fshy

fshy / Compute / Databases and KV / Storage

Aiven

aiven.io · Compute, Databases and KV, Storage · 3 records · JSON

Aiven Databases and KV

caveatemailno cardDretention-clamped

aiven.io/pricing/postgresql · managed Postgres and friends with a free plan that powers off on inactivity · databases-kv/aiven-free · JSON · compare

Free tierFree plan with 1 GB RAM and 1 GB total storage per service, on Postgres, MySQL, Valkey, Kafka and OpenSearch; free indefinitely with no time limit, but the service powers off after a period of inactivity
unit GB; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Per-object cap1 GB total storage per service
Retentionthe service powers off after a period of inactivity, on three triggers: no initial usage in the first few hours, or no continuative activity later; a powered-off service is deleted after 180 days. The Free plan is the exception to 'data retention is only limited by storage' (180 days)
Egressno egress allowance, quota or per-GB rate is published on the free-plan pages or the PostgreSQL pricing table; recorded as a gap after checking both
Identityemail email signup; no card on the Free plan
Limits
  • per-object-cap 1 GB total storage per service; 1 GB RAM source
  • retention-clamped the free service powers off after a period of inactivity; a service powered off for more than 180 days is automatically deleted source
  • request-rate max_connections is set to 20 on a free PostgreSQL service, and there is no connection pooling source
Bindingretention-clamped 1 GB of storage is small, but the inactivity power-off is what defeats the use a reader would pick this for: an unattended job that runs less often than the inactivity window. The 180-day deletion sets the outer limit.
Interfacerest, cli the Postgres wire protocol; an API and the avn CLI
Toolingpsql and any Postgres client; the avn CLI
Composes withno longer a candidate for a weekly or monthly job: the free service powers off on inactivity and is deleted 180 days after it powers off, so a keep-alive is required and the paid Developer tier is what removes the clock
Reliabilityfree services power off on inactivity and a service powered off for more than 180 days is automatically deleted; a powered-off service for a version past end of life is deleted within 7 days
Notes1 GB is the smallest free Postgres storage in this class, and the free plan powers off on inactivity, so it does not answer the question the class was formed to ask. 5 GB is what the plan used to give and several comparison pages still print it. The paid Developer tier at USD 5 a month is the version of this that stays up: 'Developer tier services are not automatically powered off when inactive'.
Evidence rungdocumented three first-party Aiven pages were read today: the pricing page for 1 GB RAM and 1 GB storage, the free-PostgreSQL page for the inactivity power-off, and the service power-cycle page for the 180-day deletion.
Checked2026-10-23 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Parsed numbers
  • $.limits[0].value limit:per-object-cap 1.0 GB
Evidence (6)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22aiven.io/pricing/postgresqlFree column: RAM per VM 1 GB, Total storage 1 GB; Developer USD 5 with 8 GB; Hobbyist from USD 12; 'Data retention is only limited by storage, with the exception of Free plan'
2026-10-22aiven.io/free-postgresql-database'Service powers off after a period of inactivity (you'll be notified by email and in-platform beforehand)'; 'It's free indefinitely with no time limit, but the service is automatically powered off after a period of inactivity'
2026-10-22aiven.io/docs/products/postgresql/concepts/pg-free-tiertwo power-off triggers: 'Power off free services with no initial usage within the first few hours after the service is running' and 'Power off free services with no continuative activity on the service'
2026-10-22aiven.io/docs/platform/concepts/service-power-cycle'Services powered off for more than 180 days are automatically deleted'; the 180-day grace does not apply to an end-of-life version, which is deleted within 7 days
2026-10-22aiven.io/docs/platform/concepts/free-plan'Developer tier services are not automatically powered off when inactive'; the paid step is what removes the clock
2026-10-22aiven.io/docs/products/postgresql/concepts/pg-free-tier'No connection pooling' and 'max_connections limit set to 20' on the free tier

Corrections

Aiven (USD 300 trial) Compute

trialemailno cardDvolume-quota

aiven.io/pricing · managed data platform trial credit · compute/aiven · JSON · compare

