fshy

Home / GitHub

GitHub Copilot Student

docs.github.com/en/copilot/how-tos/copilot-on-github/set-up-Inference APIcompute/github-copilot-studentJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON

Free allowance
Quoted from the pack: 'GitHub Copilot Student is available to verified students.
Verdict
fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
Cost
free tier
Identity
institutionno card, phone required
Binding limit
request-rateIt is an inference allowance, not compute, it excludes third-party agents and confines model choice to auto-selection, and it sits behind the same GitHub Education verification as the rest of the pack.
Evidence
documented4 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Free tierQuoted from the pack: 'GitHub Copilot Student is available to verified students. The plan includes unlimited code completions and an allowance of GitHub AI Credits, plus limited chat and agent usage with models available through auto model selection only.' The plans table lists Copilot Student at Free with 'An allowance of GitHub AI Credits', against Copilot Pro at USD 10 a month with 'Base: 1,000' credits.
unit unlimited; metered on wall-clock; recurring-credit
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • request-rate (binding) It is an inference allowance, not compute, it excludes third-party agents and confines model choice to auto-selection, and it sits behind the same GitHub Education verification as the rest of the pack. source
Identityinstitution student status verified by GitHub Education: the plan is "Copilot Student" against Pro at USD 10 a month, and the vendor states "GitHub reevaluates your eligibility every month", so the licence lapses when verification does, with activation a separate step from verification. The record does not state which documents or which email domain GitHub Education accepts, and no card, phone, hold or payment statement appears. New signups were paused from 20 April 2026 and "sign-ups began reopening on 17 June 2026"
Egressnot stated
Interfacerest inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withThe only item in the entire pack that is inference rather than compute or licences, and the monthly revaluation is what makes it lapsed-on-graduation by construction rather than by policy.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesGitHub does not publish the exact AI credit allowance for the Student plan; only Pro and above carry a number. The number is left null rather than inferred from the Pro tier, because the two are different allowances. The April 2026 sign-up pause and the June 2026 reopening are recorded because a reader checking a 2026 article will find contradictory status reports. Revaluation every month is the cleanest example in this class of a grant that cannot survive graduation.
Evidence 4
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22docs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans'Copilot Student | Free | An allowance of GitHub AI Credits | Excludes third-party agents | Auto model selection only'; 'On Copilot Free and Copilot Student plans, access to models is available through auto model selection only'; Pro is 'Base: 1,000' credits at USD 10.
2026-10-22education.github.com/pack'unlimited code completions and an allowance of GitHub AI Credits, plus limited chat and agent usage with models available through auto model selection only'.
2026-10-22docs.github.com/en/copilot/how-tos/copilot-on-github/set-up-'GitHub reevaluates your eligibility every month', so the licence lapses the moment verification does, and activation is a separate step from verification.
2026-10-22github.blog/changelog/2026-04-20-changes-to-github-copilot-p'we will be pausing new signups for our Student, Pro, and Pro+ plans' from 20 April 2026; sign-ups began reopening on 17 June 2026.
More fields 1
{
 "facets": {
  "class": "student-pack",
  "free_tier_kind": "recurring-credit",
  "shape": null
 }
}
Unknown values 6
  • $.egress.metered egress metering was not published
  • $.egress.terms a source was read and is silent on this field
  • $.per_object_cap.stated the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • $.reliability_note nothing of this kind was observed
  • $.retention.stated the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • $.tooling a source was read and is silent on this field