Speechmatics
speechmatics.com · Compute · 1 record · JSON
Speechmatics Compute
caveatemailno cardDrequest-rate
| Free tier | 'Start with $100 in free credits, no card required', with the page data carrying 'signupCredits: 100' and a footnote 'No card required'. The headline 'from $0.121/hr' is two discounts stacked: the tooltip says 'Melia 1 Pre-recorded base rate: $0.24, model training: -33%, top-tier annual commitment: -25%'. At the base Melia-1 pre-recorded rate of USD 0.24 an hour, 100 / 0.24 = 416 hours of batch transcription; at the Melia-1 real-time base of USD 0.40 an hour, 250 hours. unit hours; metered on wall-clock; one-time-credit |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | email an account on an email alone, and the pricing page states 'Start with $100 in free credits, no card required' with the page data carrying 'signupCredits: 100' and a 'No card required' footnote. No card is taken, so no hold exists and no debit or prepaid question arises. |
| Limits |
the credit is large and the discount ladder is the trap: the advertised USD 0.121 an hour requires opting into model training and a top-tier annual commitment, so a free account pays the USD 0.24 base rate and gets 416 hours rather than 826. |
| Binding | request-rate the credit is large and the discount ladder is the trap: the advertised USD 0.121 an hour requires opting into model training and a top-tier annual commitment, so a free account pays the USD 0.24 base rate and gets 416 hours rather than 826. |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | a free CI runner plus USD 100 of batch transcription covers 416 hours of audio at the base rate, which is a podcast or lecture archive transcribed once. What breaks: the discount is paid for with training data or an annual commitment, and the enhanced-accuracy model at USD 0.75 an hour cuts the same credit to 133 hours. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | These are inference credits, not general compute. The gap between the headline USD 0.121 and the base USD 0.24 is the finding: a free account has no commitment to discount, so the honest number is 416 hours. Not established: expiry of the USD 100; the pricing page does not state one. Training opt-in is a technical setting on the account, recorded here as a rate condition and not as advice. |
| Evidence rung | documented the pricing page was read on 2026-10-23 and states the USD 100, the no-card rule and the stacked discounts behind the headline rate |
| Checked | 2026-10-24 (live); stale on 2026-11-23 |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence (2)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-23 | www.speechmatics.com/pricing | quoted: 'Start with $100 in free credits, no card required', with the page data carrying 'signupCredits: 100' and the footnote 'No card required' |
| 2026-10-23 | www.speechmatics.com/pricing | quoted rate: 'Speech to Text from $0.121/hr', with the tooltip stating 'Melia 1 Pre-recorded base rate: $0.24, model training: -33%, top-tier annual commitment: -25%' |
More fields (1)
{
"wave2": {
"class": "credit-large-enough-for-real-workload",
"free_tier_kind": "one-time-credit",
"shape": {
"vcpu": null,
"ram_gib": null,
"gpu_class": null,
"gpu_count": 0
}
}
}Unknown or withheld values (9)
$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-applicable$.toolingnot-stated