fshy

fshy / Compute / Storage

Deepnote

deepnote.com · Compute, Storage · 3 records · JSON

Deepnote Compute

caveatemailno cardDvolume-quota

deepnote.com/pricing · notebook runtime · compute/deepnote-free · JSON · compare

Free tierFree forever, including the Basic machine at 5 GB RAM and 2 vCPU marked Unlimited; background execution and scheduled notebooks are Team features at USD 39 per editor per month
unit unlimited; metered on none; The machine time is unlimited; the capability that makes it useful for an unattended job is not in the free plan.
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot applicable: the unit is a session, not an object
Retentionnot stated on the pricing page
Egressno egress allowance or price published
Identityemail an account; the pricing page states no card for the Free plan
Limits
  • volume-quota 0 hours of unattended execution: background execution and scheduled notebooks are Team-tier features source
Bindingvolume-quota the free machine time is unlimited, so the thing that fails is not a counter but the absence of any unattended mode
Interfacerest, cli a browser notebook with a Python environment and integrations
Toolingthe web editor; background execution and scheduling need the Team plan
Composes withan interactive notebook with generous free machine time, and no way to run it without a human present
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThe free tier is genuinely unlimited on the Basic machine, which makes it the best free interactive notebook for a long CPU session. It fails question because a run ends with the tab. No idle timeout is published.
Evidence rungdocumented the machine shape and the tier gating are quoted from the pricing page today. RAM is the vendor's '5 GB' in decimal; kept as stated.
Checked2026-10-25 (live); stale on 2026-11-24
Parsed numbers
  • $.extras.m10h_usd price USD0.0 / month
  • $.extras.m24h_usd price USD0.0 / month
  • $.limits[0].value limit:volume-quota 0.0 hours
Evidence (4)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-24deepnote.com/pricingthe Machines table names 'Basic (5 GB RAM, 2 vCPU)' and gives the Free column 'Unlimited'
2026-10-24deepnote.com/pricingthe Team plan bullet list contains 'Background execution' and 'Scheduled notebooks'; the Free plan bullet list on the same page contains neither, which is an absence I read rather than a sentence the vendor wrote
2026-10-24deepnote.com/pricingquoted: '$39 per editor/month billed yearly' for Team, the tier that carries background execution
2026-10-24deepnote.com/pricingquoted: 'A free version for aspiring data analysts and scientists.'
More fields (12)
{
 "shape": {
  "vcpu": 2,
  "ram_gib": 5,
  "disk_gib": null,
  "gpu_class": null,
  "gpu_count": null,
  "note": "vendor states 5 GB RAM, 2 vCPU on the Basic machine; Plus (16 GB / 4 vCPU) is not in the free plan"
 },
 "billing_model": "free",
 "term": "none",
 "m10h_usd": 0.0,
 "m24h_usd": 0.0,
 "price_arithmetic": "USD 0.00 for the Free plan",
 "free_tier_kind": "free-forever",
 "unattended": false,
 "unattended_mechanism": "none on Free; background execution is a Team feature",
 "network_out": {
  "allow_outbound": true,
  "allow_inbound_listen": false,
  "ports": "unstated",
  "static_ip": false,
  "ipv6": false,
  "per_session_bytes": null
 },
 "session_cap": {
  "wall_clock_min": null,
  "idle_reap_s": null,
  "restart_required": false,
  "note": "not published"
 },
 "units": "RAM and disk are quoted in the vendor's own decimal GB, not GiB. The ram_gib and disk_gib keys carry the vendor's number unconverted, so where a vendor writes 30 GB the key holds 30 and the true value is about 27.9 GiB. No conversion was performed."
}
Unknown or withheld values (1)
  • $.reliability_note none-observed

Deepnote Education plan Compute

fails: identityinstitutionno cardD

deepnote.com/docs/edu-overview · notebook runtime · compute/deepnote-education-plan · JSON · compare

