Alfred P. Sloan
sloan.org · Compute · 1 record · JSON
Alfred P. Sloan Compute
fails: identityinstitutionno cardDwrite-gated
| Free tier | Quoted: 'The Foundation does not make grants to individuals except through its Books program' and 'The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation does not accept or review unsolicited grant proposals.' The only individual lane named is book writing, where 'Book grants can be made to individuals or to affiliated nonprofit organizations' and are 'typically $60,000 or less'. unit none; metered on wall-clock; cash-grant |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | institution not published |
| Limits |
No unsolicited proposals are read at all, so the route is a letter of inquiry to a named programme director, and most programmes do not accept even that. |
| Binding | write-gated No unsolicited proposals are read at all, so the route is a letter of inquiry to a named programme director, and most programmes do not accept even that. |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | The only individual door is a book about science, so this record's use is negative: it stops a reader from spending a week drafting a Sloan proposal that no programme would read. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | Sloan appears on most lists of open-source and science funders and is the wrong shape for a user: institution-only, no unsolicited proposals, and a book programme as the sole individual route. Recorded as a refutation, which is the useful outcome. The USD 60,000 book ceiling is the one number a person could reach, and it buys writing time rather than compute. |
| Evidence rung | documented |
| Checked | 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21 |
Evidence (2)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | sloan.org/grants/apply | quoted 'The Foundation does not make grants to individuals except through its Books program' and 'The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation does not accept or review unsolicited grant proposals', plus 'Not all programs accept unsolicited inquiries' |
| 2026-10-22 | sloan.org/programs/public-understanding/books | quoted 'Book grants can be made to individuals or to affiliated nonprofit organizations, such as a university. Book grants are typically $60,000 or less.' |
More fields (1)
{
"wave2": {
"class": "grant-institutional",
"free_tier_kind": "cash-grant",
"shape": null
}
}Unknown or withheld values (10)
$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.identity_cost.detailprocess$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-applicable$.toolingnot-stated