fshy

fshy / Storage

Anaconda.org

anaconda.org · Storage · 1 record · JSON

Anaconda.org (public conda channels) Storage

fails: quotaanonymousno cardR

anaconda.org · registry · storage/anaconda-org · JSON · compare

Free tier3 GB per free personal account. Anaconda staff on the official forum: 'You'll hit a hard limit at 10 GB with the default storage settings. If you need a large amount of storage (>100GB), you'll need to contact sales.' Team plan is 50 GB.
unit GB; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
EgressFree and unmetered for public packages. CDN-fronted (Cloudflare). conda-forge serves multi-GB packages anonymously with no auth.
Identityanonymous derived from the record's prose, not from an identity field, and no signup was executed: e ceiling is the smallest of the registries and there is no anonymous-way around it. Multiply by free orgs/accounts: 3 GB personal, 10 GB default cap, 50 GB Team. Even chained aggressively
Bindingnone no constraint of a named kind was recorded; the verdict rests on the quota sentence rather than on a named limit
Interfacerest rest
Toolinganaconda-client (anaconda upload, anaconda copy, anaconda remove); REST at api.anaconda.org; conda itself is the client for download. Public channel listing is anonymous JSON.
Composes withMultiply by free orgs/accounts: 3 GB personal, 10 GB default cap, 50 GB Team. Even chained aggressively this is the smallest unit in the field — 10 TiB would need ~340 personal accounts at 3 GB. Not worth the operational cost against npm's 200 MB x unlimited.
ReliabilityHard-limit enforcement is a real upload block, not a warning, and Anaconda's own forum answer routes anyone above 10 GB to sales. Storage ceiling is the smallest of the registries and there is no anonymous-way around it.
Notes3 GB per free personal account. Anaconda staff on the official forum: 'You'll hit a hard limit at 10 GB with the default storage settings. If you need a large amount of storage (>100GB), you'll need to contact sales.' Team plan is 50 GB.
Evidence rungreported One page read moves it to documented.
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Evidence (3)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21forum.anaconda.com/t/anaconda-packages-storage-size-limits/9'the personal storage limit is only 3GB'; staff reply: 'You'll hit a hard limit at 10 GB with the default storage settings. If you need a large amount of storage (>100GB), you'll need to contact sales'
2026-10-21continuumio-docs.readthedocs-hosted.com/anacondaorg/faq/'The free plan allows you to search for, create and host public packages, and provides up to 3 GB storage space'
2026-10-21api.anaconda.org/package/conda-forge/numpyprobe: GET -> 200, 3,868 files, 25.6 GB total for one package name (shows the platform itself carries far more than the free-tier limit — the limit is per publisher account, not per package)
More fields (1)
{
 "dead_end": {
  "failure_class": "quota",
  "why": "3 GB per free personal account. Anaconda staff on the official forum: 'You'll hit a hard limit at 10 GB with the default storage settings. If you need a large amount of storage (>100GB), you'll need to contact sales.' Team plan is 50 GB.",
  "retry_when": null,
  "first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (6)
  • $.extras.dead_end.retry_when process
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-extracted
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-extracted
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted
  • $.retention.stated not-extracted