fshy

fshy / Compute / Storage

xAI Grok

x.ai · Compute, Storage · 2 records · JSON

xAI Files API (Grok) + public CDN URLs Storage

caveatemailno cardRper-object-cap

docs.x.ai/developers/files/managing-files · LLM provider /v1/files with CDN · storage/xai-files-api-public-cdn-urls · JSON · compare

Free tierNo published total-storage quota. Per-file 512 MB (some pages say 50 MB for the upload reference and 50 MiB for public URLs). Files are PERMANENT by default — expires_after is opt-in.
unit mixed; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Per-object capPer-file 512 MB (512000000 bytes)
RetentionPer-file 512 MB (some pages say 50 MB for the upload reference and 50 MiB for public URLs). Files are PERMANENT by default — expires_after is opt-in
EgressEvery file can mint a public URL on files-cdn.x.ai, Cloudflare-fronted, no API key needed to fetch, no egress charge documented. URL is permanent if the file has no expiry and no expires_after is passed.
Identityemail email
Limits
  • per-object-cap 100 MB/file source
per-object-cap 512 MB (50 MB if you want a public URL — public URLs are limited to images/video mime types). 'A file can have at most one active public URL at a time.' Public-URL creation can fail if the team hits its active-URL quota.
Bindingper-object-cap the per-object cap sets the shard size and therefore the object count; it bounds the total more tightly than any headline quota
Interfacerest OpenAI-compatible REST at https://api.x.ai/v1/files — POST upload, GET list, GET {id}, GET {id}/content (streams raw bytes, Content-Type application/octet-stream), DELETE, plus POST {id}/public-url and /public-url/revoke
Toolingopenai-python with base_url swapped to https://api.x.ai/v1; xai_sdk; curl
Composes withUpload -> create public URL -> Cloudflare caches it -> the CDN becomes the egress plane (same shape as the brief's §2.1 architecture, but the origin is the model provider). One active public URL per file at a time, but it is idempotent — re-calling returns the existing URL.
ReliabilityThe absence of a published total quota is the finding, not an oversight — a third-party comparison site says outright 'no storage limit is stated. xAI says only that limits may vary slightly by platform or subscription'. Treat unverified. Files persist 'until you delete them'. Collections is a separate product with a 100 MB/file cap and requires credits in the account. Public URLs only cover image/png, image/jpeg, image/gif, image/webp, video/mp4, video/webm — so the CDN path is media-only; arbitrary blobs must go through the authenticated content endpoint.
NotesNo published total-storage quota. Per-file 512 MB (some pages say 50 MB for the upload reference and 50 MiB for public URLs). Files are PERMANENT by default — expires_after is opt-in.
Evidence rungreported One page read moves it to documented.
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Parsed numbers
  • $.limits[0].value limit:per-object-cap 100.0 MB
Evidence (7)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21docs.x.ai/developers/files/managing-files'Files default to permanent storage until you delete them'; expires_after range 3600–2592000; 'Stream the raw bytes'; 'The endpoint streams the response, so it works for files of any supported size'
2026-10-21docs.x.ai/developers/files/public-urls'Every file you upload through the Files API lives in private storage by default … Public URLs turn a stored file into a permanent, shareable link on the SpaceXSI CDN that anyone can open — no API key required'; 'File has no expiration, expires_after omitted — URL never expires'; limitations: max 50 MiB, restricted content types
2026-10-21docs.x.ai/developers/files'File size: Maximum 512 MB per file'
2026-10-21docs.x.ai/developers/rest-api-reference/files/download'GET /v1/files/{file_id}/content … Content-Type application/octet-stream'
2026-10-21docs.x.ai/developers/files/collections'Maximum file size: 100MB'; 'you must have credits in your account'
2026-10-21felloai.com/ai-file-upload-limits/'no storage limit is stated' for xAI
2026-10-21api.x.ai/v1/filesPROBE: curl -D - -> 401, Content-Length 35, body {"code":"unauthenticated:no-credentials"}; /v1/files/abc/content -> 401/35; /v1/collections -> 401/77; https://files-cdn.x.ai/test/file_abc.png -> 404 from Cloudflare (host live, CF-fronted)
More fields (1)
{
 "unit_note": "free_tier.unit is 'mixed' because the headline is denominated in MiB or KiB, which the schema enum does not carry; the verbatim free_tier.stated keeps the true unit. See the storage-dossier handover."
}
Unknown or withheld values (3)
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-extracted
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted

