{"rid":"storage/lightning-ai-studios","card":{"rid":"storage/lightning-ai-studios","eid":"lightning","topic":"storage","slug":"lightning-ai-studios","provider":"Lightning AI Studios","url":"https://lightning.ai","domain":"lightning.ai","category":"iaas","tier":null,"verdict":"qualifies","vorder":0,"grp":"usable","confidence":"reported","binding":"retention-clamped","identity_kind":"card","identity_basis":"defaulted","needs_card":1,"needs_phone":null,"needs_id":null,"needs_institution":null,"country":null,"crypto":null,"interfaces":"rest,sftp,ssh,rclone,cli","egress_metered":0,"per_object_bytes":null,"retention_days":0,"verified_at":"2026-10-21T00:00:00.000Z","verified_basis":"inherited","checked_on":"2026-10-21","stale_on":"2026-11-04","n_evidence":4,"usd_month":null,"usd_per_tb_month":null,"summary":"Free plan: '1 free active Studio (4 hour restarts)', 'Persistent storage (200 GB limit)'. Studio docs say the default Studio disk is 400 GB; pricing page cap...","duplicate_of":null,"n_unknown":5},"record":{"topic":"storage","slug":"lightning-ai-studios","provider":"Lightning AI Studios","url":"https://lightning.ai","category":"iaas","free_tier":{"stated":"Free plan: '1 free active Studio (4 hour restarts)', 'Persistent storage (200 GB limit)'. Studio docs say the default Studio disk is 400 GB; pricing page caps the free tier at 200 GB.","unit":"GB","metered_on":"stored-bytes","source_url":"https://lightning.ai/pricing","read_on":"2026-10-21","notes":null},"per_object_cap":{"stated":"not stated","source_url":"https://lightning.ai/pricing","notes":"not stated"},"retention":{"stated":"Free Studio restarts every 4 hours (compute restarts, disk persists); auto-sleep after 10 min idle; free GPU hours come from 'up to 30 credits'; account data deleted after 6 months without login.","days":0,"source_url":"https://lightning.ai/pricing","notes":"not stated"},"egress":{"terms":"No egress meter or per-GB transfer price is published on the pricing page — free/public app serving on Studios is included in the plan.","metered":false},"interface":["rest","sftp","ssh","rclone","cli"],"interface_detail":"rest","tooling":"SSH/SFTP into a Studio (docs: 'Connect any local IDE or SSH'), plus a documented public-port feature; `lightning` CLI and SDK. No rclone backend.","chaining":"1 Studio per free account with 200 GB persistent; N free accounts. Studios can be mounted as read-only 'datasets' shared across a teamspace, so one account can fan out many consumers.","limits":[{"kind":"retention-clamped","value":"deleted after 6 months","source":"https://lightning.ai/pricing"}],"limits_note":"Free Studio restarts every 4 hours (compute restarts, disk persists); auto-sleep after 10 min idle; free GPU hours come from 'up to 30 credits'; account data deleted after 6 months without login.","identity_cost":{"kind":"card","detail":"inferred from the category 'iaas'; the source record states no identity cost, so this is a class assumption, not evidence","country":null},"reliability_note":"Disk genuinely persists across sleep/switch ('Studios persist their environments when sleeping and switching machines'); the 4-hour restart interrupts serving but does not lose files.","confidence":"reported","confidence_note":"One page read moves it to documented.","evidence":[{"url":"https://lightning.ai/pricing","date":"2026-10-21","proved":"Free plan list: '1 free active Studio (4 hour restarts)', 'Persistent storage (200 GB limit)'"},{"url":"https://lightning.ai/docs/platform/build/ai-studio/environment-persistence","date":"2026-10-21","proved":"'Everything in the Studio home (~, /teamspace/studios/this_studio) is persisted'"},{"url":"https://lightning.ai/docs/platform/build/ai-studio/deploy-on-public-ports","date":"2026-10-21","proved":"'Studios support any kind of server as long as it exposes a port'"},{"url":"https://lightning.ai/docs/platform/security/privacy/data-retention-policy","date":"2026-10-21","proved":"6-month inactivity -> account scheduled for deletion, 30-day notice"}],"verdict":"qualifies","verified_at":"2026-10-21T00:00:00.000Z","notes":"Free plan: '1 free active Studio (4 hour restarts)', 'Persistent storage (200 GB limit)'. Studio docs say the default Studio disk is 400 GB; pricing page caps the free tier at 200 GB.","extras":{},"binding":"retention-clamped","binding_note":"a clock, not a quota: bytes leave whether or not the client is finished with them"},"claims":[{"path":"$.free_tier.stated","kind":"free-quota","num":4,"unit":"hour","per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"ok"},{"path":"$.limits[0].value","kind":"limit:retention-clamped","num":null,"unit":null,"per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"unparsed"}],"unknown":[["$.free_tier.notes","process"],["$.identity_cost.kind","identity-defaulted"],["$.per_object_cap.notes","not-extracted"],["$.per_object_cap.stated","not-extracted"],["$.retention.notes","not-extracted"]],"history":[],"drift":[]}