Sovereign Tech
sovereign.tech · Compute · 2 records · JSON
- Sovereign Tech Fellowship Computecaveatemailno cardDwrite-gated
- Sovereign Tech Fund Computecaveatemailno cardDwrite-gated
Sovereign Tech Fellowship Compute
caveatemailno cardDwrite-gated
| Free tier | Quoted: 'we will hire up to twelve Sovereign Tech Fellows, either as freelance contractors or as employees at Sovereign Tech Agency GmbH'. Freelance contracts run 'from 3 to 12 months, with flexible weekly working hours from 6 to 32 hours'; employment pays 'EUR 64,000 to EUR 82,000 per year for a full-time position, including 30 days of vacation'. unit hours; metered on wall-clock; paid-fellowship |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | email not published |
| Limits |
The intake for the 2026 cohort closed on 2026-04-06 and no next call was published on the page read, so is a once-a-year application with no way to draw on it today. |
| Binding | write-gated The intake for the 2026 cohort closed on 2026-04-06 and no next call was published on the page read, so is a once-a-year application with no way to draw on it today. |
| Interface | rest inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | A 6-hour-a-week freelance contract is the only arrangement that pays a person for maintenance time while leaving the rest of the week for a compute workload, and the money arrives as invoice income that can be spent on any accelerator. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | This is the cleanest individual lane in the open-source category: no company, no institution, no fundraise, and the counterparty is an agency that hires freelancers. The gap is timing, not eligibility. Open question that would settle it: whether a 2027 call repeats the 2026 shape, which the page does not announce. The 2025 pilot and the 2026 round both ran, so a repeat is inferred from two data points, not documented. |
| Evidence rung | documented |
| Checked | 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21 |
Evidence (2)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | www.sovereign.tech/programs/fellowship | quoted the freelance and employment terms, the 3-to-12-month and 6-to-32-hour range, the EUR 64,000 to EUR 82,000 salary band, and the closed deadline 'The application period ended on April 6, 2026' |
| 2026-10-22 | www.sovereign.tech/programs | the fellowship is described as 'investing directly in the people behind the code by paying maintainers of critical open source components for their work' |
More fields (1)
{
"wave2": {
"class": "grant-individual",
"free_tier_kind": "paid-fellowship",
"shape": null
}
}Unknown or withheld values (9)
$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.identity_cost.detailprocess$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-applicable$.toolingnot-stated
Sovereign Tech Fund Compute
caveatemailno cardDwrite-gated
| Free tier | Quoted requirement: 'The cost of the work described in the application must exceed 50,000 euro (current minimum)'. Investment is 'globally' in 'open software components that underpin Germany's and Europe's competitiveness', and the platform was reopened: 'Our application platform is open again for new submissions!' unit none; metered on wall-clock; cash-grant |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | email not published |
| Limits |
The proposal must clear a review panel through an online platform, and the minimum project cost of EUR 50,000 excludes small asks, so nothing is drawable before a decision. |
| Binding | write-gated The proposal must clear a review panel through an online platform, and the minimum project cost of EUR 50,000 excludes small asks, so nothing is drawable before a decision. |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | A EUR 50,000 floor is the point: that is 50,000 hours at EUR 1 an hour or 5,000 hours at EUR 10 an hour on a rented accelerator, so the smallest possible award buys a long experiment rather than a demo. The EUR 50,000 minimum is the published fact; the hourly rate is not published by either side. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | The fund excludes prototypes and does not fund user-facing applications, which is the real filter: a data-science tool has to be a component other software builds on. The EUR 50,000 minimum is also a floor that a solo applicant must reach with a genuine multi-month plan. I did not establish whether the Agency will contract a private individual in a country outside Germany: the form text implies yes and the 2023 challenges document says yes for that programme, but no 2026 first-party sentence states it, so that part is inferred rather than documented. |
| Evidence rung | documented |
| Checked | 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21 |
Evidence (4)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | www.sovereign.tech/programs/fund | quoted 'The cost of the work described in the application must exceed 50,000 euro (current minimum)', the FOSS licence requirement, and the exclusion of prototypes and user-facing applications |
| 2026-10-22 | www.sovereign.tech/public/files/Application-Form-Sovereign-T | not published |
| 2026-10-22 | www.sovereign.tech/public/files/Challenges_Announcement.pdf | not published |
| 2026-10-22 | www.sovereign.tech/news/fund | the announcement that the application platform is open again for new submissions |
More fields (1)
{
"wave2": {
"class": "grant-individual",
"free_tier_kind": "cash-grant",
"shape": null
}
}Unknown or withheld values (12)
$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.evidence[1].provedwithheld$.evidence[2].provedwithheld$.identity_cost.detailprocess$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-applicable$.toolingnot-stated