CamberCloud Student plan
github.com · Compute · 1 record · JSON
CamberCloud Student plan Compute
fails: identityinstitutionno cardDvolume-quota
| Free tier | Quoted from the pack changelog dated August 20, 2026: 'Free Camber Student plan while you're enrolled, including 40 CPU hours, 5 GPU hours, 50 GB of storage, and 50 agent messages per month.' The plan is claimed from cambercloud.com/github-student-pack by signing in with GitHub and requires an active Student Developer Pack. unit hours; metered on wall-clock; recurring-credit |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | institution GitHub sign-in plus an active GitHub Student Developer Pack: the plan is claimed 'by signing in with GitHub' and 'requires an active Student Developer Pack', and it is free 'while you're enrolled'. The pack's own enrollment check is not described in this record's evidence, so what documents it demands is not stated here. No card, hold, debit or prepaid term is stated. The ordinary USD 100 free trial is a separate offer, granted 'when they sign up for the free trial' and not gated on the pack. |
| Limits |
The allowance is denominated in core-hours and GPU-hours against a node table that bills per core, so 40 CPU hours is 2.5 hours of wall clock on the 16-core SMALL node, and the whole monthly grant is worth about USD 9 to USD 14 at Camber's own rates. |
| Binding | volume-quota The allowance is denominated in core-hours and GPU-hours against a node table that bills per core, so 40 CPU hours is 2.5 hours of wall clock on the 16-core SMALL node, and the whole monthly grant is worth about USD 9 to USD 14 at Camber's own rates. |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | The composition that matters is not with the pack but against it: the same vendor gives 100 free credits on the ordinary free trial, worth about USD 100, to anyone with an email, while the student plan gives roughly USD 9 to USD 14 of compute a month and needs enrollment proof. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | Arithmetic, stated so it can be checked: 40 CPU hours at the XMICRO rate of 0.04 credits/hour is USD 1.60; at the XXSMALL 4-core rate of 0.16 it is USD 6.40; 5 GPU hours on the 1xL4 XSMALL at 1.5 credits/hour is USD 7.50. A monthly total therefore falls between USD 9.10 and USD 13.90 depending on node chosen. The complaint thread is the reason to treat core-hour metering as a real design constraint rather than a quibble: a user on a 64 GB instance saw 6 hours billed for 10 minutes. What would settle whether the 40 hours is core-hours or wall-clock hours is Camber's own billing documentation, which was not read; the node table bills per core-hour, and the complaint is consistent with that reading. |
| Evidence rung | documented |
| Checked | 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21 |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence (5)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | docs.cambercloud.com/docs/nodes-pricing/ | '1 Camber Credit equals 1 U.S. dollar'; 'Credits are used when a job status is RUNNING'; CPU nodes cost 0.04 credits/hour for 1 core and 4 GB, 0.16 for 4 cores and 16 GB, 0.64 for 16 cores and 64 GB; GPU node XSMALL (1 L4, 8 cores, 32 GB) costs 1.5 credits/hour; 'Each user starts with 100 free Camber credits when they sign up for the free trial'. |
| 2026-10-22 | raw.githubusercontent.com/github-education-resources/Student | Under 'August 20, 2026 ### Updated': '40 CPU hours, 5 GPU hours, 50 GB of storage, and 50 agent messages per month', and that the plan is free 'while you're enrolled'. |
| 2026-10-22 | docs.cambercloud.com/docs/compute/ | Node table runs XMICRO 1 vCPU / 2 GB to XXLARGE 128 vCPU / 256 GB, and 'Available GPU: NVIDIA L4 (24GB VRAM)'; the page is dated 'Last updated: Feb 18, 2026'. |
| 2026-10-22 | github.com/CamberCloud-Inc/community/issues/43 | Three users report their dashboard shows the 40 CPU hour cap while the offer they signed up under said 200 CPU hours, and the reporter measured '6+ hours billed for ~10 minutes of use, likely due to core-scaling on a 64GB RAM instance'; the issue is open and unresolved as of the last comment on June 11, 2026. |
| 2026-10-22 | www.cambercloud.com/pricing | The paid tiers run Free at USD 0 with '25 GB storage' and 'No GPU usage', Pro at USD 20/month with 'Extended GPU usage' and 'Up to 4x L4 GPUs', Teams at USD 50/seat/month; the student plan's 40 CPU hours and 5 GPU hours sit between Free and Pro. |
More fields (1)
{
"wave2": {
"class": "student-pack",
"free_tier_kind": "recurring-credit",
"shape": {
"vcpu": 8,
"ram_gib": 32,
"gpu_class": "L4",
"gpu_count": 1
}
}
}Unknown or withheld values (9)
$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-applicable$.toolingnot-stated