xAI Grok API Compute

paidcardcardphoneIvolume-quota

docs.x.ai/docs/models · inference API · compute/xai-grok-api · JSON · compare

Free tierno free API credit is documented today. The rate card reads 'grok-4.7 $2.00' in and '$6.00' out per million tokens, and the only free thing the site offers is the Playground: 'Try Grok free in the Playground'. The USD 150 a month data-sharing credit that every credit list carries is not on the current documentation index.
unit none; metered on wall-clock; none
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot applicable
Retentionnot applicable
Egressnot stated
Identitycard no free credit is documented, so a funded balance is needed before the first call, and the record does not say which rail funds it: the landing page's three steps are sign up, create a key, call, with no credit mentioned, and the card cost is inferred from the paid-only verdict rather than read as a signup requirement. No hold, debit or prepaid answer appears, and whether signup asks for an email or a phone is not stated. The old data-sharing credit required the team to have "already spent a minimum of $5 on the API" before opting in, if that programme still exists
Limits
  • volume-quota there is no allowance to exhaust: a prepaid balance or a card is required before the first call, and the rate table is the only limit. source
there is no allowance to exhaust: a prepaid balance or a card is required before the first call, and the rate table is the only limit.
Bindingvolume-quota there is no allowance to exhaust: a prepaid balance or a card is required before the first call, and the rate table is the only limit.
Interfacerest inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withif the data-sharing credit returns, it is the largest recurring inference allowance: USD 150 a month / USD 2.00 per million input tokens = 75 million grok-4.7 input tokens a month, or 25 million output tokens at USD 6.00.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThis is the most-repeated number and the evidence is in conflict, so the rung is inferred from three observations: the live docs index has no free-credit page, the API landing page offers only the Playground, and a 2026 write-up states the programme is gone. Against that, a documentation mirror still carries the full text of the programme. If it is live, the gate is worse than it looks: the team must spend USD 5 before opting in, opting in cannot be reversed, and teams in the United Kingdom and most of the European Union are excluded by country. What would settle it: one USD 5 prepayment and a look at the Credits section of console.x.ai. Scope note: the corpus already holds dossier/storage/xai-files-api-public-cdn-urls.json, which covers xAI file storage and public CDN URLs; it says nothing about inference credit, and this record does not touch storage.
Evidence runginferred
Checked2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21
Evidence (5)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22docs.x.ai/docs/modelsthe text rate table: 'grok-4.7 (< 200k prompt tokens) | 500k | $2.00 | $0.50 | $6.00' in, cached, out per 1M tokens, quoted
2026-10-22docs.x.ai/llms.txtthe documentation index carries no free-credits page: the only billing entries are 'Management API - Billing Management' and 'Extra usage credits and top-ups', observed by reading the index
2026-10-22x.ai/api'grok-4.7 from $2/M tokens, plus image, video, and voice APIs. Try Grok free in the Playground'; the page's three steps are sign up, create a key, call, with no credit mentioned, quoted
2026-10-22grok-api.apidog.io/free-credits-934025m0a mirror of the old docs page: 'Get $150 in free API credits each month ... for teams that opt in to data sharing', and 'your team must have already spent a minimum of $5 on the API before choosing to opt in', quoted
2026-10-22walterpinem.com/grok-xai-api/'The Grok xAI API does not give new accounts free credits ... Claims of $150 a month in credits for sharing request data describe a program that no current xAI billing page documents', reported
More fields (1)
{
 "wave2": {
  "class": "withdrawn-credit",
  "free_tier_kind": "none",
  "shape": {
   "vcpu": null,
   "ram_gib": null,
   "gpu_class": null,
   "gpu_count": null
  }
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (8)
  • $.egress.metered egress-unknown
  • $.egress.terms not-stated
  • $.per_object_cap.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-applicable
  • $.reliability_note none-observed
  • $.retention.notes process
  • $.retention.stated not-applicable
  • $.tooling not-stated