IPWho (ipwho.org)
- Free allowance
- 2,000 free API requests a day with a key, no credit card, bulk lookups included, the full response on every tier
- Verdict
- ★ qualifiesusable as stated; the read path was probed
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- emailno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- volume-quota2,000 requests a day
- Evidence
- documented14 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-04checked 2026-11-03 (live); stale on 2026-12-04
| Free tier | 2,000 free API requests a day with a key, no credit card, bulk lookups included, the full response on every tier unit requests; metered on request-count |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
unverified: behind a sign-up: a keyed lookup and the response headers of its answer |
| Identity | email a Lavrox account: first name, last name, email address, password and password confirmation, with a security verification; no credit card |
| Egress | not applicable |
| Per-object cap | a bulk call resolves a comma-separated list of IPs; the list length is not stated |
| Retention | not stated |
| Interface | rest GET https://api.ipwho.org/ip/{ip}?apiKey=KEY and GET https://api.ipwho.org/bulk/{ip,ip,...}?apiKey=KEY endpoint: https://api.ipwho.org/ |
| Tooling | any HTTP client; vendor SDKs in more than 10 languages |
| Composes with | 2,000 keyed lookups a day including bulk calls. Bulk path: the bulk endpoint; the server is also open source and can be run on a rented or free machine, last after every hosted route |
| Reliability | a burst limit of up to 100 requests per second applies to every plan, and the API answers HTTP 429 past the burst limit or past the daily quota |
| Notes | Free requests: 2,000 a day with a key. Rate limit: not stated. Bulk path: the bulk endpoint (comma-separated IPs). |
| Evidence note | documented the free-plan page, the home page and the FAQ were quoted on 2026-10-30 and 2026-10-31; no keyed lookup was made. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 14
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-31 | www.ipwho.org/free-plan | 2,000 free requests a day |
| 2026-10-31 | www.ipwho.org/free-plan | no card is needed |
| 2026-10-31 | www.ipwho.org/free-plan | bulk lookups are included |
| 2026-10-31 | www.ipwho.org/free-plan | the form asks first name, last name, email and password |
| 2026-10-31 | www.ipwho.org/free-plan | the form has a security verification |
| 2026-10-31 | www.ipwho.org/free-plan | IPWho is operated by Lavrox |
| 2026-10-30 | www.ipwho.org/faqs | the FAQ restates 2,000 a day |
| 2026-10-30 | www.ipwho.org/faqs | the server is open source |
| 2026-10-30 | www.ipwho.org/ | the bulk endpoint form |
| 2026-11-02 | www.ipwho.org/docs/guides/rate-limits | every plan has a burst limit of up to 100 requests per second, and the API answers HTTP 429 past the burst limit or past the daily quota |
| 2026-11-02 | www.ipwho.org/docs/guides/rate-limits | every plan has a burst limit of up to 100 requests per second |
| 2026-11-02 | www.ipwho.org/free-plan | the free plan page asks first name, last name, email address, password and password confirmation, with a security verification, and states no credit card |
| 2026-11-02 | api.ipwho.org/ip/8.8.8.8 | a lookup with no API key answered HTTP 401 with the error missing_api_key, so a keyed answer and its headers show only after sign-up |
| 2026-11-02 | www.ipwho.org/free-plan | the free plan is 2,000 API requests per day with no credit card needed |
More fields 2
| bulk path | bulk endpoint with comma-separated IPs |
|---|---|
| free requests | 2,000 a day |
Unknown values 1
- egress terms: the field does not apply to this kind of offer