fshy

fshy / Compute / Storage

fal

fal.ai · Compute, Storage · 4 records · JSON

fal Research Grants Compute

caveatemailno cardDwrite-gated

fal.ai/grants · GPU cloud · compute/fal-research-grants · JSON · compare

Free tierFree compute on fal's inference platform. The eligibility sentence is the most open found in this class, quoted: 'The fal Research Grants program is open to anyone passionate about advancing AI through open source projects. No formal degree is required - your ideas and dedication are what matter most.' The amount is not published anywhere on the page. The route is an email to grants@fal.ai with a project description, goals, and 'any relevant work or GitHub repositories'.
unit none; metered on wall-clock; one-time-credit
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot applicable
Retentionnot applicable
Egressnot stated
Identityemail not published
Limits
  • write-gated the award has no published amount, cap, duration or expiry, so the only thing bounding it is a discretionary reply to an email. source
the award has no published amount, cap, duration or expiry, so the only thing bounding it is a discretionary reply to an email.
Bindingwrite-gated the award has no published amount, cap, duration or expiry, so the only thing bounding it is a discretionary reply to an email.
Interfaceunknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withThe grant is platform credit, so it composes only with fal's own models; it is a supplement for an inference-heavy step, not a training allowance.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesRecorded for the door rather than the number, and it is honest to say so: no figure exists on the page, so the finding cannot rank against Lambda or TRC. What makes it worth a line is the explicit removal of the degree requirement in a class where nearly every other program gates on it, plus the fact that the application is an email rather than a form. The named testimonials are the only proof it pays out. Whether the credits are GPU-seconds on fal's inference endpoints or spend on the platform is not stated, and that distinction decides whether a training run is possible at all - it probably is not, which is the caveat.
Evidence rungdocumented
Checked2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21
Evidence (2)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22fal.ai/grants'open to anyone passionate about advancing AI through open source projects'; No formal degree is required'; 'simply reach out to us at grants@fal.ai'; quoted; page 200
2026-10-22fal.ai/grantsthe page publishes no amount, no duration and no expiry; the only evidence of awards is two named testimonials (Vik Korrapati for Moondream, Peng Zheng for BiRefNet), which show the program paid out to identifiable people but carry no figure
More fields (1)
{
 "wave2": {
  "class": "research-credit",
  "free_tier_kind": "one-time-credit",
  "shape": {
   "vcpu": null,
   "ram_gib": null,
   "gpu_class": null,
   "gpu_count": null
  }
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (10)
  • $.egress.metered egress-unknown
  • $.egress.terms not-stated
  • $.identity_cost.detail process
  • $.interface interface-unknown
  • $.per_object_cap.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-applicable
  • $.reliability_note none-observed
  • $.retention.notes process
  • $.retention.stated not-applicable
  • $.tooling not-stated

fal Compute

paidemail?card?Dwrite-gated

fal.ai/pricing · GPU cloud · compute/fal · JSON · compare

Free tiernot published
unit none; metered on wall-clock
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
Egressnot stated
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Limits
  • request-rate per-second and per-token model rates, from $0.007 per 1,000 tokens to $1.20 per million tokens on the rows shown source
  • write-gated no machine to rent and no free tier: the product answers model calls, so capacity is per request source
excluded as gpu-only
Bindingwrite-gated
Interfaceunknown
Toolingnot stated
Composes withnot stated
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
Evidence rungdocumented the pricing page was read on 2026-10-22 and carries per-second and per-token model rates. There is no free tier and no machine to rent, so the verdict moves to paid-only on the correct grounds: this is an inference API, not compute
Checked2026-10-23 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Parsed numbers
  • $.limits[0].value limit:request-rate 1000.0 tokens
Evidence (2)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-02fal.ai/pricingnot published
2026-10-22fal.ai/pricingthe pricing page was read on 2026-10-22 and is a model price table: 'FLUX 3 Max, seconds, $0.085, $0.425' and similar per-second and per-token rates. It prices inference, not machines, and states no free tier
More fields (12)
{
 "talaria_m10h_usd": null,
 "talaria_m24h_usd": null,
 "nemo_m10h_usd": null,
 "keep_rate": null,
 "keep_rate_basis": "no field in the source",
 "billing_model": "unclassified",
 "shape": null,
 "session_cap": {
  "wall_clock_min": null,
  "idle_reap_s": null,
  "restart_required": false,
  "note": "the unit is a second of generated video or a token; there is no session"
 },
 "persistent_storage": null,
 "network_out": null,
 "price_note": null,
 "free_tier_kind": "none"
}
Unknown or withheld values (17)
  • $.chaining not-stated
  • $.egress.metered egress-unknown
  • $.egress.terms not-stated
  • $.evidence[0].proved process
  • $.extras.price_note process
  • $.free_tier.notes withheld
  • $.free_tier.stated process
  • $.identity_cost.detail defaulted
  • $.identity_cost.kind identity-defaulted
  • $.interface interface-unknown
  • $.interface_detail withheld
  • $.per_object_cap.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-stated
  • $.reliability_note none-observed
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted
  • $.retention.stated not-stated
  • $.tooling not-stated

