fshy

fshy / Databases and KV / Storage

CockroachDB Cloud

cockroachlabs.com · Databases and KV, Storage · 3 records · JSON

CockroachDB Cloud Basic Databases and KV

caveatemailcardDretention-clamped

www.cockroachlabs.com/docs/cockroachcloud/free-trial · distributed SQL · databases-kv/cockroachdb-basic · JSON · compare

Free tier'When you sign up for CockroachDB Cloud, your new organization's account starts with $400 in free credits, allowing you to try the product at no cost.' The page states no trial length.
unit mixed; metered on wall-clock
Pricenone stated
Per-object cap10 GiB storage per organization on the recurring allowance; no per-object cap is published
Retentionno trial length is stated; billing starts on the day the last credit is used, or on credit expiry, and a 30-day grace period follows if no payment method is added
Egressdata transfer leaving the cluster is billed separately and the free-trial and Basic plan pages publish no included transfer allowance and no per-GB rate; recorded as a gap after checking both
Identityemail GitHub, Google, Microsoft or an email address and password; a name, company and email verification on the email path; a payment method only at the end of the trial
Limits
  • volume-quota USD 400 of credits, with no published expiry source
the trial length is not published; the record's earlier 30 days is not supported by the page
Bindingretention-clamped the request-unit counter throttles and the storage cap refuses writes, but both are recoverable. The 30-day deletion after the trial credits end is not: it removes every cluster in the organization and the page states they cannot be restored.
Interfacerest, cli the Postgres wire protocol with CockroachDB extensions; a Cloud API and the cockroach CLI
Toolingpsql-compatible clients, the cockroach CLI, the Cloud API
Composes withthe only free tier above 10 GiB of card-free-capable relational storage, if the card question resolves in your favour
Reliabilityno inactivity power-off; Request Unit consumption scales to zero when the cluster is idle. The trial path ends in an unrecoverable deletion 30 days after the credits run out without a payment method
NotesThe pricing page carries two different Standard rates and prices the product as 'Cockroach Continuum' from 2026-09-15. RAM is never stated. No arbitrary process can be hosted; the credit buys a managed database.
Evidence rungdocumented two first-party pages were read today: the free-trial page for the credits, the grace period and the deletion sentence, and the Basic plan page for scale-to-zero and the storage-limit behaviour.
Checked2026-10-24 (live); stale on 2026-11-23
Evidence (2)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-23www.cockroachlabs.com/docs/cockroachcloud/free-trialquoted: 'your new organization's account starts with $400 in free credits' and 'If the trial ends and a payment method has not been provided, a 30 day grace period begins.'
2026-10-23www.cockroachlabs.com/pricing/quoted: Standard '$0.092 per vCPU-hour', footer 'Standard from $0.057 / vCPU-hr' (the page contradicts itself), Mission Critical $0.162
More fields (2)
{
 "hourly_usd": {
  "standard_vcpu": 0.092,
  "mission_critical_vcpu": 0.162,
  "standard_vcpu_footer": 0.057
 },
 "rate_conflict": "the Standard card reads USD 0.092 per vCPU-hour and the footer table reads 'Standard from $0.057 / vCPU-hr' on the same page"
}

