fshy

fshy / Storage

sonatype

sonatype.com · Storage · 3 records · JSON

Sonatype Nexus Repository — Community Edition (self-hosted) Storage

caveatanonymousno cardR

www.sonatype.com/products/sonatype-nexus-repository/download · registry · storage/sonatype-nexus-repository-community-edition · JSON · compare

Free tierFree, self-hosted, no storage quota: 'There is no cost to use Sonatype Nexus Repository Community Edition'; the feature matrix marks 'Unlimited Nexus Repository Deployments' as included. Storage is your blob store, so the ceiling is your disk.
unit unlimited; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
EgressFree by construction (self-hosted). Serve through Cloudflare or your own CDN at your own cost.
Identityanonymous derived from the record's prose, not from an identity field, and no signup was executed: epositories can hold arbitrary files but there is no public anonymous sharing story as clean as Cloudsmith's. registry
Bindingnone no constraint in the record binds at this scale; the record carries no limit of a kind the vocabulary names
Interfacerest, webdav rest (Nexus REST API v1), native protocols for maven/npm/pypi/nuget/docker/raw/helm/apt/yum, WebDAV-ish raw repos
Toolingcurl -u against /service/rest/v1/components, mvn deploy, npm publish, twine upload, docker push; a well-documented REST API for scripting.
Composes withSame as any self-hosted manager: unlimited instances × your disk. The version that matters for this brief is that nothing in Nexus meters bytes, so a single instance on a cheap VPS with a big volume gives unbounded logical storage — but you buy the volume.
ReliabilityMature and stable; the only 'limit' is a licensing/positioning nudge, not a technical cut-off. Data does not vanish.
NotesFree, self-hosted, no storage quota: 'There is no cost to use Sonatype Nexus Repository Community Edition'; the feature matrix marks 'Unlimited Nexus Repository Deployments' as included. Storage is your blob store, so the ceiling is your disk.
Evidence rungreported One page read moves it to documented.
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Evidence (3)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21www.sonatype.com/products/sonatype-nexus-oss-downloadread live: 'There is no cost to use Sonatype Nexus Repository Community Edition. You can get started for free, no credit card is required'; 'designed to be a small team solution that can be used for free with modest usage'
2026-10-21help.sonatype.com/en/nexus-repository-feature-matrix.htmlread live: 'Unlimited Nexus Repository Deployments' ticked for Community Edition; 'Cloud Blob Storage (AWS S3, Azure, GCS)' is Pro-only
2026-10-21help.sonatype.com/en/nexus-repository-tiers-and-feature-avairead live: 'Nexus Repository Community Edition: Free, self-hosted artifact management'
Unknown or withheld values (5)
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-extracted
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-extracted
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted
  • $.retention.stated not-extracted

sonatype nexus repository cloud (hosted) Storage

paidemail?card?R

help.sonatype.com/en/sonatype-cloud.html · rejected-provider · storage/sonatype-nexus-repository-cloud · JSON · compare

Free tierHosted Nexus is a paid, sales-led deployment: 'Contact the Sonatype sales team for the right deployment option'. No free hosted tier exists — only the self-hosted Community Edition is free.
unit none; metered on none
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot recorded
Retentionnot recorded
Egressnot recorded
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Bindingnone no constraint of a named kind was recorded; the verdict rests on the quota sentence rather than on a named limit
Interfaceunknown
Toolingnot recorded
Composes withnot recorded
ReliabilityHosted Nexus is a paid, sales-led deployment: 'Contact the Sonatype sales team for the right deployment option'. No free hosted tier exists — only the self-hosted Community Edition is free.
NotesHosted Nexus is a paid, sales-led deployment: 'Contact the Sonatype sales team for the right deployment option'. No free hosted tier exists — only the self-hosted Community Edition is free.
Evidence rungreported
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Evidence (1)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21help.sonatype.com/en/sonatype-cloud.htmlHosted Nexus is a paid, sales-led deployment: 'Contact the Sonatype sales team for the right deployment option'. No free hosted tier exists — only the self-hosted Community Edition is free.
More fields (1)
{
 "dead_end": {
  "failure_class": "paid",
  "why": "Hosted Nexus is a paid, sales-led deployment: 'Contact the Sonatype sales team for the right deployment option'. No free hosted tier exists — only the self-hosted Community Edition is free.",
  "retry_when": null,
  "first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (15)
  • $.chaining not-recorded
  • $.confidence_note withheld
  • $.egress.terms not-recorded
  • $.extras.dead_end.retry_when process
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.identity_cost.detail defaulted
  • $.identity_cost.kind identity-defaulted
  • $.interface interface-unknown
  • $.interface_detail withheld
  • $.limits_note process
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-recorded
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-recorded
  • $.retention.notes process
  • $.retention.stated not-recorded
  • $.tooling not-recorded

