KakaoCloud Virtual
kakaocloud.com · Compute · 2 records · JSON
- KakaoCloud Virtual Machine Computepaidemail?card?Drequest-rate
- KakaoCloud Computefails: identityinstitutioncardDwrite-gated
KakaoCloud Virtual Machine Compute
paidemail?card?Drequest-rate
| Free tier | no free tier: pay-as-you-go instances across general-purpose and accelerator families, with root and additional volumes billed separately as Block Storage unit none; metered on none |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Retention | not stated |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
| Limits |
not stated |
| Binding | request-rate |
| Interface | unknown |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | not stated |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Evidence rung | documented the VM pricing page was read on 2026-10-22 and lists the instance families and the separate block-storage charge. It states no free tier, so the record's USD 220.92 credit is not established and the verdict moves to paid-only |
| Checked | 2026-10-23 (live); stale on 2026-11-22 |
Evidence (2)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-02 | www.kakaocloud.com/services/virtual-machine/pricing | not published |
| 2026-10-22 | www.kakaocloud.com/services/virtual-machine/pricing | the pricing page was read on 2026-10-22 (Korean, 200 with the broker reporting no numeric status) and lists general-purpose instance families m1ix, m3az, t1i and c1ix with accelerator families gn1i (NVIDIA T4) and p2i (NVIDIA A100), billing per use and charging root and additional volumes separately as Block Storage |
More fields (16)
{
"talaria_m10h_usd": 9.77,
"talaria_m24h_usd": 23.44,
"nemo_m10h_usd": 10.47,
"keep_rate": 1.0,
"keep_rate_basis": null,
"billing_model": "unclassified",
"shape": null,
"session_cap": {
"wall_clock_min": null,
"idle_reap_s": null,
"restart_required": false,
"note": "an instance bills while it exists; the page states no clock"
},
"persistent_storage": null,
"network_out": null,
"price_note": null,
"free_tier_kind": "none",
"granularity": {
"min_billed_s": 60,
"rounding_s": null
},
"burst_x": 1.0,
"ps": {
"gib": null,
"price": "Block Storage, billed separately from the instance",
"durability": "block volume",
"on_stop": true,
"on_destroy": false,
"retention": "while the volume exists"
},
"net": {
"out": true,
"in": true,
"ports": "any",
"static_ip": true,
"ipv6": null,
"allowance": null
}
}Unknown or withheld values (17)
$.chainingnot-stated$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.evidence[0].provedprocess$.extras.keep_rate_basisprocess$.extras.price_noteprocess$.identity_cost.detaildefaulted$.identity_cost.kindidentity-defaulted$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.interface_detailwithheld$.limits_notenot-stated$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-stated$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesnot-extracted$.retention.statednot-stated$.toolingnot-stated
KakaoCloud Compute
fails: identityinstitutioncardDwrite-gated
| Free tier | KRW 300,000 of credit for new customers who register a payment method and apply within three months of signup, usable against most services. Outbound data is free up to 30 GiB a month. unit GiB; metered on wall-clock; one-shot-credit |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | the cheapest Korean plan in the index is KakaoCloud t1i.nano at 2 vCPU and 0.5 GB for USD 2.98 a month with outbound 30 GiB free; a third-party price comparison, reported not documented |
| Identity | institution a registered business is required before signup: the signup guide states a copy of the Korean business registration certificate (saeopja-deungnokjeung) must be prepared and that uploading it with its registration number is a mandatory first step, so the account needs a legal entity rather than a person's ID document; the KRW 300,000 credit then needs a payment method registered and an application within three months of signup. No hold is stated and debit or prepaid acceptance is not stated; the startup tracks, KRW 5,000,000 for a year and KRW 35,000,000 over two, need the same entity |
| Limits |
Signup itself requires a business registration certificate (saeopja-deungnokjeung) and a business registration number, so an individual outside Korea cannot open the account that holds the credit. |
| Binding | write-gated Signup itself requires a business registration certificate (saeopja-deungnokjeung) and a business registration number, so an individual outside Korea cannot open the account that holds the credit. |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | KRW 300,000 against a KRW-denominated 2 vCPU instance is several months of a small box, but the whole chain sits behind a Korean business registration number. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | This refutes the common English roundup line that KakaoCloud is a cheap Korean cloud anyone can open: the gate is a business licence, not a phone. The startup track (KRW 5,000,000 for a year) is larger and needs a legal entity but no revenue. Recorded as fails-identity with both figures visible so the next session does not re-chase the personal credit. |
| Evidence rung | documented |
| Checked | 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21 |
Evidence (4)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | kakaocloud.com/business/support/new | the new-signup programme page states, in Korean, that a credit worth KRW 300,000 is granted to a customer who applies within 3 months of signup, usable against payment for various services, and lists the two steps as registering a payment method and then applying for the credit |
| 2026-10-22 | docs.kakaocloud.com/start/quickstart-guide/sign-up | the signup guide states, in Korean, that a copy of the business registration certificate must be prepared before signup, and that uploading the business registration certificate and entering its registration number is a mandatory first step of the KakaoCloud signup procedure |
| 2026-10-22 | blog.kakaocloud.com/94 | the startup programme blog states, in Korean, that the Launch track gives KRW 5,000,000 of credit usable for one year to every qualified startup, and that the Grow track gives KRW 35,000,000 over two years to companies backed by a partner VC or accelerator |
| 2026-10-22 | ssanvps.com/en/korea/ | the cheapest Korean plan in the index is KakaoCloud t1i.nano at 2 vCPU and 0.5 GB for USD 2.98 a month with outbound 30 GiB free; a third-party price comparison, reported not documented |
More fields (1)
{
"wave2": {
"class": "regional-credit",
"free_tier_kind": "one-shot-credit",
"shape": {
"vcpu": 2,
"ram_gib": 0.5,
"gpu_class": null,
"gpu_count": 0
}
}
}Unknown or withheld values (7)
$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-applicable$.toolingnot-stated