fshy

fshy / Storage

Source Cooperative

source.coop · Storage · 2 records · JSON

Source Cooperative (source.coop / data.source.coop) — byte-level re-probe Storage

caveatemailno cardR

source.coop · dataset-hosting · storage/source-cooperative-byte-level-re-probe · JSON · compare

Free tierNo published byte quota; the org states it 'hosts over 5 petabytes of data' across 330+ products from 130+ organisations and serves ~700 TB/month, and positions itself as 'data publishing at any scale'. I could not find any per-product, per-account or per-file cap in the docs. this slot adds the probe and the pricing status.
unit TB; metered on unstated
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
EgressFree and unmetered in practice for the reader: anonymous GET with no credentials, Cloudflare in front, R2/Turbo-adjacent CDN headers. No egress meter appears anywhere in the docs.
Identityemail email
Bindingnone no constraint in the record binds at this scale; the record carries no limit of a kind the vocabulary names
Interfaces3, rclone, cli s3
ToolingGenuine S3 proxy. Endpoint https://data.source.coop, --no-sign-request for reads. Upload credentials are Source-issued but in AWS format and valid only at the proxy; path is s3://<account-id>/<product-id>/ and you cannot write outside your own prefix. Accepts aws cli, boto3, rclone with a custom endpoint, plus a Source CLI and service accounts for CI.
Composes withMultiplier is data products per account/org, and orgs can hold team members. Because reads are anonymous and S3-native, this is the cleanest 'someone else's S3 on a real CDN' shape in the whole D area — it can be mounted by AList/rclone and fronted by Cloudflare exactly per §2.1.
ReliabilityBeta + announced-but-unpublished pricing means the free window has an unknown end date. Store only data that has a second home.
NotesNo published byte quota; the org states it 'hosts over 5 petabytes of data' across 330+ products from 130+ organisations and serves ~700 TB/month, and positions itself as 'data publishing at any scale'. I could not find any per-product, per-account or per-file cap in the docs. this slot adds the probe and the pricing status.
Evidence rungreported One page read moves it to documented.
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Evidence (7)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21data.source.coop/kerner-lab/fields-of-the-world/README.mdPROBED (this is the new evidence): curl -qsS -D - -> HTTP 200, Content-Length: 16187, Accept-Ranges: bytes, ETag, Last-Modified, Server: cloudflare, CF-Cache-Status: DYNAMIC. Downloaded twice and SHA-256 compared: cdd18d37e1af2320c2eaa763a6b70a8258a1ee2e5dc78e558ea0922e981e56d6 on both copies, and 16,187 bytes on disk matches the declared Content-Length — a true roundtrip, not a 200-with-empty-body.
2026-10-21withheldPROBED: curl -H 'Range: bytes=0-99' on the same object -> HTTP 206 Partial Content, Content-Range: bytes 0-99/16187, 100 bytes body. Range requests work, so resumable/parallel fetches are viable.
2026-10-21data.source.coop/kerner-lab?list-type=2&max-keys=5PROBED: curl '' -> real <ListBucketResult> with CommonPrefixes (fields-of-the-world-austria/, -belgium/, -brazil/, …), KeyCount 5, IsTruncated true. Anonymous bucket listing works — the catalogue is enumerable without credentials.
2026-10-21data.source.coop/?list-type=2&delimiter=/&max-keys=5PROBED: curl '' -> body is literally 'Source Cooperative Data Proxy v2.5.1', not an S3 error. Root listing is disabled but the service identifies itself; useful as a liveness probe.
2026-10-21docs.source.coop/what-is-sourceopened: 'Hosts over 5 petabytes … Serves approximately 700 terabytes of data transfer per month … Supports over 330 data products from 130+ organizations'; 'Source is currently in beta … publishing data requires applying to be a beta tester.'
2026-10-21source.coop/opened: 'Flat pricing … Pricing plans based on data volume and usage will be announced soon.' Confirms unpriced.
2026-10-21docs.source.coop/data-proxyopened: 'The Source Data Proxy provides S3-compatible access to all data hosted on Source Cooperative. You can access data through the proxy without authentication.'
Unknown or withheld values (6)
  • $.evidence[1].url private-url
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-extracted
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-extracted
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted
  • $.retention.stated not-extracted

Source Cooperative (re-verify) - uncapped public publishing, beta-gated, BYOB is the real lever Storage

caveatemailno cardR

source.coop/ · academic · storage/source-cooperative-uncapped-public-publishing-beta-gated · JSON · compare

Free tierNo published byte cap: 'allowing trusted organizations and individuals to publish data of any kind at any scale'. Case study: Earth Genome publishes 60+ TB. Platform total reported at just over 5 PB.
unit TB; metered on unstated
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
EgressFree public reads through the data proxy at data.source.coop - live probe returned HTTP 200 with Cloudflare in front (CF-RAY present), so reads are CDN-covered.
Identityemail email
Bindingnone no constraint in the record binds at this scale; the record carries no limit of a kind the vocabulary names
Interfaces3 s3
ToolingObjects served at data.source.coop/<account>/<product>/...; the proxy is open source (Rust, github.com/source-cooperative/data.source.coop). Bring Your Own Bucket (BYOB) points Source at an S3 bucket you own, read via OIDC federation (sts:AssumeRoleWithWebIdentity) with no long-lived secret either side.
Composes withPer data product, owned by 'an organization or an individual' explicitly. BYOB is the important primitive: it decouples the catalogue/CDN from the bytes, so a free bucket elsewhere becomes a Source product with Cloudflare-fronted reads.
ReliabilityNonprofit (Radiant Earth 501(c)(3) parent) with in-kind AWS/Azure; beta terms can change. Storage itself lives on commodity cloud, so durability is AWS-grade.
NotesNo published byte cap: 'allowing trusted organizations and individuals to publish data of any kind at any scale'. Case study: Earth Genome publishes 60+ TB. Platform total reported at just over 5 PB.
Evidence rungreported One page read moves it to documented.
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Evidence (4)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21docs.source.coop/'Source allows trusted organizations and individuals to publish data of any kind at any scale'; 'apply to be a beta tester'
2026-10-21docs.source.coop/create-a-data-product'Data products can be owned by an organization or an individual'; 'By default it uses Source-managed storage... choose a connection in the us-west-2 region'
2026-10-21docs.source.coop/bring-your-own-bucket'Source staff must enable' BYOB; OIDC federation, 'Nothing long-lived is stored'
2026-10-21data.source.coop/live probe: HTTP 200, Server: cloudflare, CF-RAY a4e2ac1a8e2fa1b3-KTM
Unknown or withheld values (5)
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-extracted
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-extracted
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted
  • $.retention.stated not-extracted