Free tierNew accounts include $300 in free credits and no payment details are required to sign up. The documentation states 'Aiven offers a free trial for 30 days with credits you can use to explore the Aiven Platform. You don't need a credit card to sign up.' The amount and the duration are on two different pages.
unit mixed; metered on wall-clock
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot applicable: the offer is a spending balance, not a stored object
Retentionthe trial runs 30 days; the free service tier is separate and unlimited (30 days)
Egressnot stated on the pages read
Identityemail no payment details are required to sign up; Google, Microsoft, GitHub or email; the console is JavaScript-only so the form fields were not observed live
Limits
  • volume-quota USD 300 of credit over a 30-day trial source
the amount is published on the developer-tier page and the 30 days on the service-pricing documentation; the /free-trial/ path returns 404
Bindingvolume-quota USD 300 over 30 days is 41.7 cents an hour, and the balance is the only thing that ends the trial
Interfacerest, cli the Aiven console, the Aiven CLI and per-service connection URIs; no general-purpose VM
Toolingthe Aiven CLI, the Terraform provider, and each service's native client
Composes withthe credit pays for managed PostgreSQL, Kafka, Valkey and the rest at list price; it does not buy a machine that runs arbitrary software
Reliabilitythe free service tier continues indefinitely and is separate from the trial credit, so a service can outlive the balance on the Free plan
NotesThe credit buys managed services only. The smallest paid plans are Developer at $5 a month (1 CPU, 1 GiB, 8 GB) and Hobbyist at $12 a month or $0.02 an hour (1 CPU, 1 GiB, 8 GB). A general-purpose process cannot be hosted here.
Evidence rungdocumented two first-party Aiven pages were read on 2026-10-23; the trial URL carried by the search index is dead, so the amount and the duration are each sourced from the page that still carries them
Checked2026-10-24 (live); stale on 2026-11-23
Evidence (3)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-23aiven.io/developer-tierquoted: 'New accounts include $300 in free credits and no payment details are required to sign up.'
2026-10-23aiven.io/docs/platform/concepts/service-pricingquoted: 'Aiven offers a free trial for 30 days with credits you can use to explore the Aiven Platform. You don't need a credit card to sign up.'
2026-10-23aiven.io/free-trial404 on 2026-10-23; no Wayback capture for 2026-10, so the indexed trial URL proves nothing
More fields (4)
{
 "credit_usd": 300,
 "trial_days": 30,
 "smallest_paid_plan_usd_month": 5,
 "hobbyist_hourly_usd": 0.02
}
Unknown or withheld values (1)
  • $.egress.metered egress-unknown

Aiven free tier (PostgreSQL / MySQL / Valkey / OpenSearch / Kafka) Storage

fails: quotacardcardR

aiven.io/ · paas · storage/aiven-free-tier · JSON · compare

Free tier1 GB disk each for PostgreSQL, MySQL and Valkey (Valkey maxmemory = 50% of 1 GB RAM = 512 MB usable); 20 GB storage for OpenSearch; Kafka free tier is throughput-capped at 250 KiB/s. 'Only one service of each service type in your organization.' No time limit, no credit card.
unit GB; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
EgressFree — 'Network traffic is not charged separately' (Aiven service pricing doc). This is the best egress term of any structured store here, which makes the tiny byte quotas the only blocker.
Identitycard derived from the record's prose, not from an identity field, and no signup was executed: each service type in your organization.' No time limit, no credit card. Aiven 'reserves the right to power off free services with no initial usage in the first few hours' and to power off
Bindingnone no constraint of a named kind was recorded; the verdict rests on the quota sentence rather than on a named limit
Interfacerest, cli rest
Toolingpsql / mysql / redis-cli / OpenSearch REST API / any Kafka client; Aiven Terraform provider and avn CLI for provisioning; PG-wire and RESP protocols unchanged
Composes withOne service of each type per ORG (verified in the Valkey free-tier doc: 'Only one service of each service type in your organization'). So one org yields ~1 + 1 + 0.5 + 20 GB = ~22.5 GB across four services, plus Kafka. 23 orgs would reach 500 GB — the best per-org yield of any structured store found, and the only one where egress is genuinely free.
ReliabilityAiven 'reserves the right to power off free services with no initial usage in the first few hours' and to power off services with no continuing activity. For a cold archive that means keep-alive traffic is mandatory or the service sleeps. No data loss reported, just power-off.
Notes1 GB disk each for PostgreSQL, MySQL and Valkey (Valkey maxmemory = 50% of 1 GB RAM = 512 MB usable); 20 GB storage for OpenSearch; Kafka free tier is throughput-capped at 250 KiB/s. 'Only one service of each service type in your organization.' No time limit, no credit card.
Evidence rungreported One page read moves it to documented.
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Evidence (6)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21aiven.io/docs/platform/concepts/free-plan'The Free tier is available for the following service types: Apache Kafka, MySQL, OpenSearch, PostgreSQL, Valkey'; 'You don't need a credit card ... use them indefinitely free of charge'; 'Aiven reserves the right to power off free services with no initial usage ... Power off free services with no continuative activity'
2026-10-21aiven.io/docs/products/postgresql/concepts/pg-free-tier'1 GB RAM', '1 GB disk storage'
2026-10-21aiven.io/docs/products/mysql/concepts/mysql-free-tier'1 GB disk storage'; https://aiven.io/docs/products/valkey/concepts/valkey-free-tier — '1 GB RAM', 'maxmemory set to 50%', 'Only one service of each service type in your organization'
2026-10-21aiven.io/docs/products/opensearch/concepts/opensearch-free-t'4 GB RAM, 20 GB storage', '2 shards', 'Max 20 shards per node', '50 concurrent connections'
2026-10-21aiven.io/docs/products/kafka/free-tier/kafka-free-tier'Streaming throughput up to 250 KiB/s ingress and 250 KiB/s egress', 'Up to 5 topics, each with two partitions'
2026-10-21aiven.io/docs/platform/concepts/service-pricing'Network traffic is not charged separately'
More fields (1)
{
 "dead_end": {
  "failure_class": "quota",
  "why": "1 GB disk each for PostgreSQL, MySQL and Valkey (Valkey maxmemory = 50% of 1 GB RAM = 512 MB usable); 20 GB storage for OpenSearch; Kafka free tier is throughput-capped at 250 KiB/s. 'Only one service of each service type in your organization.' No time limit, no credit card.",
  "retry_when": null,
  "first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (6)
  • $.extras.dead_end.retry_when process
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-extracted
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-extracted
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted
  • $.retention.stated not-extracted