fshy

fshy / Storage

Packagecloud.io

packagecloud.io · Storage · 1 record · JSON

Packagecloud.io — Free plan Storage

fails: quotaemail?card?Rper-ip-shaping

packagecloud.io/pricing/ · registry · storage/packagecloud-io-free-plan · JSON · compare

Free tier2 GB storage + 10 GB bandwidth per month, unlimited repositories and unlimited CI/CD minutes. Private repositories are no longer usable on the free plan (restricted since 7 Sep 2023), so the free tier is effectively public-repo only.
unit GB; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
Egress10 GB/month of download bandwidth; overage is $1.50/GB on paid plans and the account is disabled at the 'maximum overage amount' setting — so on Free it is a hard wall.
free_allowance: 10 GB per month
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Limits
  • per-ip-shaping bandwidth per month, unlimited repositories and unlimited CI/CD minutes source
2 GB storage (high-water mark, so delete-then-reupload does not refund within a period); 10 GB/month bandwidth; private repos gated; packages over 2.6 GB are a paid-plan feature; bandwidth metered from request logs, HEAD/conditional GETs excluded.
Bindingper-ip-shaping one stream is shaped, and a user's throughput is the shaped rate times the number of streams
Interfacerest, cli rest (packagecloud API), native apt/yum/ruby/pypi/npm clients via packagecloud.io/install/repositories/...
Toolingpackagecloud CLI (packagecloud push), curl -X POST to the API, setup scripts for apt/yum; public repos pull anonymously.
Composes withUnlimited repositories per account, but storage and bandwidth are account-level watermarks ('high watermark for any given billing period'), so N repos do not multiply the 2 GB. Only N accounts would.
ReliabilityStable hosted service; the 2023 change that cut private repos off the free plan shows the free tier is a moving target.
Notes2 GB storage + 10 GB bandwidth per month, unlimited repositories and unlimited CI/CD minutes. Private repositories are no longer usable on the free plan (restricted since 7 Sep 2023), so the free tier is effectively public-repo only.
Evidence rungreported One page read moves it to documented.
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Evidence (4)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21packagecloud.io/pricing/read live (firecrawl render): 'Free ... 10 GB bandwidth ... 2 GB storage ... Unlimited CI/CD Minutes'; comparison table shows 'Unlimited repositories', 'Public repositories' ticked, 'Private repositories' and 'Package sizes > 2.6 GB' as paid
2026-10-21packagecloud.io/pricing/faq/read live: 'if you upload 100GB of packages, and delete 90GB of them, you'll still have used 100GB for that billing period' (high-water mark)
2026-10-21blog.packagecloud.io/packagecloud-private-repositories-on-thread live: free-plan private repos got 402s from 7 Sep 2023
2026-10-21packagecloud.io/install/repositories/github/git-lfs/config_fprobe: GET -> 200 (anonymous public-repo read)
More fields (1)
{
 "dead_end": {
  "failure_class": "egress",
  "why": "2 GB storage + 10 GB bandwidth per month, unlimited repositories and unlimited CI/CD minutes. Private repositories are no longer usable on the free plan (restricted since 7 Sep 2023), so the free tier is effectively public-repo only.",
  "retry_when": null,
  "first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (8)
  • $.extras.dead_end.retry_when process
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.identity_cost.detail defaulted
  • $.identity_cost.kind identity-defaulted
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-extracted
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-extracted
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted
  • $.retention.stated not-extracted