OVHcloud Public Cloud (Compute)
- Free allowance
- US$200 in Public Cloud credits for one month, on the first Public Cloud project only: 'We are offering you US$ 200 credits, so you can try our solution and explore its possibilities!' The voucher must be activated when the first project is created and excludes services in beta.
- Verdict
- triala time-boxed or one-time trial, not a recurring allowance
- Cost
- free tierpaid plans from USD 7.68/month
- Identity
- cardcard required, no phone
- Binding limit
- volume-quotaUSD 200 of Public Cloud credit for one month, on the first project only
- Evidence
- documented6 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-25checked 2026-10-25 (live); stale on 2026-11-25
| Free tier | US$200 in Public Cloud credits for one month, on the first Public Cloud project only: 'We are offering you US$ 200 credits, so you can try our solution and explore its possibilities!' The voucher must be activated when the first project is created and excludes services in beta. A payment method is required before the trial starts. unit mixed; metered on none |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
the price list bills the Gen3 shapes per hour and the local-disk size is not stated: the cell reads 'Local storage low latency **' with no footnote |
| Binding | volume-quota the one-month window ends the USD 200 before any per-hour rate limit is reached |
| Identity | card a payment method before the first project; no hold amount published on the payment page; debit accepted (Visa, Mastercard, Maestro); PayPal accepted; the 'prepaid account' OVHcloud offers is a points balance a user buys in advance and redeems against products, which is not a prepaid card; no identity document named on the payment… |
| Egress | not stated |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Retention | not stated |
| Interface | unknown |
| Tooling | part of the text of Limits, above |
| Composes with | part of the text of Limits, above |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | The rate card bills compute by the hour and shows no disk size for the Gen3 shapes, so a total is compute plus an unstated local-disk line. c3-16 at $0.2154 an hour is $155.09 for 30 days before disk; at the $0.0001721 per GB-hour used earlier for 200 GB it is $179.86. The US price list states a second offer on the same page: USD 200 on the first Public Cloud project plus USD 100 for a first managed database, valid for 90 days from the day it is applied and released within 30 days of a USD 0.99 purchase. The trial page states one month. The two readings differ in both amount and clock. Debit is documented on the payment terms. The one trap in OVHcloud's wording is the 'prepaid account', which a reader hunting for 'prepaid' will mistake for a prepaid card: it is a credit balance a user tops up, so it is a funding route that still requires a card or PayPal to fill, not a card type the vendor accepts. |
| Evidence note | documented the US price list and the trial page were read on 2026-10-23; the per-hour figures below exclude any local-disk line | Payment facts re-read on 2026-10-24: the card types, the hold and the identity gate each come from a first-party page quoted in evidence[]. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 6
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-23 | us.ovhcloud.com/public-cloud/prices/ | quoted hourly: c3-4 $0.054, c3-8 $0.1078, c3-16 $0.2154, b3-8 $0.0605, b3-16 $0.1208, b3-32 $0.2415 |
| 2026-10-23 | us.ovhcloud.com/public-cloud/prices/ | quoted: 'The monthly price is estimated based on 730 hours per month for Gen 3 instances (B3, C3, R3).' |
| 2026-10-23 | www.ovhcloud.com/en/public-cloud/free-trial/ | quoted: 'We are offering you US$ 200 credits ... Get the one-month free trial and create your first Public Cloud project.' |
| 2026-10-23 | us.ovhcloud.com/public-cloud/prices/ | quoted footnote: 'Customers are eligible to receive up to $300.00 (USD) in Public Cloud credits' with '$200.00 (USD) in Public Cloud Credits when creating your first Public Cloud infrastructure project' plus '$100.00 (USD)' for a first Managed Databases service, and 'The Public Cloud Credits are valid for 90 days from the day the credit has been applied.' |
| 2026-10-24 | www.ovhcloud.com/en/terms-and-conditions/payment/ | quoted from the page body: 'Payment methods offered by OVHcloud' then '## Credit/Debit cards' — 'Cards accepted are Visa, Mastercard, Maestro.' and 'You have two possibilities to pay by credit/debit card'. The page also carries a 'Prepaid account' section and a PayPal section |
| 2026-10-24 | docs.ovhcloud.com/en/guides/account-and-service-management/m | quoted: 'The prepaid account is added to the My payment methods page as soon as it is created. It allows you to credit your customer account in advance and use these funds to pay for your orders and renewal invoices.' |
More fields 19
{
"keep_rate": 1.0,
"keep_rate_basis": null,
"billing_model": "flat-pool",
"shape": {
"vcpu": 2,
"ram": 7,
"disk": 50,
"gpu_class": null,
"gpu_count": null,
"note": "b2-7: 2 vCore, 7 GB, 50 GB of SSD and 250 Mbit/s guaranteed"
},
"session_cap": {
"wall_clock_min": null,
"idle_reap_s": null,
"restart_required": false,
"note": "billing is per hour or per month; the page states no reap"
},
"persistent_storage": null,
"network_out": null,
"price_note": "a VPS bills by the month with an hourly rate capped at the monthly figure, so the two columns answer two questions: destroying the box between runs versus keeping it up.",
"free_tier_kind": "none",
"m10h_usd": 7.68,
"m24h_usd": 18.43,
"price_basis": "10 h/day column = 300 h at the hourly rate, which is what a server destroyed between runs costs; 24/7 column = the monthly cap, because a VPS kept up all month stops at the cap.",
"granularity": {
"min_billed_s": 60,
"rounding_s": null
},
"burst_x": 1.0,
"ps": {
"gib": 50,
"price": "included in the instance",
"durability": "SSD",
"on_stop": true,
"on_destroy": false,
"retention": "while the instance exists"
},
"net": {
"out": true,
"in": true,
"ports": "any",
"static_ip": null,
"ipv6": null,
"allowance": "outbound included except Asia-Pacific"
},
"hourly_usd": {
"c3-4": 0.054,
"c3-8": 0.1078,
"c3-16": 0.2154,
"b3-8": 0.0605,
"b3-16": 0.1208,
"b3-32": 0.2415,
"local_disk_per_gb_hour": 0.0001721
},
"benchmark": [
{
"plan": "VPS-1 (2 vCPU / 4 GiB)",
"cpu_model": "Intel Core Processor (Haswell, no TSX)",
"dedicated_or_shared": "not stated",
"gb6_single": 696,
"gb6_multi": 1206,
"gb5_single": null,
"gb5_multi": null,
"source_url": "https://www.vpsbenchmarks.com/yabs/ovhcloud-2c-4gb-20261011-adf71e",
"source_date": "2026-10-11",
"rung": "reported",
"note": "Haswell at 2.39 GHz. Newest CPU of any host here and the slowest single core among the 2 vCPU rows on x86."
}
],
"payment_methods": {
"card_at_signup": "yes",
"debit": "accepted",
"prepaid": "not-stated",
"virtual": "not-stated",
"hold_amount": null,
"hold_detail": "no hold amount published",
"identity": "no identity document named on the payment page",
"source_url": "https://www.ovhcloud.com/en/terms-and-conditions/payment/",
"read_on": "2026-10-24"
}
}Unknown values 9
$.chaininga source was read and is silent on this field$.egress.meteredegress metering was not published$.egress.termsa source was read and is silent on this field$.interfacethe access interface was not established$.per_object_cap.stateda source was read and is silent on this field$.reliability_notenothing of this kind was observed$.retention.notesthe field may be stated in a source that was not read$.retention.stateda source was read and is silent on this field$.toolinga source was read and is silent on this field
Corrections
- 2026-10-23 Corrected on 2026-10-23: compute/databricks, compute/digitalocean, compute/linode and 6 more records
- 2026-10-23 Corrected on 2026-10-23: compute/alibaba-cloud-international, compute/amd-developer-cloud, compute/blaxel and 5 more records
- 2026-10-22 OVH's public cloud has no free instance, and the record priced it as one