Maven Central (Sonatype Central Portal / Central Publisher) Storage

fails: quotaemail?card?Rper-object-cap

central.sonatype.com · registry · storage/maven-central · JSON · compare

Free tierNo total storage quota, but as of 2026 a *monthly publishing quota per organization* on three metrics, with thresholds set at the ~90th percentile: 1,167 files / 78 MB release size / 7 releases per month at p90, rising to 17,724 / 1,808 MB / 50 at p99. The 1 GB archive upload limit is the per-request cap. Commercial-nature artefacts require the paid Publisher Pro tier from Oct 1 2026 regardless of volume.
unit objects; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Per-object cap1 GB per upload (1000000000 bytes)
Retention30-day grace period on breach, then new releases refused (30 days)
EgressFree and unmetered, Cloudflare-fronted. Probe: repo1.maven.org jar GET -> 200, Server: cloudflare, CF-RAY present, no auth.
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Limits
  • per-object-cap 1 GB per upload source
1 GB per upload archive. Monthly per-org: file count, total release size, release count (see table). 30-day grace period on breach, then new releases refused. Signed artefacts only; namespace ownership must be proven. Published artefacts remain downloadable forever ('Already-published artifacts are never affected').
Bindingper-object-cap the per-object cap sets the shard size and therefore the object count; it bounds the total more tightly than any headline quota
Interfacerest, rclone rest
ToolingUpload via Central Portal archive upload (zip/tar.gz up to 1 GB following Maven repo layout) or the maven-deploy-plugin; download via plain GET on repo1.maven.org/maven2/<group>/<artifact>/<version>/<file>. Every Java build tool is a client. No rclone backend.
Composes withWeakest chain in the field because the new quota is per *organization* per *month*: 78 MB/month at the p90 threshold means a new org yields ~78 MB/month of headroom. Unlimited free orgs would multiply it, but each org requires a verified namespace and a GPG-signed artefact chain, so the setup cost per GB is the worst here.
ReliabilityData never vanishes (already-published artefacts are explicitly exempt from any enforcement). The failure mode is *publishing* stopping after the grace period — a bulk writer will hit the release-size threshold in the first month and be blocked. This quota regime is new (2026) and the page says thresholds 'may be adjusted as we learn'.
NotesNo total storage quota, but as of 2026 a *monthly publishing quota per organization* on three metrics, with thresholds set at the ~90th percentile: 1,167 files / 78 MB release size / 7 releases per month at p90, rising to 17,724 / 1,808 MB / 50 at p99. The 1 GB archive upload limit is the per-request cap. Commercial-nature artefacts require the paid Publisher Pro tier from Oct 1 2026 regardless of volume.
Evidence rungreported One page read moves it to documented.
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Parsed numbers
  • $.limits[0].value limit:per-object-cap 1.0 GB
Evidence (3)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21central.sonatype.org/publish/maven-central-publishing-limitsmonthly thresholds table ('90th | 1,167 | 78 | 7' ... '99th | 17,724 | 1,808 | 50'); 'These limits are evaluated as hard thresholds against an organization's usage during the current calendar month'; 'Commercial-nature artifacts require Maven Central Publisher Pro from October 1, 2026'
2026-10-21central.sonatype.org/publish/publish-portal-upload/'You can upload an archive up to 1GB in size'
2026-10-21repo1.maven.org/maven2/org/apache/commons/commons-lang3/3.14probe: GET -> 200, Content-Length: 657952, Server: cloudflare
More fields (1)
{
 "dead_end": {
  "failure_class": "quota",
  "why": "No total storage quota, but as of 2026 a *monthly publishing quota per organization* on three metrics, with thresholds set at the ~90th percentile: 1,167 files / 78 MB release size / 7 releases per month at p90, rising to 17,724 / 1,808 MB / 50 at p99. The 1 GB archive upload limit is the per-request cap. Commercial-nature artefacts require the paid Publisher Pro tier from Oct 1 2026 regardless of volume.",
  "retry_when": null,
  "first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (6)
  • $.extras.dead_end.retry_when process
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.identity_cost.detail defaulted
  • $.identity_cost.kind identity-defaulted
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-extracted
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted