fshy

fshy / Compute / Egress and tunnels

Heroku

heroku.com · Compute, Egress and tunnels · 3 records · JSON

Heroku Open Source Compute

caveatcardcardDwrite-gated

www.heroku.com/open-source-credit-program/ · platform host · compute/heroku-open-source · JSON · compare

Free tierQuoted: 'one year of platform credits to qualifying Open Source Software projects hosted on Heroku', paid as 'a set credit allocation every month for 12 months', usable on 'Heroku Dynos, Heroku Postgres, and Heroku Key-Value Store'. Salesforce 'will determine the credit allocation amount based on project need and use', so no figure is published.
unit none; metered on wall-clock; recurring-credit
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot applicable
Retentionnot applicable
Egressnot stated
Identitycard a card is required before applying: the programme page states the account must be verified with a credit or debit card before applying and any monthly overage bills that card, so a debit card is accepted alongside credit. No hold or authorisation amount is stated, whether prepaid cards are accepted is not stated, and the programme adds a second gate — "you must be a maintainer on the open source software project and its supporting infra must run or intend to run on Heroku"
Limits
  • write-gated The account must be verified with a credit or debit card before applying and any monthly overage bills the card; the allocation is set by Salesforce and unused credit is forfeited monthly. source
The account must be verified with a credit or debit card before applying and any monthly overage bills the card; the allocation is set by Salesforce and unused credit is forfeited monthly.
Bindingwrite-gated The account must be verified with a credit or debit card before applying and any monthly overage bills the card; the allocation is set by Salesforce and unused credit is forfeited monthly.
Interfaceunknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withDynos plus Postgres plus Key-Value store on one monthly allocation covers a small always-on service with state, which is the piece most free student and OSS tiers leave out: a database that survives the free tier ending.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThe gate that matters is directional: the project must run or intend to run on Heroku, so this does not pay for a workload hosted elsewhere. Heroku still sells dynos, so this is a live programme rather than a legacy one. Amount is null by design, not by omission: the terms hand the allocation to Salesforce.
Evidence rungdocumented
Checked2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21
Evidence (2)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22www.heroku.com/open-source-credit-program/quoted the 12-month monthly allocation, the covered products, 'Any unused portion of the monthly credit allocation is forfeited', the card-verification requirement, the monthly review cadence, and 'The program is open people globally'
2026-10-22www.heroku.com/open-source-credit-program/quoted 'you must be a maintainer on the open source software project and its supporting infra must run or intend to run on Heroku'
More fields (1)
{
 "wave2": {
  "class": "vendor-oss-credits",
  "free_tier_kind": "recurring-credit",
  "shape": null
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (9)
  • $.egress.metered egress-unknown
  • $.egress.terms not-stated
  • $.interface interface-unknown
  • $.per_object_cap.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-applicable
  • $.reliability_note none-observed
  • $.retention.notes process
  • $.retention.stated not-applicable
  • $.tooling not-stated

