CryptoCompare (CoinDesk Data)
- Free allowance
- Personal plan for non-commercial projects with capped lifetime calls (cap not stated), by contact request; the free API tier was retired on 21 May 2026 and accounts without a subscription lost access
- Verdict
- triala time-boxed or one-time trial, not a recurring allowance
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- emailno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- volume-quotacapped lifetime calls on the Personal plan, cap not stated
- Evidence
- documented7 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-04checked 2026-11-03 (live); stale on 2026-12-04
| Free tier | Personal plan for non-commercial projects with capped lifetime calls (cap not stated), by contact request; the free API tier was retired on 21 May 2026 and accounts without a subscription lost access unit requests; metered on request-count; Start-Up and Enterprise plans are contact-only with no published price. A call to the legacy keyless endpoint answered HTTP 401. |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
Bulk path: Enterprise delivery to Amazon S3, Azure Blob or Google BigQuery only. Storage terms: unverified, the licence agreement page was not read. |
| Binding | volume-quota A lifetime call cap on the only free-looking plan binds first, and its size is unpublished. |
| Identity | email The Personal plan button leads to a Contact form, not a self-serve sign-up; what the form asks is unverified: behind a contact request. |
| Egress | not metered in bytes; the lifetime call cap bounds a Personal account |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Interface | rest GET https://min-api.cryptocompare.com/data/... (legacy) and https://data-api.coindesk.com/... with the key as api_key or an Authorization or x-api-key header endpoint: https://data-api.coindesk.com |
| Tooling | curl or any HTTP client |
| Composes with | No self-serve free key remains; CoinPaprika, CoinLore and CoinGecko give crypto prices with a key-free or email-only free route. |
| Reliability | A keyless call answered HTTP 401 asking for an API key; accounts without a subscription stopped returning data after 21 May 2026. |
| Notes | Free tier retired 21 May 2026; only a capped-lifetime Personal plan by contact remains listed. Bulk path: Enterprise only. Storage terms: unverified. |
| Evidence note | documented The retirement notice and the plan card are first-party and disagree on whether a free Personal plan is still issued; a keyless probe answered 401. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 7
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-11-02 | data.coindesk.com/blogs/changes-to-coindesk-data-indices-api | the free API tier was retired as of 21 May 2026 |
| 2026-11-02 | data.coindesk.com/blogs/changes-to-coindesk-data-indices-api | an account with no API subscription stops returning data |
| 2026-11-02 | developers.coindesk.com/pricing | the Personal plan is non-commercial with capped lifetime calls |
| 2026-11-02 | developers.coindesk.com/pricing | Personal history depth |
| 2026-11-02 | developers.coindesk.com/pricing | Enterprise delivers to cloud storage |
| 2026-11-03 | probe: https://min-api.cryptocompare.com/data/price?fsym=BTC&tsyms=USD | part of the text of Reliability, above |
| 2026-11-03 | probe: https://min-api.cryptocompare.com/data/price?fsym=BTC&tsyms=USD | the 401 asks for an API key |
More fields 2
| bulk path | Enterprise delivery to S3, Azure Blob or BigQuery |
|---|---|
| history depth | 365 days daily, 7 days hourly, 1 hour minute on Personal |
Unknown values 1
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer