fshy

Home / Microsoft

Microsoft 365 / Office 365 A1 Education tenant (100 TB pooled)

www.microsoft.com/en-us/education/products/officeCloud drivestorage/microsoft-365-office-365-a1-education-tenantJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON

Free allowance
100 TB (102,400 GB) free pooled storage per education tenant, spanning OneDrive + SharePoint + Exchange; pooled capacity = 100 TB base + per-license contributions.
Verdict
★ qualifiesusable as stated; the read path was probed
Cost
free tier
Identity
institutionno card, no phone
Binding limit
noneno named constraint binds
Evidence
reported4 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tier100 TB (102,400 GB) free pooled storage per education tenant, spanning OneDrive + SharePoint + Exchange; pooled capacity = 100 TB base + per-license contributions. Office 365 A1 licenses contribute 0 GB but consume from the pool.
unit TB; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Identityinstitution not published
EgressNot metered. Microsoft 365 is a subscription service with no per-GB egress meter; Microsoft support states 'if the user has the related license, there is no charge for uploading and downloading files'. SharePoint/OneDrive downloads are direct HTTPS URLs.
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
Interfacerest, graph, rclone rest
ToolingMicrosoft Graph driveItem API (whole-tenant app-only auth: Files.ReadWrite.All + Sites.Read.All); rclone backend 'onedrive' with drive_type=business or drive_type=documentLibrary, and a SharePoint remote type; office365-rest-python-client (vgrem) for list/library operations
Composes with100 TB is per TENANT and tenants are per institution, not per user: N schools x 100 TB. Inside one tenant the ceiling is much higher than the pool in principle - 2,000,000 site collections per org at up to 25 TB per site - but the 100 TB pool is the binding limit. Add unlimited free A1 user licenses (which add 0 GB but give each user a 100 GB or 1 TB OneDrive ceiling), and paid A3/A5 at 50/100 GB per license. Multiply across tenants for archival shards.
ReliabilityStorage is enforced at the tenant pool level and tenants get flipped to read-only on overage - data survives but writes fail; per-user OneDrive caps were cut (5 TB -> 100 GB for A1) in 2024 with no migration path.
Evidence 4
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21learn.microsoft.com/en-us/office365/servicedescriptions/offi'All Education tenants with Pooled Storage are granted an initial and free 100 TB of storage to their pool'; 'Storage for site collections: Up to 25 TB per site collection or group'; 'Site collections per tenant: 500,000'
2026-10-21cdn-dynmedia-1.microsoft.com/is/content/microsoftcorp/micros'100TB of free pooled storage across OneDrive, SharePoint, and Exchange'; 'Office 365 A1 ... maximum OneDrive limit of 100GB'; '100 TB Default Limit (102,400 GB)'
2026-10-21learn.microsoft.com/en-us/sharepoint/sharepoint-limits(via /office365/servicedescriptions/sharepoint-online-service-description/sharepoint-online-limits) - '250 GB - File upload limit', '1 TB + 10GB per license purchased'
2026-10-21www.microsoft.com/en-us/education/products/office'Educators and students with an eligible education email address can get Office 365 A1 for free'
Unknown values 6
  • $.binding_note boilerplate
  • $.identity_cost.detail boilerplate
  • $.per_object_cap.notes the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • $.per_object_cap.stated the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • $.retention.notes the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • $.retention.stated the field may be stated in a source that was not read