{"rid":"storage/gcp-research-credits-programme","card":{"rid":"storage/gcp-research-credits-programme","eid":"google","topic":"storage","slug":"gcp-research-credits-programme","provider":"GCP research credits programme (Cloud for Higher Education)","url":"https://support.google.com/google-cloud-higher-ed/answer/10724468?hl=en","domain":"google.com","category":"iaas","tier":null,"verdict":"fails-quota","vorder":6,"grp":"rejected","confidence":"reported","binding":"write-gated","identity_kind":"institution","identity_basis":"stated","needs_card":0,"needs_phone":0,"needs_id":0,"needs_institution":1,"country":null,"crypto":null,"interfaces":"s3,rclone","egress_metered":1,"per_object_bytes":null,"retention_days":null,"verified_at":"2026-10-21T00:00:00.000Z","verified_basis":"inherited","checked_on":"2026-10-21","stale_on":"2026-11-04","n_evidence":3,"usd_month":null,"usd_per_tb_month":null,"summary":"$5,000 one-time for faculty/postdoc; $1,000 per year for PhD students. Credit-denominated, buys GCS at list price (~$20/TB-month Standard).","duplicate_of":null,"n_unknown":6},"record":{"topic":"storage","slug":"gcp-research-credits-programme","provider":"GCP research credits programme (Cloud for Higher Education)","url":"https://support.google.com/google-cloud-higher-ed/answer/10724468?hl=en","category":"iaas","free_tier":{"stated":"$5,000 one-time for faculty/postdoc; $1,000 per year for PhD students. Credit-denominated, buys GCS at list price (~$20/TB-month Standard).","unit":"TB","metered_on":"unstated","source_url":"https://support.google.com/google-cloud-higher-ed/answer/10724468?hl=en","read_on":"2026-10-21","notes":null},"per_object_cap":{"stated":"not stated","source_url":"https://support.google.com/google-cloud-higher-ed/answer/10724468?hl=en","notes":"not stated"},"retention":{"stated":"not stated","source_url":"https://support.google.com/google-cloud-higher-ed/answer/10724468?hl=en","notes":"not stated"},"egress":{"terms":"Metered at standard GCS rates unless fronted by Cloudflare; credit covers it.","metered":true},"interface":["s3","rclone"],"interface_detail":"s3","tooling":"GCS JSON/XML API, gsutil, rclone 'gcs' backend.","chaining":"PhD students can re-apply annually - the only genuinely recurring line here. $1,000/yr is roughly 4 TB-months of Standard storage, so it funds a working set, not an archive.","limits":[{"kind":"write-gated","value":"review","source":"https://support.google.com/google-cloud-higher-ed/answer/10724468?hl=en"}],"limits_note":"Only available in the countries on Google's dropdown; must be a faculty member, postdoc, or PhD student at a listed institution; masters students ineligible. Faculty may apply only once, ever ('you are only eligible to apply one time'). 6-8 week review. One applicant per research proposal.","identity_cost":{"kind":"institution","detail":"derived from the record's prose, not from an identity field, and no signup was executed: $5,000 one-time for faculty/postdoc; $1,000 per year for PhD students. Credit-denominated, buys GCS at list price (~$20/TB-month Standard). Cred","country":null},"reliability_note":"Credits expire; GCS bills continue after the credit is exhausted. No data loss, just a bill.","confidence":"reported","confidence_note":"One page read moves it to documented.","evidence":[{"url":"https://support.google.com/google-cloud-higher-ed/answer/10724468?hl=en","date":"2026-10-21","proved":"'PhD students conducting research may apply for $1000 in GCP Credit per year'; 'Faculty and Postdoctoral researchers are eligible for one award of up to $5,000 USD'"},{"url":"https://support.google.com/google-cloud-higher-ed/answer/10724468?hl=en","date":"2026-10-21","proved":"'if you are a faculty member or postdoctoral researcher you are only eligible to apply one time'"},{"url":"https://edu.google.com/programs/credits/research/","date":"2026-10-21","proved":"'The program is currently only available in the countries listed'; form requires organisation name and faculty-directory link"}],"verdict":"fails-quota","verified_at":"2026-10-21T00:00:00.000Z","notes":"$5,000 one-time for faculty/postdoc; $1,000 per year for PhD students. Credit-denominated, buys GCS at list price (~$20/TB-month Standard).","extras":{"dead_end":{"failure_class":"quota","why":"$5,000 one-time for faculty/postdoc; $1,000 per year for PhD students. Credit-denominated, buys GCS at list price (~$20/TB-month Standard).","retry_when":null,"first_recorded":"2026-10-21"}},"binding":"write-gated","binding_note":"the write is a queue with a person or a rule in it, so the upload rate is set by somebody else"},"claims":[{"path":"$.free_tier.stated","kind":"free-quota","num":null,"unit":null,"per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"unparsed"},{"path":"$.limits[0].value","kind":"limit:write-gated","num":null,"unit":null,"per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"unparsed"}],"unknown":[["$.extras.dead_end.retry_when","process"],["$.free_tier.notes","process"],["$.per_object_cap.notes","not-extracted"],["$.per_object_cap.stated","not-extracted"],["$.retention.notes","not-extracted"],["$.retention.stated","not-extracted"]],"history":[],"drift":[]}