Flickr
flickr.com · Storage · 1 record · JSON
Flickr Storage
fails: quotaemail?card?R
| Free tier | FREE TIER IS 1,000 ITEMS, NOT 1 TB. The famous 1 TB was killed on 2019-01-08. Free = 1,000 photos/videos total, of which max 50 may be non-public. Pro (paid) = unlimited storage, full-res, no monthly cap. unit objects; metered on stored-bytes |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Retention | not stated |
| Egress | Free and unmetered for public images (staticflickr.com CDN). Non-public content on free accounts is capped at 50 and at risk of deletion, so egress is real only for public photos. |
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
| Binding | none no constraint of a named kind was recorded; the verdict rests on the quota sentence rather than on a named limit |
| Interface | rest, rclone rest |
| Tooling | Flickr API (OAuth1), flickr-sync; no native rclone backend; ShareX and Lightroom publish plugins. |
| Composes with | Unlimited free accounts x 1,000 items. This is a per-record cap, not a byte cap — but 1,000 items x 200 MB max = ~200 GB/account at absolute best, and item 1,001 is deleted. |
| Reliability | Enforcement is real and documented: over-limit accounts are suspended or have content deleted. Pro is required for any bulk use. |
| Notes | FREE TIER IS 1,000 ITEMS, NOT 1 TB. The famous 1 TB was killed on 2019-01-08. Free = 1,000 photos/videos total, of which max 50 may be non-public. Pro (paid) = unlimited storage, full-res, no monthly cap. |
| Evidence rung | reported One page read moves it to documented. |
| Checked | 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04 |
Evidence (3)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | www.flickrhelp.com/hc/en-us/articles/13690320471060-Free-acc | 'Store more than 50 Non-Public photos or videos'; 'Upload over 1,000 items'; 'Content that exceeds these limits is at risk of suspension or deletion' |
| 2026-10-21 | blog.flickr.net/en/2018/11/01/changing-flickr-free-accounts- | the 2018 announcement ending 1 TB for free accounts, effective Jan 8 2019 |
| 2026-10-21 | www.flickr.com/registration/plan-selection | paid tier still advertises 'Unlimited storage... Full-res uploads with no monthly cap' (Pro only) |
More fields (1)
{
"dead_end": {
"failure_class": "quota",
"why": "FREE TIER IS 1,000 ITEMS, NOT 1 TB. The famous 1 TB was killed on 2019-01-08. Free = 1,000 photos/videos total, of which max 50 may be non-public. Pro (paid) = unlimited storage, full-res, no monthly cap.",
"retry_when": null,
"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
}
}Unknown or withheld values (8)
$.extras.dead_end.retry_whenprocess$.free_tier.notesprocess$.identity_cost.detaildefaulted$.identity_cost.kindidentity-defaulted$.per_object_cap.notesnot-extracted$.per_object_cap.statednot-extracted$.retention.notesnot-extracted$.retention.statednot-extracted