Free tierQuoted: 'Our Education plan is 100% free for students, teachers, and researchers who connect their accounts to school email addresses. The free Education plan provides access to most of the Team plan features other than advanced computing machines, Scheduling and Deepnote AI.' The GitHub pack describes the same offer as 'unlimited basic machines with up to 5GB RAM and 2vCPU'.
unit GiB; metered on wall-clock; recurring-credit
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot applicable
Retentionnot applicable
Egressnot stated
Identityinstitution a school email address connected to the account: the edu page states the plan is '100% free for students, teachers, and researchers who connect their accounts to school email addresses'. Whether any further enrollment document is checked is not stated, and no card, hold, debit or prepaid term is stated.
Bindingnone No rate, retention or volume term binds above a user's scale; the real bound is machine size, 2 vCPU and 5 GB on the basic machines, and the brief's seven-value vocabulary has no term for an instance-size cap, so it is named here rather than mislabelled.
Interfacerest inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThe pack page and the vendor page disagree on scope: the pack promises 'unlimited basic machines', the vendor page says advanced machines are excluded. Both are documented, and the vendor page is the authority on the plan itself. This is a case where the aggregator's description is generous and the underlying product page is the one that binds.
Evidence rungdocumented
Checked2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21
Evidence (2)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22deepnote.com/docs/edu-overview'100% free for students, teachers, and researchers who connect their accounts to school email addresses'; the Education plan excludes 'advanced computing machines, Scheduling and Deepnote AI'.
2026-10-22education.github.com/pack'unlimited basic machines with up to 5GB RAM and 2vCPU' under the Deepnote offer, which is a smaller reading than the vendor's own edu page implies.
More fields (1)
{
 "wave2": {
  "class": "student-pack",
  "free_tier_kind": "recurring-credit",
  "shape": {
   "vcpu": 2,
   "ram_gib": 5,
   "gpu_class": null,
   "gpu_count": 0
  }
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (9)
  • $.chaining withheld
  • $.egress.metered egress-unknown
  • $.egress.terms not-stated
  • $.per_object_cap.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-applicable
  • $.reliability_note none-observed
  • $.retention.notes process
  • $.retention.stated not-applicable
  • $.tooling not-stated

Deepnote Storage

fails: quotaemail?card?Rper-object-cap

deepnote.com · paas · storage/deepnote · JSON · compare

Free tierFree plan: 3 editors, 5 projects, Basic machine (5 GB RAM, 2 vCPU) unlimited. No free-tier disk figure is published anywhere on the pricing page or docs.
unit objects; metered on unstated
Pricenone stated
Per-object cap100 MB per file (100000000 bytes)
Retentionnot stated
EgressNot published; no per-GB transfer price on the pricing page.
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Limits
  • per-object-cap 100 MB per file source
100 MB per file via the web upload UI; /work is object-storage-backed and slow for many small files; /tmp is fast but lost on restart; 7-day revision history on Free.
Bindingper-object-cap the per-object cap sets the shard size and therefore the object count; it bounds the total more tightly than any headline quota
Interfacerest, git rest
ToolingNotebook API, git sync, terminal; /work is a normal POSIX directory backed by object storage.
Composes with5 projects x (undisclosed GB) x N free accounts. The project cap is the hard multiplier ceiling.
Reliability/work does persist across restarts (docs contrast it with /tmp, which 'will be lost when the machine restarts'), but the capacity is unpublished and the 5-project cap makes this uninteresting.
NotesFree plan: 3 editors, 5 projects, Basic machine (5 GB RAM, 2 vCPU) unlimited. No free-tier disk figure is published anywhere on the pricing page or docs.
Evidence rungreported One page read moves it to documented.
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Parsed numbers
  • $.limits[0].value limit:per-object-cap 100.0 MB
Evidence (2)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21deepnote.com/pricingFree: 3 editors, 5 projects, 'Basic (5 GB RAM, 2 vCPU) unlimited'
2026-10-21deepnote.com/docs/importing-data-to-deepnote'/work is backed by object storage'; '/tmp ... will be lost when the machine restarts'; 100 MB web upload cap
More fields (1)
{
 "dead_end": {
  "failure_class": "paid",
  "why": "Free plan: 3 editors, 5 projects, Basic machine (5 GB RAM, 2 vCPU) unlimited. No free-tier disk figure is published anywhere on the pricing page or docs.",
  "retry_when": null,
  "first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (8)
  • $.egress.metered egress-unknown
  • $.extras.dead_end.retry_when process
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.identity_cost.detail defaulted
  • $.identity_cost.kind identity-defaulted
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-extracted
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted
  • $.retention.stated not-extracted