LCCF Horizon Leadership
lccf.tacc.utexas.edu · Compute · 1 record · JSON
LCCF Horizon Leadership Compute
fails: identityinstitutionno cardDwrite-gated
| Free tier | Large allocations from 125,000 to 500,000 SUs on Horizon and up to 50,000 SUs on Vista for six months, with submissions opening 15 April 2026 and rolling review from 15 May 2026, on a system carrying 4,750 Vera CPU nodes and 2,000 Grace-Blackwell GPU nodes. unit none; metered on wall-clock; merit-reviewed allocation |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | institution not published |
| Limits |
Horizon is open to US researchers working in open research and the PI is typically faculty or a research scientist at a US academic institution; the page also requires current peer-reviewed research funding to support the allocated work. |
| Binding | write-gated Horizon is open to US researchers working in open research and the PI is typically faculty or a research scientist at a US academic institution; the page also requires current peer-reviewed research funding to support the allocated work. |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | The non-US route is as a collaborator with substantive intellectual participation by the US partner, which is the same shape as the ACCESS escape hatch and equally dependent on a US collaborator existing. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | The largest US number found after INCITE: 500,000 SUs on the newest NSF leadership system. SUs are a site-defined service unit, not GPU-hours or core-hours, so converting them would be invention. Recorded as a refutation of the idea that the newest NSF hardware is open to anyone: it requires a US base and existing peer-reviewed funding. |
| Evidence rung | documented |
| Checked | 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21 |
Evidence (3)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | lccf.tacc.utexas.edu/allocations/ | 'Large allocations from 125,000 to 500,000 SUs (Horizon) and up to 50,000 (Vista) for six months duration'; 'must demonstrate readiness ... as well as current peer-reviewed research funding', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | lccf.tacc.utexas.edu/allocations/ | 'Horizon is broadly available to any U.S. researcher working in open research'; 'Collaborative projects involving non-U.S. researchers are allowed provided they include substantive intellectual participation by the U.S. researchers', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | lccf.tacc.utexas.edu/allocations/ | system composition '4,750 Dell/NVIDIA Vera CPU nodes, and 2,000 Dell/NVIDIA Grace-Blackwell nodes'; submissions 15 April 2026 to 15 June 2026 |
More fields (1)
{
"wave2": {
"class": "national-hpc",
"free_tier_kind": "merit-reviewed allocation",
"shape": {
"vcpu": null,
"ram_gib": null,
"gpu_class": "NVIDIA Grace-Blackwell",
"gpu_count": null
}
}
}Unknown or withheld values (10)
$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.identity_cost.detailprocess$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-applicable$.toolingnot-stated