Startup India Seed
seedfund.startupindia.gov.in · Compute · 1 record · JSON
Startup India Seed Compute
fails: identityinstitutionno cardDwrite-gated
| Free tier | Up to INR 20 lakh as a milestone-based grant for proof of concept, prototype development or product trials, plus up to INR 50 lakh of investment through convertible debentures, debt or debt-linked instruments for market entry and commercialisation, disbursed through eligible incubators rather than directly by the government. unit none; metered on wall-clock; grant |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | institution not published |
| Limits |
The applicant must be 'A startup, recognized by DPIIT, incorporated not more than 2 years ago at the time of application', and DPIIT recognition requires an Indian incorporated entity, so a person with no Indian company fails before the incubator sees the application. |
| Binding | write-gated The applicant must be 'A startup, recognized by DPIIT, incorporated not more than 2 years ago at the time of application', and DPIIT recognition requires an Indian incorporated entity, so a person with no Indian company fails before the incubator sees the application. |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | The two halves do not stack into one cheque: the INR 20 lakh is a grant and the INR 50 lakh is a repayable instrument, so the free portion is the smaller number. Because disbursement runs through an incubator, the practical gate after DPIIT is an incubator selection, which is a second discretionary review. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | The number worth remembering is 20 lakh, because the 50 lakh beside it is debt-like and a reader who takes the pair as a grant overstates the free capacity by a factor of 3.5. Three readings of eligibility were considered. (a) DPIIT recognition is open to foreign founders: refuted, recognition requires an entity incorporated in India. (b) The scheme accepts a sole proprietorship: unresolved, the FAQ says 'incorporated', which in Indian usage usually means a company or LLP rather than a proprietorship. (c) The 2-year incorporation clock can be paused: refuted, it is measured at the time of application. |
| Evidence rung | documented |
| Checked | 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21 |
Evidence (4)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | seedfund.startupindia.gov.in/faq | 'Up to Rs. 20 Lakhs as grant for validation of Proof of Concept, or prototype development, or product trials'; 'Up to Rs. 50 Lakhs of investment for market entry, commercialization, or scaling up through convertible debentures or debt', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | seedfund.startupindia.gov.in/faq | 'A startup, recognized by DPIIT, incorporated not more than 2 years ago at the time of application is invited to apply' |
| 2026-10-22 | www.startupindia.gov.in/content/dam/startupindia/homebanners | the DPIIT playbook one-pager repeats 'DPIIT recognised startups' and 'Incorporated not more than 2 years ago at the time of application', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | www.startupindia.gov.in/content/dam/invest-india/brics/gotom | not published |
More fields (1)
{
"wave2": {
"class": "government-grant",
"free_tier_kind": "grant",
"shape": {
"vcpu": null,
"ram_gib": null,
"gpu_class": null,
"gpu_count": null
}
}
}Unknown or withheld values (11)
$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.evidence[3].provedwithheld$.identity_cost.detailprocess$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-applicable$.toolingnot-stated