HLRS test access
hlrs.de · Compute · 1 record · JSON
HLRS test access Compute
fails: identityinstitutionno cardDwrite-gated
| Free tier | A test account on HLRS systems carries a contingent of 100 Hunter node hours for up to six months, granted on a one to three page application that is explicitly not peer-reviewed; GCS Preparatory Access gives a larger contingent plus HLRS user-support assistance for up to one year. unit hours; metered on wall-clock; exploratory / test allocation |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | institution not published |
| Limits |
Test access is offered to potential applicants for GCS Large-Scale and rolling regular projects, which are German national calls for investigators at German research institutions, so the account presumes an eligible German home organisation. |
| Binding | write-gated Test access is offered to potential applicants for GCS Large-Scale and rolling regular projects, which are German national calls for investigators at German research institutions, so the account presumes an eligible German home organisation. |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | The un-peer-reviewed test account is the cheapest entry in the German stack, and it exists specifically to generate the scaling data a GCS regular or large-scale proposal needs. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | HLRS is the only centre found that states outright that the test application is not peer-reviewed, which makes 100 Hunter node hours the most accessible German allocation; the eligibility section heading still ties it to German research institutions. Hunter carries AMD MI300A APUs, so 100 node hours is a small but real GPU allocation. GCS large-scale thresholds are useful as the corpus's clearest definition of what 'large' means in core hours versus GPU hours on the same programme. |
| Evidence rung | documented |
| Checked | 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21 |
Evidence (3)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | www.hlrs.de/apply-for-computing-time | 'Within your test account you can consume a resource contingent of 100 Hunter node hours on the granted hardware platforms. The project time is limited to six months'; 'This short proposal will not be peer-reviewed', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | www.hlrs.de/apply-for-computing-time | page section heading 'For investigators at German research institutions'; GCS Preparatory Access 'may last a maximum of one year' and provides 'a higher resource contingent than ordinary GCS test projects', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | www.gauss-centre.eu/for-users/hpc-access/allocation-pgms | GCS large-scale threshold 'at least 25,000 node-h on Hunter', '5,250 EFLOP on JUWELS Cluster', '140,000 GPU hours on SuperMUC-NG Phase 2', equal to 2% of each system's annual production, quoted |
More fields (1)
{
"wave2": {
"class": "national-hpc",
"free_tier_kind": "exploratory / test allocation",
"shape": {
"vcpu": null,
"ram_gib": null,
"gpu_class": "AMD MI300A (Hunter), NVIDIA A100 (Hawk)",
"gpu_count": null
}
}
}Unknown or withheld values (10)
$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.identity_cost.detailprocess$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-applicable$.toolingnot-stated