{"rid":"storage/steam-workshop","card":{"rid":"storage/steam-workshop","eid":"steamgames","topic":"storage","slug":"steam-workshop","provider":"Steam Workshop (per-app item storage)","url":"https://partner.steamgames.com/doc/features/workshop","domain":"steamgames.com","category":"media","tier":null,"verdict":"qualifies-with-caveat","vorder":1,"grp":"usable","confidence":"reported","binding":"write-gated","identity_kind":"anonymous","identity_basis":"stated","needs_card":0,"needs_phone":0,"needs_id":0,"needs_institution":0,"country":null,"crypto":null,"interfaces":"rest","egress_metered":0,"per_object_bytes":null,"retention_days":null,"verified_at":"2026-10-21T00:00:00.000Z","verified_basis":"inherited","checked_on":"2026-10-21","stale_on":"2026-11-04","n_evidence":4,"usd_month":null,"usd_per_tb_month":null,"summary":"Per-item size is set by the game developer, not by Valve, and some games are explicitly unlimited — Arma 3: 'Arma 3 Workshop now support items of unlimited s...","duplicate_of":null,"n_unknown":5},"record":{"topic":"storage","slug":"steam-workshop","provider":"Steam Workshop (per-app item storage)","url":"https://partner.steamgames.com/doc/features/workshop","category":"media","free_tier":{"stated":"Per-item size is set by the game developer, not by Valve, and some games are explicitly unlimited — Arma 3: 'Arma 3 Workshop now support items of unlimited size.' Others are tiny: House Flipper raised its cap from 12 MB to 20 MB in a patch. So the quota is per-app, and the number of published items per account is not documented as capped.","unit":"unlimited","metered_on":"unstated","source_url":"https://arma3.com/workshop101","read_on":"2026-10-21","notes":null},"per_object_cap":{"stated":"not stated","source_url":"https://arma3.com/workshop101","notes":"not stated"},"retention":{"stated":"not stated","source_url":"https://arma3.com/workshop101","notes":"not stated"},"egress":{"terms":"Free and CDN-served by Valve's content network — same infrastructure as game downloads, genuinely unmetered.","metered":false},"interface":["rest"],"interface_detail":"rest","tooling":"`ISteamUGC` (CreateItem + SetItemContent + SubmitItemUpdate) via the Steamworks SDK, so uploads need a Steam client with the game installed. Downloads are scriptable anonymously: `steamcmd +login anonymous +workshop_download_item <appid> <publishedfileid>`. Third-party downloaders (polocaz/ws-downloader, workshopfetch.com) exist for the read path.","chaining":"One Steam account x every Workshop-enabled game it owns x unlimited items per game. This is the multiplier: 'unlimited items per published file ID' inside an app whose developer set no cap.","limits":[{"kind":"write-gated","value":"review images go through a separate Steam Cloud quota","source":"https://arma3.com/workshop101"}],"limits_note":"Requires ownership of the game and a Steam client to upload — there is no headless upload path, which is the practical blocker. Per-item caps range from 20 MB to unlimited depending on app; preview images go through a separate Steam Cloud quota.","identity_cost":{"kind":"anonymous","detail":"derived from the record's prose, not from an identity field, and no signup was executed: e survived a decade, links do not expire, and downloads are anonymous. Enforcement risk is real but technical: items can be delisted by the app's developer. One Steam account x every Worksh","country":null},"reliability_note":"Very durable — Workshop items have survived a decade, links do not expire, and downloads are anonymous. Enforcement risk is real but technical: items can be delisted by the app's developer.","confidence":"reported","confidence_note":"One page read moves it to documented.","evidence":[{"url":"https://arma3.com/workshop101","date":"2026-10-21","proved":"'What is the maximum size of a mod? Arma 3 Workshop now support items of unlimited size.'"},{"url":"https://steamcommunity.com/app/3710840/announcements/","date":"2026-10-21","proved":"'Increased the maximum Steam Workshop item size limit from 12 MB to 20 MB. Increased the default Workshop item size from 10 MB to 12 MB.'"},{"url":"https://steamcommunity.com/discussions/forum/1/1744480966997034452/","date":"2026-10-21","proved":"'The maximum size varies depending on what the developers set it as.'"},{"url":"https://partner.steamgames.com/doc/features/workshop","date":"2026-10-21","proved":"'Steam Workshop is a system of back-end storage and front-end web pages that make it easy to store, organize, sort, rate, and download content'"}],"verdict":"qualifies-with-caveat","verified_at":"2026-10-21T00:00:00.000Z","notes":"Per-item size is set by the game developer, not by Valve, and some games are explicitly unlimited — Arma 3: 'Arma 3 Workshop now support items of unlimited size.' Others are tiny: House Flipper raised its cap from 12 MB to 20 MB in a patch. So the quota is per-app, and the number of published items per account is not documented as capped.","extras":{},"binding":"write-gated","binding_note":"the write is a queue with a person or a rule in it, so the upload rate is set by somebody else"},"claims":[{"path":"$.free_tier.stated","kind":"free-quota","num":12,"unit":"MB","per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"ok"},{"path":"$.limits[0].value","kind":"limit:write-gated","num":null,"unit":null,"per":null,"currency":null,"usd":null,"fx_date":null,"parse":"unparsed"}],"unknown":[["$.free_tier.notes","process"],["$.per_object_cap.notes","not-extracted"],["$.per_object_cap.stated","not-extracted"],["$.retention.notes","not-extracted"],["$.retention.stated","not-extracted"]],"history":[],"drift":[{"kind":"duplicate-disagrees","subject":"storage/steam-workshop","other":"storage/steam-workshop-2","field":"verdict","a":"qualifies-with-caveat","b":"fails-quota","detail":null},{"kind":"duplicate-disagrees","subject":"storage/steam-workshop","other":"storage/steam-workshop-2","field":"identity_kind","a":"anonymous","b":"email","detail":null}]}