fal.ai Storage

fails: quotaemail?card?R

fal.ai/pricing · rejected-provider · storage/fal-ai · JSON · compare

Free tierSame shape as Replicate and worse-documented for storage: the platform is per-second GPU billing for model APIs and Serverless deploys, with a 'fal CDN' for request media that is a retention
unit none; metered on none
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot recorded
Retentionnot recorded
Egressnot recorded
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Bindingnone no constraint of a named kind was recorded; the verdict rests on the quota sentence rather than on a named limit
Interfaceunknown
Toolingnot recorded
Composes withnot recorded
ReliabilitySame shape as Replicate and worse-documented for storage: the platform is per-second GPU billing for model APIs and Serverless deploys, with a 'fal CDN' for request media that is a retention
NotesSame shape as Replicate and worse-documented for storage: the platform is per-second GPU billing for model APIs and Serverless deploys, with a 'fal CDN' for request media that is a retention
Evidence rungreported
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Evidence (2)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21fal.ai/pricingSame shape as Replicate and worse-documented for storage: the platform is per-second GPU billing for model APIs and Serverless deploys, with a 'fal CDN' for request media that is a retention
2026-10-21docs.fal.ai/model-apis/model-endpoints/storagecited as the basis of the rejection: Same shape as Replicate and worse-documented for storage: the platform is per-second GPU billing for model APIs and Serverless deploys, with a 'fal CDN' for request media that is a retention
More fields (1)
{
 "dead_end": {
  "failure_class": "retention",
  "why": "Same shape as Replicate and worse-documented for storage: the platform is per-second GPU billing for model APIs and Serverless deploys, with a 'fal CDN' for request media that is a retention",
  "retry_when": null,
  "first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (15)
  • $.chaining not-recorded
  • $.confidence_note withheld
  • $.egress.terms not-recorded
  • $.extras.dead_end.retry_when process
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.identity_cost.detail defaulted
  • $.identity_cost.kind identity-defaulted
  • $.interface interface-unknown
  • $.interface_detail withheld
  • $.limits_note process
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-recorded
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-recorded
  • $.retention.notes process
  • $.retention.stated not-recorded
  • $.tooling not-recorded

fal.ai persistent /data volume Storage

fails: quotaemail?card?Rper-object-cap

fal.ai · paas · storage/fal-ai-persistent-data-volume · JSON · compare

Free tierNo published byte quota on the /data volume — the docs state only 'Files written to /data persist between requests, across runner restarts, and across deployments' and 'Files you write there persist until you delete them. Runner shutdown does not delete these files.' Capacity is bounded only by what you pay to keep a runner alive; there is no free storage allowance and no documented ceiling.
unit none; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Per-object cap100 GB per file (100000000000 bytes)
RetentionNo published byte quota on the /data volume — the docs state only 'Files written to /data persist between requests, across runner restarts, and across deployments' and 'Files you write there persist until you delete them
EgressNOT free and NOT anonymous: '/data' files are 'not URL-accessible' — there is no public download URL, so the egress question does not arise. Bulk in/out is via fal files CLI or the REST storage API.
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Limits
  • per-object-cap 100 GB per file source
  • write-gated approval (request at fal source
per-object-cap is upload-method-dependent (this is the useful part): fal files upload CLI ~100 GB per file (10 MB parts, max 10,000 parts); dashboard drag-and-drop 1 GB; upload-from-URL 5 GB and must complete in 10 minutes; POST /serverless/files/file/local/{path} ~4.5 MB per request; writes from inside a running app are exempt ('Not subject to these limits. The runner writes straight to the volume'). Retention: indefinite, self-managed. Billing: you are billed per second for every runner state except PENDING, DOCKER_PULL and TERMINATED — SETUP and IDLE are both billed, so holding storage open costs GPU-time.
Bindingper-object-cap the per-object cap sets the shard size and therefore the object count; it bounds the total more tightly than any headline quota
Interfacerest, cli rest
Toolingfal Python CLI (fal files upload/download/list/remove), @fal-ai/client JS storage API, fal.download_file(url, target_dir='/data/...') in-app. Chunked at 4 MB into a global object store; parallel reads hit a distributed cache (docs claim 6-8 GB/s distributed, 10-15 GB/s local NVMe).
Composes withNot a free-storage chain — it is a paid-compute chain. The multiplication only works if you find a machine type cheap enough that idle runner-time is under the client's willingness to pay; that is a pricing question I did not resolve, and there is no free tier for Serverless (deploys 'need access that the fal team approves for each account').
ReliabilityServerless access is gated by per-account approval (request at fal.ai/dashboard/serverless-get-started), so this is not a self-serve multiplier. Docs warn that streaming a multi-GB artifact in small chunks to /data is much slower than one bulk copy.
NotesNo published byte quota on the /data volume — the docs state only 'Files written to /data persist between requests, across runner restarts, and across deployments' and 'Files you write there persist until you delete them. Runner shutdown does not delete these files.' Capacity is bounded only by what you pay to keep a runner alive; there is no free storage allowance and no documented ceiling.
Evidence rungreported One page read moves it to documented.
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Parsed numbers
  • $.limits[0].value limit:per-object-cap 100.0 GB
Evidence (3)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21fal.ai/docs/documentation/development/use-persistent-storage'Files written to /data persist between requests, across runner restarts, and across deployments'; no quota stated
2026-10-21fal.ai/docs/documentation/development/file-storageupload size table: CLI ~100 GB, dashboard 1 GB, from-URL 5 GB/10 min, local API ~4.5 MB
2026-10-21fal.ai/docs/documentation/serverless/pricingbilled states table (SETUP/IDLE/RUNNING billed; PENDING/DOCKER_PULL not)
More fields (1)
{
 "dead_end": {
  "failure_class": "dead-service",
  "why": "No published byte quota on the /data volume — the docs state only 'Files written to /data persist between requests, across runner restarts, and across deployments' and 'Files you write there persist until you delete them. Runner shutdown does not delete these files.' Capacity is bounded only by what you pay to keep a runner alive; there is no free storage allowance and no documented ceiling.",
  "retry_when": null,
  "first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (6)
  • $.extras.dead_end.retry_when process
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.identity_cost.detail defaulted
  • $.identity_cost.kind identity-defaulted
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-extracted
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted