{"rid":"storage/maven-central-post-2026-publishing-limits","card":{"rid":"storage/maven-central-post-2026-publishing-limits","eid":"sonatype-2","topic":"storage","slug":"maven-central-post-2026-publishing-limits","provider":"Maven Central (Sonatype Central Portal) - post-2026 publishing limits","url":"https://central.sonatype.org","domain":"sonatype.org","category":"registry","tier":null,"verdict":"fails-quota","vorder":6,"grp":"rejected","confidence":"reported","binding":"none","identity_kind":"email","identity_basis":"defaulted","needs_card":null,"needs_phone":null,"needs_id":null,"needs_institution":null,"country":null,"crypto":null,"interfaces":"rest,rclone","egress_metered":0,"per_object_bytes":null,"retention_days":30,"verified_at":"2026-10-21T00:00:00.000Z","verified_basis":"inherited","checked_on":"2026-10-21","stale_on":"2026-11-04","n_evidence":4,"usd_month":null,"usd_per_tb_month":null,"summary":"Maven Central introduced hard monthly *publishing* limits per organization in 2026. Three independent metrics: file count, release size, release count, evalu...","duplicate_of":null,"n_unknown":9},"record":{"topic":"storage","slug":"maven-central-post-2026-publishing-limits","provider":"Maven Central (Sonatype Central Portal) - post-2026 publishing limits","url":"https://central.sonatype.org","category":"registry","free_tier":{"stated":"Maven Central introduced hard monthly *publishing* limits per organization in 2026. Three independent metrics: file count, release size, release count, evaluated as hard thresholds against the current calendar month, with a 30-day grace period on first breach (resets after 2 consecutive below-limit months). Thresholds are set near the top-10% of publishers; the published distribution table gives 90th percentile = 1,167 files / 78 MB release size / 7 releases per month, 99th = 17,724 / 1,808 MB / 50. Separately, from 2026-10-01, any artifact with a 'commercial nature' requires a paid Publisher Pro subscription regardless of volume.","unit":"objects","metered_on":"unstated","source_url":"https://central.sonatype.org/publish/maven-central-publishing-limits/","read_on":"2026-10-21","notes":null},"per_object_cap":{"stated":"not stated","source_url":"https://central.sonatype.org/publish/maven-central-publishing-limits/","notes":"not stated"},"retention":{"stated":"Three independent metrics: file count, release size, release count, evaluated as hard thresholds against the current calendar month, with a 30-day grace period on first breach (resets after 2 consecutive below-limit months)","days":30,"source_url":"https://central.sonatype.org/publish/maven-central-publishing-limits/","notes":"not stated"},"egress":{"terms":"Free and effectively unmetered for consumers - repo1.maven.org is a heavyweight CDN. Publishing is what is metered, not download.","metered":false},"interface":["rest","rclone"],"interface_detail":"rest","tooling":"`mvn deploy` / central-publishing-maven-plugin, `gradle` publishing, `curl` to the Central Portal API, and plain HTTPS Maven-layout GETs from repo1.maven.org. No rclone backend.","chaining":"unlimited namespaces/group-ids x unlimited organizations x (monthly release-size threshold, ~78 MB at p90, ~1.8 GB at p99). Because limits are per *organization per month* and reset monthly, an organization publishing 1.8 GB/month sustained is ~21.6 GB/year - three orders of magnitude short of 20 TiB. Multiplying by many free organizations multiplies the account surface, not the rate, and every org has the same monthly reset.","limits":[],"limits_note":"per-object-cap: none stated for a single artifact, but release *size* is the metered metric. request-rate: publishing limits are monthly per-org (file count / release size / release count). retention: indefinite for already-published artifacts - 'Public artifacts already published to Maven Central remain available for download.' Enforcement blocks *new releases*, not existing storage. Commercial-nature artifacts require Publisher Pro from 2026-10-01.","identity_cost":{"kind":"email","detail":null,"country":null},"reliability_note":"The 2026 change is the important signal for the whole niche: the largest free package registry concluded that '10% of namespaces accounted for more than 88% of all files published' and moved to hard monthly thresholds plus a commercial-use gate. Any plan that treats a public registry as a bulk blob store is now rate-limited at ~GB/month/org, not capped at a total. Already partly covered in round 1 C-C2; the exact thresholds table and the commercial-nature gate are new.","confidence":"reported","confidence_note":"One page read moves it to documented.","evidence":[{"url":"https://central.sonatype.org/publish/maven-central-publishing-limits/","date":"2026-10-21","proved":"'These limits are evaluated as hard thresholds against an organization's usage during the current calendar month'; percentile table (p90: 1,167 files / 78 MB / 7 releases; p99: 17,724 / 1,808 MB / 50)"},{"url":null,"date":"2026-10-21","proved":"same page - '30-day grace period rather than immediate enforcement'; 'Commercial-nature artifacts require Maven Central Publisher Pro from October 1, 2026'"},{"url":null,"date":"2026-10-21","proved":"same page - 'Public artifacts already published to Maven Central remain available for download.'"},{"url":"https://repo1.maven.org/maven2/org/jetbrains/kotlin/kotlin-compiler/1.9.0/kotlin-compiler-1.9.0.jar","date":"2026-10-21","proved":"probe: GET -> 200, 60,219,212 bytes, application/java-archive"}],"verdict":"fails-quota","verified_at":"2026-10-21T00:00:00.000Z","notes":"Maven Central introduced hard monthly *publishing* limits per organization in 2026. Three independent metrics: file count, release size, release count, evaluated as hard thresholds against the current calendar month, with a 30-day grace period on first breach (resets after 2 consecutive below-limit months). Thresholds are set near the top-10% of publishers; the published distribution table gives 90th percentile = 1,167 files / 78 MB release size / 7 releases per month, 99th = 17,724 / 1,808 MB / 50. Separately, from 2026-10-01, any artifact with a 'commercial nature' requires a paid Publisher Pro subscription regardless of volume.","extras":{"dead_end":{"failure_class":"quota","why":"Maven Central introduced hard monthly *publishing* limits per organization in 2026. Three independent metrics: file count, release size, release count, evaluated as hard thresholds against the current calendar month, with a 30-day grace period on first breach (resets after 2 consecutive below-limit months). Thresholds are set near the top-10% of publishers; the published distribution table gives 90th percentile = 1,167 files / 78 MB release size / 7 releases per month, 99th = 17,724 / 1,808 MB / 50. Separately, from 2026-10-01, any artifact with a 'commercial nature' requires a paid Publisher Pro subscription regardless of volume.","retry_when":null,"first_recorded":"2026-10-21"}},"binding":"none","binding_note":"no constraint of a named kind was recorded; the verdict rests on the quota sentence rather than on a named limit"},"claims":[{"path":"$.free_tier.stated","kind":"free-quota","num":78,"unit":"MB","per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"ok"}],"unknown":[["$.evidence[1].url","private-url"],["$.evidence[2].url","private-url"],["$.extras.dead_end.retry_when","process"],["$.free_tier.notes","process"],["$.identity_cost.detail","defaulted"],["$.identity_cost.kind","identity-defaulted"],["$.per_object_cap.notes","not-extracted"],["$.per_object_cap.stated","not-extracted"],["$.retention.notes","not-extracted"]],"history":[],"drift":[]}