FreeDiscussions
- Free allowance
- A free 14-day trial on every package; a third-party index states it carries 10 GB of high-speed data.
- Verdict
- triala time-boxed or one-time trial, not a recurring allowance
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- volume-quota35 GB high-speed volume on Starter and Flex, 70 GB on Expert, 140 GB on Master
- Evidence
- documented5 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-04checked 2026-11-03 (live); stale on 2026-12-04
| Free tier | A free 14-day trial on every package; a third-party index states it carries 10 GB of high-speed data. unit GB; metered on downloaded-bytes; The 10 GB allowance is from usenet.org, not the vendor page. |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
Starter EUR 13.99 monthly debit, Flex EUR 8.33 one-time, Expert EUR 9.83 one-time, Master EUR 14.99 one-time. |
| Binding | volume-quota The high-speed volume is a fixed number of GB, after which the 2 Mbit/s flat volume applies. |
| Identity | email (placeholder) unverified: the trial signup form was not opened, so what it asks for (email, phone or card) is behind a sign-up. |
| Egress | Metered by plan: 35, 70 or 140 GB of high-speed data a month, plus a 600 GB flat-rate volume at 2 Mbit/s free allowance: 35 GB high-speed volume per month on the smallest plan |
| Retention | unverified: the packages page read does not state retention |
| Interface | nntp NNTP with 256-bit SSL; the vendor ships a free newsreader |
| Composes with | Four plans: a monthly Starter at EUR 13.99 and one-time Flex, Expert and Master volumes; every plan adds a 600 GB flat-rate volume at 2 Mbit/s that keeps a slow background download running after the high-speed volume is used. |
| Reliability | Backbone and retention are not stated on the vendor page read. |
| Notes | Volume-metered, not unlimited. |
| Evidence note | documented Plan prices and the trial are from the vendor packages page read on 2026-11-03; the 10 GB allowance is third-party. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 5
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-11-03 | freediscussions.com/packages | every package carries a free 14-day trial |
| 2026-11-03 | freediscussions.com/packages | every package includes a 600 GB monthly flat-rate volume |
| 2026-11-03 | www.usenet.org/providers/freediscussions | a third-party index gives the trial allowance as 10 GB |
| 2026-11-03 | www.usenet.org/providers/freediscussions | the cheapest paid tier is the one-time Flex volume at EUR 8.33 |
| 2026-11-03 | www.usenet.org/providers/freediscussions | the monthly Starter plan is EUR 13.99 |