Heroku Compute

paidcardcardDwrite-gated

www.heroku.com/pricing/ · platform host · compute/heroku · JSON · compare

Free tierno free dyno: the pricing page prices dynos as containers with no USD 0 row; the only free lane the corpus found is the Student Developer Pack, which needs degree enrolment
unit none; metered on none
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot applicable: nothing free
Retentionnot applicable
Egressnot stated on the pricing page read today
Identitycard a card for a paid dyno; the Student Developer Pack alternative requires enrolment in a degree- or diploma-granting programme
Limits
  • write-gated no free dyno on the pricing page source
not stated
Bindingwrite-gated there is no free tier to exhaust.
Interfaceunknown
Toolingnot stated
Composes withnot stated
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThe corpus verdict was 'fails-identity' on the grounds that the student pack is gated by enrolment. The accurate verdict for the free-tier question is paid-only: there is no free dyno at any identity level, and the student pack is a credit programme, not a tier. This is a verdict change the parent should carry into history.
Evidence rungdocumented the pricing page was read today and lists dynos, data services and AI without a free row; prices render dynamically and are not quoted
Checked2026-10-25 (live); stale on 2026-11-24
Evidence (4)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-02www.heroku.com/pricing/not published
2026-10-22www.heroku.com/pricing/'Seamlessly sync data between Heroku Postgres and Salesforce with Heroku Connect. Start free with the Demo Edition.' quoted; the page carries no free dyno and no free tier
2026-10-22www.heroku.com/github-students/'If you are registered with the GitHub Student Developer Pack, you are eligible to receive platform credits worth $13 per month for 24 months (for a total value of $312)', quoted; the Gate is the Student Developer Pack, whose own requirements state the applicant must be 'enrolled in a degree- or diploma-granting program' and 'provide documents that prove your current student status'
2026-10-24www.heroku.com/pricing/quoted: 'Dynos are the heart of every Heroku app—lightweight, isolated containers that handle your code, dependencies, and scaling', with no free plan or free dyno row on the page
More fields (18)
{
 "talaria_m10h_usd": 67.5,
 "talaria_m24h_usd": 155.0,
 "nemo_m10h_usd": null,
 "keep_rate": 1.0,
 "keep_rate_basis": null,
 "billing_model": "monthly",
 "shape": {
  "vcpu": null,
  "ram_gib": null,
  "disk_gib": null,
  "gpu_class": null,
  "gpu_count": null
 },
 "session_cap": {
  "wall_clock_min": null,
  "idle_reap_s": null,
  "restart_required": false,
  "note": "a dyno runs until stopped or scaled to zero"
 },
 "persistent_storage": null,
 "network_out": null,
 "price_note": null,
 "free_tier_kind": "none",
 "granularity": {
  "min_billed_s": 0,
  "rounding_s": null
 },
 "wave2": {
  "verdict_change": "qualifies-with-caveat -> fails-identity on 2026-10-22"
 },
 "term": "monthly",
 "m10h_usd": null,
 "m24h_usd": null,
 "price_arithmetic": "not computed: dyno prices render through a client-side widget and no figure appears in the text read"
}
Unknown or withheld values (10)
  • $.chaining not-stated
  • $.egress.metered egress-unknown
  • $.evidence[0].proved process
  • $.extras.keep_rate_basis process
  • $.extras.price_note process
  • $.interface interface-unknown
  • $.interface_detail withheld
  • $.limits_note not-stated
  • $.reliability_note none-observed
  • $.tooling not-stated

Corrections

Heroku Egress and tunnels

paidcardcardDvolume-quota

devcenter.heroku.com/changelog-items/2502 · paas l4 port · egress/heroku · JSON · compare

Free tierAs of November 28th, 2022, Heroku is no longer offering free dynos, hobby-dev Heroku Postgres, or hobby-dev Heroku Data for Redis plans.
unit none; metered on none
PriceUSD 0
Per-object capnot applicable
Retentionnot applicable
EgressNo free tier since 2022-11-28; the cheapest dyno is Eco, a paid plan.; ingress: http-only
free_allowance: No free tier since 2022-11-28; the cheapest dyno is Eco, a paid plan.
Identitycard A paid account with a payment method; free dynos were withdrawn.
Limits
  • volume-quota no free dynos since 2022-11-28 source
Bindingvolume-quota Nothing is provisionable without payment, so no byte is ever free.
Interfacecli, git Heroku CLI, git push deploys, and the Platform API.
ToolingHeroku CLI and git push.
Composes withNot free; no endpoint.
ReliabilityNone applicable; no free dyno exists.
NotesKept because a reader will ask. Four years after the withdrawal the free tier has not returned.
Evidence rungdocumented The changelog page body was read from the broker's index of that URL, because a direct render returned the navigation only; the sentence is first-party and dated 2022-11-28.
Checked2026-10-23 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Parsed numbers
  • $.price_per_tb_month price-per-tb USD0.0 TB / month
Evidence (1)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-23devcenter.heroku.com/changelog-items/2502"As of November 28th, 2022, Heroku is no longer offering free dynos"; existing free dynos converted to eco and scaled to 0
More fields (7)
{
 "wg_path": "none",
 "wg_detail": "No UDP path at any price on the public runtime; dynos receive HTTP through the router, and raw TCP is a Private Spaces feature.",
 "ingress": "http-only",
 "volume_tib_month": 0,
 "volume_stated": "No free tier since 2022-11-28; the cheapest dyno is Eco, a paid plan.",
 "bytes_transit": "no",
 "transit_note": "Heroku's router terminates HTTP."
}
Unknown or withheld values (2)
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-applicable
  • $.retention.stated not-applicable