Hume AI
hume.ai · Compute · 1 record · JSON
Hume AI Compute
fails: identityinstitutionno cardDwrite-gated
| Free tier | The API is no longer self-serve: 'The API is currently in limited release; contact our team to request access', on the Expression Measurement overview. The pricing URL no longer exists as a page: https://www.hume.ai/pricing and https://platform.hume.ai/pricing both land on the marketing home page, which now sells a voice-AI evaluation platform rather than an API. Third-party readings of the pricing page from September 2026 recorded a Free plan at '10,000 characters per month, 5 EVI minutes, 15 requests per minute, 1 concurrent connection' plus USD 20 of new-account credits. unit minutes; metered on wall-clock; application-gated |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | institution not published |
| Limits |
access is granted by a sales conversation: 'contact our team to request access' means the free allowance that existed in September 2026 cannot be signed up for in October 2026, and a person with an email address has no route in without an approved application. |
| Binding | write-gated access is granted by a sales conversation: 'contact our team to request access' means the free allowance that existed in September 2026 cannot be signed up for in October 2026, and a person with an email address has no route in without an approved application. |
| Interface | rest inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | the interesting part of the September free tier was 10,000 characters of Octave TTS plus 5 EVI minutes on one email; with the gate now in place, the only route is to substitute ElevenLabs or Cartesia, both recorded at 10,000 and 20,000 monthly credits. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | These are inference credits, not general compute. The finding is the withdrawal of a self-serve free tier behind an access request, which is why the verdict is fails-identity rather than dead: Hume sells and its evaluation product is live, but the API needs an approved conversation. Data point worth carrying: the site's own benchmark page labels one model view 'Illustrative, not real data', so the leaderboard numbers on the new home page are not measurements. |
| Evidence rung | documented |
| Checked | 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21 |
Evidence (5)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | dev.hume.ai | 'The API is currently in limited release; contact our team to request access', quoted from the Expression Measurement API overview |
| 2026-10-22 | www.hume.ai/pricing | requesting the pricing URL returned final_url https://www.hume.ai/ with the title 'Measure and improve real-world voice AI performance'; the page sells an evaluation platform and states no prices or free tier |
| 2026-10-22 | platform.hume.ai/pricing | the platform pricing URL also returned final_url https://www.hume.ai/, the same marketing home page |
| 2026-10-22 | freedom251.com/apps/hume-octave/pricing/ | 'Free | billed monthly - 10,000 characters per month - 5 EVI minutes - 15 RPM', read by that site on 2026-09-20, reported and no longer reproducible from the vendor |
| 2026-10-22 | costbench.com/software/voice-apis/hume-ai/ | 'Free - 10,000 characters of TTS/month (Octave 1 & Octave 2) - 5 minutes of EVI included - 15 requests per minute - 1 concurrent connection', reported, corroborating the September reading |
More fields (1)
{
"wave2": {
"class": "refutation",
"free_tier_kind": "application-gated",
"shape": {
"vcpu": null,
"ram_gib": null,
"gpu_class": null,
"gpu_count": 0
}
}
}Unknown or withheld values (9)
$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.identity_cost.detailprocess$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-applicable$.toolingnot-stated