Chan Zuckerberg Initiative
chanzuckerberg.com · Storage · 1 record · JSON
Chan Zuckerberg Initiative - Essential Open Source Software for Science (EOSS) Storage
caveatinstitutionno cardRwrite-gated
| Free tier | No byte quota - $100,000-$400,000 total over two years, from which cloud/storage is a claimable line item. unit mixed; metered on stored-bytes |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Retention | not stated |
| Egress | N/A - grant money, you buy the egress. |
| Identity | institution derived from the record's prose, not from an identity field, and no signup was executed: ountry' subject to US OFAC/export-control screening; non-US institutions cannot subcontract to US institutions if CZI funds it. academic |
| Limits |
Two-year grants. Two-stage (LOI then invited full proposal). Requires an organisation or a fiscal sponsor secured by the full-proposal deadline. 'We welcome applications from any country' subject to US OFAC/export-control screening; non-US institutions cannot subcontract to US institutions if CZI funds it. |
| Binding | write-gated the write is a queue with a person or a rule in it, so the upload rate is set by somebody else |
| Interface | unknown n/a |
| Tooling | n/a |
| Composes with | The eligibility bridge matters more than the money: 'Grants are not permitted to individuals, only to organizations' but a fiscal sponsor is allowed (NumFOCUS, Code for Science & Society). An individual with an OSS project applies through the sponsor and can then budget multi-year object storage explicitly. |
| Reliability | Cycle-based, not rolling - the current cycle page shows Cycle 6 closed, so timing is the gate. Large award, slow cadence. |
| Notes | No byte quota - $100,000-$400,000 total over two years, from which cloud/storage is a claimable line item. |
| Evidence rung | reported One page read moves it to documented. |
| Checked | 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04 |
Evidence (4)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | chanzuckerberg.com/rfa/essential-open-source-software-for-sc | 'Grants are not permitted to individuals, only to organizations'; 'it may designate a fiscal sponsor (e.g., NumFOCUS...)' |
| 2026-10-21 | chanzuckerberg.com/rfa/essential-open-source-software-for-sc | '$50,000 USD and $200,000 USD total costs per year for two years'; 'All grants, regardless of funder, will be for two years' |
| 2026-10-21 | chanzuckerberg.com/rfa/essential-open-source-software-for-sc | 'We welcome applications from any country, provided the proposed work is compliant with... OFAC' |
| 2026-10-21 | chanzuckerberg.com/eoss/ | Cycle 6 $11.7M with Kavli and Wellcome |
Unknown or withheld values (6)
$.free_tier.notesprocess$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.per_object_cap.notesnot-extracted$.per_object_cap.statednot-extracted$.retention.notesnot-extracted$.retention.statednot-extracted