OpenSSF Alpha-Omega
alpha-omega.dev · Compute · 1 record · JSON
OpenSSF Alpha-Omega Compute
fails: identityinstitutionno cardDwrite-gated
| Free tier | Quoted: 'With an annual budget of over $7M, Alpha-Omega works in partnership with maintainers, security researchers, and the global open source community', backed by Anthropic, AWS, Citi, GitHub, Google, Google DeepMind, Microsoft and OpenAI. Engagements are listed per organisation: Eclipse Foundation, FreeBSD Foundation, Homebrew, Node.js, OpenSSL, OpenRefactory, Prossimo, Python Software Foundation, Rust Foundation. unit none; metered on wall-clock; cash-grant |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | institution not published |
| Limits |
Every published engagement is a named foundation or project entity that can hold a contract and pay staff; no individual application route is published at all. |
| Binding | write-gated Every published engagement is a named foundation or project entity that can hold a contract and pay staff; no individual application route is published at all. |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | This is the budget that pays for the security work a solo contributor can instead be paid for patch by patch through the Google Patch Rewards tiers, so the two records describe the same work at two different contracting scales. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | The largest number, USD 7M a year, sits behind the tightest gate: an organisation of record. The route that actually exists for one person is the per-patch programme that Alpha-Omega's predecessor pointed to, recorded separately. I did not find an Alpha-Omega page accepting unsolicited individual proposals; the site's only entry point is a leadership and membership contact. |
| Evidence rung | documented |
| Checked | 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21 |
Evidence (3)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | alpha-omega.dev/ | quoted the USD 7M annual budget and the funder list |
| 2026-10-22 | raw.githubusercontent.com/ossf/alpha-omega/main/README.md | quoted 'funding security staff at organizations like the Rust Foundation and the Eclipse Foundation' and the nine named engagements, all organisations rather than individuals |
| 2026-10-22 | openssf.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/OpenSSF-Alpha-Omega-A | reported 'an average grant size of just under $350,000', with grants to the Node.js, Rust Foundation, jQuery, Eclipse Foundation and Python Software Foundation entities [date precision: year, 2022] |
More fields (1)
{
"wave2": {
"class": "grant-institutional",
"free_tier_kind": "cash-grant",
"shape": null
}
}Unknown or withheld values (10)
$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.identity_cost.detailprocess$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-applicable$.toolingnot-stated