CyVerse Data
cyverse.org · Compute, Storage · 2 records · JSON
- CyVerse Computecaveatemailno cardDvolume-quota
- CyVerse Data Store Storagefails: quotaemailno cardRwrite-gated
CyVerse Compute
caveatemailno cardDvolume-quota
| Free tier | The free Basic tier is 5 GB of Data Store storage, 200 compute units per year and 1 concurrent job, where the page states "1 Compute Unit equals 1 Core Hour on a CPU". Paid individual tiers are Regular at USD 200 per year for 50 GB, 1,000 compute units and 2 concurrent jobs, and Pro at USD 400 per year for 4 TB, 25,000 compute units and 4 concurrent jobs, with GPU access by request on the two paid tiers only. unit hours; metered on wall-clock; perpetual-small-tier |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | email not published |
| Limits |
5 GB of storage and 200 core-hours a year on the free tier, enforced since 1 March 2025, and the user portal states that data above quota is deleted and is not recoverable. |
| Binding | volume-quota 5 GB of storage and 200 core-hours a year on the free tier, enforced since 1 March 2025, and the user portal states that data above quota is deleted and is not recoverable. |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | CyVerse is the funding parent of the Galaxy Main hardware allocation, so the two accounts sit on overlapping machines; the useful composition is the paid Pro tier, where USD 400 a year buys 25,000 core-hours and 4 TB on the same infrastructure that hosts Galaxy, which is a batch analysis machine with a shell rather than Galaxy wrappers. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | The free tier is small enough that recording it as capacity would mislead: 200 core-hours a year is one afternoon of a single core. Its value is the paid tier as a price floor, and the enforcement history as a reliability fact. It is not the cheapest cost per core-hour in the file: the DesignSafe record carries a TACC purchase rate near USD 0.008 to USD 0.01 per core-hour, but that is a quote-based purchase from a national laboratory rather than a published annual plan. CyVerse also removes accounts for inactivity, announced on its own 404 page, which is a fact a reader storing data there needs. The corpus holds no CyVerse record. |
| Evidence rung | documented |
| Checked | 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21 |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence (4)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | cyverse.org/subscribe | tier table: Basic free with 5 GB, 200 compute units per year, 1 concurrent job; Regular USD 200 per year with 50 GB and 1,000 units; Pro USD 400 per year with 4 TB and 25,000 units, quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | cyverse.org/subscribe | "1 Compute Unit equals 1 Core Hour on a CPU", quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | cyverse.org/quota-enforce | "Starting March 1, 2025, we will begin to enforce data storage quotas and limits on all Basic (free) and paid subscription accounts"; "data exceeding your storage quota will be removed. Deleted data are not recoverable", quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | cyverse.org/policies/data | "All domestic and international CyVerse account holders receive a default allocation of 5GB of storage at no cost", quoted |
More fields (1)
{
"wave2": {
"class": "open-science-platform",
"free_tier_kind": "perpetual-small-tier",
"shape": {
"vcpu": null,
"ram_gib": null,
"gpu_class": null,
"gpu_count": null
}
}
}Unknown or withheld values (10)
$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.identity_cost.detailprocess$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-applicable$.toolingnot-stated
CyVerse Data Store Storage
fails: quotaemailno cardRwrite-gated
| Free tier | 5 GB default for every account, explicitly for 'all domestic and international CyVerse account holders'. Above that it is paid: $125/TB/year single-copy up to 4 TB, $105/TB/year beyond, and $250/TB/year for 2025 double-copy. Community Data folders can be granted larger allocations on application, and published data in the Data Commons can be larger — but the free self-serve number is 5 GB. unit GB; metered on unstated |
|---|---|
| Price | $10.42/TB/month single-copy ($125/TB/yr), $8.75/TB/month above 4 TB, $20.83/TB/month double-copy. Above the wave-6 price floor of ~$5/TB/mo — not recommended. |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Retention | US NSF-funded, data mirrored at Arizona and TACC. Explicitly not an archive: 'The Data Store is not intended for permanent, archival storage.' |
| Egress | Free — iRODS-backed, anonymous public links for published data; the Data Commons is browsable without an account. |
| Identity | email email |
| Limits |
fails-quota at the free tier by two orders of magnitude. The paid rate is also not competitive: $125/TB/year = ~$10.4/TB/month, twice the wave-6 floor. Community Released Data folders additionally require 'a current paid subscription to CyVerse (Reg, Pro, Commercial)'. |
| Binding | write-gated the write is a queue with a person or a rule in it, so the upload rate is set by somebody else |
| Interface | s3, rest, webdav, rclone rest |
| Tooling | iRODS with iCommands, plus a REST API and the Discovery Environment UI. Mature and scriptable, but the data model is iRODS rather than S3/WebDAV, so rclone needs the iRODS plugin rather than a stock backend. |
| Composes with | 5 GB per account is trivially repeatable in principle, but each account needs its own email and the allocation is tied to identity, so it does not compose into anything large without deliberate account farming. Community Data folders are the only legitimate multiplier and they are reviewed. |
| Reliability | US NSF-funded, data mirrored at Arizona and TACC. Explicitly not an archive: 'The Data Store is not intended for permanent, archival storage.' |
| Notes | 5 GB default for every account, explicitly for 'all domestic and international CyVerse account holders'. Above that it is paid: $125/TB/year single-copy up to 4 TB, $105/TB/year beyond, and $250/TB/year for 2025 double-copy. Community Data folders can be granted larger allocations on application, and published data in the Data Commons can be larger — but the free self-serve number is 5 GB. |
| Evidence rung | reported One page read moves it to documented. |
| Checked | 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04 |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence (2)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | cyverse.org/policies/data | opened: 'All domestic and international CyVerse account holders receive a default allocation of 5GB of storage at no cost'; '$125 USD per TB per year for single-copy for up to 4TB'; 'For 2025, a flat rate of $250 USD/TB/year … (double-copy)'; 'The Data Store is not intended for permanent, archival storage.' |
| 2026-10-21 | cyverse.org/policies/data | same page, Community Released Data: 'The person requesting the Community Released Data Folder must have a current paid subscription to CyVerse (Reg, Pro, Commercial).' |
More fields (2)
{
"dead_end": {
"failure_class": "write-gated",
"why": "5 GB default for every account, explicitly for 'all domestic and international CyVerse account holders'. Above that it is paid: $125/TB/year single-copy up to 4 TB, $105/TB/year beyond, and $250/TB/year for 2025 double-copy. Community Data folders can be granted larger allocations on application, and published data in the Data Commons can be larger — but the free self-serve number is 5 GB.",
"retry_when": null,
"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
},
"price_verbatim": "$10.42/TB/month single-copy ($125/TB/yr), $8.75/TB/month above 4 TB, $20.83/TB/month double-copy. Above the wave-6 price floor of ~$5/TB/mo — not recommended."
}Unknown or withheld values (5)
$.extras.dead_end.retry_whenprocess$.free_tier.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.notesnot-extracted$.per_object_cap.statednot-extracted$.retention.notesnot-extracted