 GB of VRAM on a limited quota, AMD GPU 8 cores 200 GB with 192 GB of VRAM at 100 hours, image ubuntu22.04-rocm7.2.3-py312-torch2.11.0"},{"url":"https://linux.do/t/topic/2922778","date":"2026-09-19","proved":"first-hand reports, translated: 192 GB of VRAM confirmed; 'single boot at most eight hours, and only files inside workspace persist'; one user reports resource shortage preventing an instance from starting; another says a further 200 hours is available by writing articles"},{"url":"https://lanmao.ai/o/modelscope-notebook-free-gpu/","date":"2026-10-02","proved":"the identity gate, quoted: using Notebook requires authorising and linking an Alibaba Cloud account, and an Alibaba Cloud account requires real-name verification"},{"url":"https://lanmao.ai/zh/o/modelscope-notebook-free-gpu/","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"Every new user gets a free initial GPU allowance of 36 hours, a single instance run capped at 10 hours, 100 GB of free persistent storage, and a recorded check date of 2026-10-02; the page cites modelscope.cn/docs/notebook/intro as the vendor source."},{"url":"https://developer.aliyun.com/article/1628727","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"Alibaba Cloud developer community post headlined 300 hours of free GPU for students with an edu email, linking to modelscope.cn/brand/view/GPU."},{"url":"https://developer.aliyun.com/article/1605205","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"Binding an Alibaba Cloud account also gets 100 hours of free GPU compute on ModelScope Notebook, the smaller figure that recurs across Alibaba's own posts."},{"url":"https://help.aliyun.com/zh/account/student-identity-verification","date":"2026-10-22","proved":"The Alibaba Cloud student identity check requires a full-time student at a mainland China university and an account already through individual real-name verification, completed by Alipay scan; verification lasts 30 days and stops working on graduation."}],"verdict":"fails-identity","verified_at":"2026-10-22T00:00:00.000Z","notes":"The corpus record modelscope-studio.json is fails-identity for the Studio tier on the .cn site, with 2 vCPU and 8 GiB, and it explicitly records that the .ai site is a separate lane. ⛔ That record is right about the Studio and misses this entirely: the AMD notebook is a different product with a different number, and 192 GB of VRAM behind a real-name gate is the largest single free GPU measured. The 1,000-hour total is the vendor's own arithmetic over three paths, two of which are content review, so the realistic first number is 100. Whether modelscope.ai carries the same AMD offer is unverified and is the single most valuable open question here.","extras":{"wave2":{"class":"vendor-developer-program","free_tier_kind":"one-time-credit","shape":{"vcpu":8,"ram_gib":200,"gpu_class":"AMD Instinct MI300X","gpu_count":1,"vram_gib":192}}}},"claims":[{"path":"$.free_tier.stated","kind":"free-quota","num":100,"unit":"hours","per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"ok"},{"path":"$.limits[0].value","kind":"limit:retention-clamped","num":100,"unit":"hours","per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"ok"}],"unknown":[["$.egress.metered","egress-unknown"],["$.egress.terms","not-stated"],["$.per_object_cap.notes","process"],["$.per_object_cap.stated","not-applicable"],["$.reliability_note","none-observed"],["$.retention.notes","process"],["$.tooling","not-stated"]],"history":[],"drift":[]}