INCITE
doeleadershipcomputing.org · Compute, Storage · 2 records · JSON
- INCITE (ALCF + OLCF, US DOE) Storagecaveatinstitution?card?R
- INCITE Computefails: identityinstitutionno cardDwrite-gated
INCITE (ALCF + OLCF, US DOE) Storage
caveatinstitution?card?R
| Free tier | 100 trillion bytes (~100 TB) of data storage awarded across the programme each year; per-project archival quota at OLCF is 200 TB (shared across Project/World/User Archive on Kronos). unit TB; metered on stored-bytes |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Retention | Tenured infrastructure; data survives, but the allocation expires and the archival quota can be clawed back after project end - treat as renewable-while-funded, not permanent. |
| Egress | Globus/GridFTP and SSH transfer free to allocation holders; no egress meter. Data is not a public HTTP origin. |
| Identity | institution (placeholder) inferred from the category 'academic'; the source record states no identity cost, so this is a class assumption, not evidence |
| Limits |
Annual call only (mid-April to mid/late June), awards 1-3 years with a peer-reviewed annual renewal request. Post-project archival storage is explicitly at the facility's discretion ('The facilities reserve the right to limit the amount and duration of archival storage once a project has been completed'). Data must be research data |
| Binding | none 100 TB is awarded to projects by a review panel; there is no route from an unaffiliated individual to an allocation. |
| Interface | s3, sftp, scp, ssh posix |
| Tooling | SSH/scp/sftp, Globus, Lustre + HPSS/Kronos nearline mounts; no S3. |
| Composes with | One allocation = one project directory on a 100+ PB Lustre (Eagle/Orion) plus up to 200 TB nearline archive. Storage is not separately metered, so a storage-heavy proposal can request a large quota against a small compute request - but the proposal must still justify compute. |
| Reliability | Tenured infrastructure; data survives, but the allocation expires and the archival quota can be clawed back after project end - treat as renewable-while-funded, not permanent. |
| Notes | 100 trillion bytes (~100 TB) of data storage awarded across the programme each year; per-project archival quota at OLCF is 200 TB (shared across Project/World/User Archive on Kronos). |
| Evidence rung | reported One page read moves it to documented. |
| Checked | 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04 |
Evidence (4)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | doeleadershipcomputing.org/incite-faqs/ | '100 trillion bytes of data storage space'; '1-3 years (renewable)'; 'Multiyear awards must submit annual renewal requests' |
| 2026-10-21 | doeleadershipcomputing.org/incite-faqs/ | Q10: 'Are foreign researchers and teams eligible to apply? Yes... U.S. collaborations are encouraged, but not required.' Q11: 'the solicitation is open to individual researchers' |
| 2026-10-21 | doeleadershipcomputing.org/wp-content/uploads/sites/123/2025 | 'open to US- and non-US-based researchers and research organizations'; 'Citizenship and specific funding sources are not qualifiers' |
| 2026-10-21 | docs.olcf.ornl.gov/data/index.html | Project Archive 200 TB, no purge flag |
Unknown or withheld values (5)
$.free_tier.notesprocess$.identity_cost.kindidentity-defaulted$.per_object_cap.notesnot-extracted$.per_object_cap.statednot-extracted$.retention.notesnot-extracted
INCITE Compute
fails: identityinstitutionno cardDwrite-gated
| Free tier | Up to 60% of the allocatable time on Frontier (OLCF) and Aurora (ALCF) is allocated through INCITE for calendar year 2027; for each resource, allocations are anticipated to be between 500K and 2M node-hours on Aurora and Frontier, and individual awards may be higher. Non-proprietary research projects are not charged for access. unit hours; metered on wall-clock; merit-reviewed allocation |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | institution not published |
| Limits |
The PI may be foreign and unaffiliated on paper, but the award is conditional on each participating institution signing the ANL/ORNL user agreement, and the applicant must already hold all funding and resources needed to execute the campaign at application time. |
| Binding | write-gated The PI may be foreign and unaffiliated on paper, but the award is conditional on each participating institution signing the ANL/ORNL user agreement, and the applicant must already hold all funding and resources needed to execute the campaign at application time. |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | The awarded resource is time plus 100 trillion bytes of storage across the programme; it does not include labour, travel or postdoc funding, so it composes only with a grant the applicant already holds. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | Two review phases: an international peer-review panel on scientific merit, then a technical assessment of computational readiness by LCF staff. Requests under 20% of the average award are redirected to Director's Discretionary or ALCC. Early Career Track reserves 10% of allocatable time for PIs within 10 years of a PhD who have not previously been INCITE PI. Polaris is no longer available; Aurora and Frontier are the only INCITE resources for 2027. The 20% utilisation criterion is the real filter at a user's scale: a solo researcher must show the campaign consumes a fifth of an exascale machine. Node-hour to GPU-hour conversion depends on the system (Frontier nodes carry 4 MI300A APUs), so the corpus should not convert without a per-system figure. |
| Evidence rung | documented |
| Checked | 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21 |
Evidence (5)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | doeleadershipcomputing.org/call-for-proposals/ | allocations anticipated between 500K and 2M node-hours on Aurora and Frontier, up to 60% of allocatable time, CY2027, quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | doeleadershipcomputing.org/call-for-proposals/ | 'US and non-US based Individuals and/or teams of researchers from academia, national laboratories, industry, and federal agencies are eligible to apply', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | doeleadershipcomputing.org/call-for-proposals/ | application window Wednesday April 8, 2026 through 8:00 pm EDT Monday June 15, 2026; awards announced November 2026, quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | doeleadershipcomputing.org/call-for-proposals/ | 'each participating institution on the awarded proposal must accept or already have signed the user agreement; otherwise, access by the institution's researcher(s) to the LCF system will be delayed', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | doeleadershipcomputing.org/incite-faqs/ | FAQ 8: 'researchers are expected to have all funding and any other elements necessary to ensure the success of their research project in place at the time of their application'; FAQ 26 repeats it as an eligibility condition |
More fields (1)
{
"wave2": {
"class": "national-hpc",
"free_tier_kind": "merit-reviewed allocation",
"shape": {
"vcpu": null,
"ram_gib": null,
"gpu_class": "AMD MI300A (Frontier) / Intel Data Center GPU Max (Aurora)",
"gpu_count": null
}
}
}Unknown or withheld values (10)
$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.identity_cost.detailprocess$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-applicable$.toolingnot-stated