Corrections

CockroachDB Cloud (Basic tier) Storage

fails: quotacardcardR

www.cockroachlabs.com/ · paas · storage/cockroachdb-cloud · JSON · compare

Free tier$15/month of free resource consumption per pay-as-you-go org, equivalent to 50 million Request Units AND 10 GiB of storage per month
unit GiB; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot stated
Retention10 GiB storage/month free allowance; 50M RUs/month; 30K RU/sec ceiling on Basic; the legacy 'Serverless free tier' (5 GiB + 50M RUs, no card) has been replaced — current signup is $400 credit for 30 days then the $15/month Basic allowance (30 days)
EgressNot separately charged (storage + RUs are the meters); but the free allowance is denominated in dollars, so ANY overage converts to a bill. Effectively metered.
Identitycard derived from the record's prose, not from an identity field, and no signup was executed: $15/month of free resource consumption per pay-as-you-go org, equivalent to 50 million Request Units AND 10 GiB of storage
Bindingnone no constraint of a named kind was recorded; the verdict rests on the quota sentence rather than on a named limit
Interfacerest, cli rest
Toolingpsql / any Postgres wire client (CockroachDB is PG-wire compatible), cockroach CLI, Cloud API
Composes withThe $15 credit is per ORG, and the 10 GiB is a monthly allowance, not a permanent bucket. New orgs get a separate $400 30-day trial. There is no documented per-account cap on the number of orgs, so 50 orgs x 10 GiB = 500 GB in principle — but each org requires a distinct signup and a payment method to keep the $15 recurring benefit, which is a much higher friction per byte than Telegram or a drive.
ReliabilityVery reliable, but the free tier is a dollar credit rather than a hard quota, so a runaway query or a large storage footprint silently converts to charges. Storage is billed on logical GiB with 3 replicas included.
Notes$15/month of free resource consumption per pay-as-you-go org, equivalent to 50 million Request Units AND 10 GiB of storage per month
Evidence rungreported One page read moves it to documented.
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Evidence (3)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21docs.cockroachlabs.com/docs/cockroachcloud/plan-your-cluster'Each pay-as-you-go CockroachDB Cloud organization ... is given $15 of resource consumption (equivalent to 50 million Request Units and 10 GiB of storage) for free each month.'
2026-10-21www.cockroachlabs.com/free-tier/1a/'$400 in free credits to start—no credit card required'; 'New users get $400 in free credits to use within the first 30 days.'
2026-10-21www.cockroachlabs.com/docs/cockroachcloud/quickstart'$400 in free-trial free trial credits ... you will need to [add a payment method] by the end of the trial'
More fields (1)
{
 "dead_end": {
  "failure_class": "quota",
  "why": "$15/month of free resource consumption per pay-as-you-go org, equivalent to 50 million Request Units AND 10 GiB of storage per month",
  "retry_when": null,
  "first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (5)
  • $.extras.dead_end.retry_when process
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-extracted
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-extracted
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted

CockroachDB Cloud (Basic) / Continuum Storage

fails: quotacardcardR

www.cockroachlabs.com · paas · storage/cockroachdb-cloud-continuum · JSON · compare

Free tier$15/month of free resource consumption per pay-as-you-go org = 50M Request Units + 10 GiB storage/month
unit GiB; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
EgressNo separate egress charge on Basic — billing is storage GiB + Request Units. So egress is effectively free within the RU budget, and reads are the meter.
Identitycard derived from the record's prose, not from an identity field, and no signup was executed: $15/month of free resource consumption per pay-as-you-go org = 50M Request Units + 10 GiB storage/month Cluster is DISA
Bindingnone no constraint of a named kind was recorded; the verdict rests on the quota sentence rather than on a named limit
Interfacerest, cli rest
ToolingPostgres wire protocol (psql, any driver), cockroach CLI, Cloud API; no object storage — bytes must live in tables/BYTEA
Composes withThe $15 credit is per ORGANIZATION and explicitly spendable 'across all CockroachDB Basic clusters in an organization'. It is a monthly consumable, not a standing quota — 10 GiB is the storage-equivalent, and multi-region replication multiplies storage 3-5x against the same credit. New orgs get a $400 trial credit on top.
ReliabilityCluster is DISABLED when RU budget is exhausted — a hard stop mid-month, not throttling. Replication factor 3 eats the storage budget 3x.
Notes$15/month of free resource consumption per pay-as-you-go org = 50M Request Units + 10 GiB storage/month
Evidence rungreported One page read moves it to documented.
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Evidence (2)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21www.cockroachlabs.com/docs/cockroachcloud/plan-your-cluster-'$15 of resource consumption (equivalent to 50 million Request Units and 10 GiB of storage) for free each month ... can be spent across all CockroachDB Basic clusters in an organization'
2026-10-21www.cockroachlabs.com/pricing/'This pricing applies to Cockroach Continuum for anyone getting started or adding new database deployments on or after September 15, 2026'
More fields (1)
{
 "dead_end": {
  "failure_class": "quota",
  "why": "$15/month of free resource consumption per pay-as-you-go org = 50M Request Units + 10 GiB storage/month",
  "retry_when": null,
  "first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (6)
  • $.extras.dead_end.retry_when process
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-extracted
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-extracted
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted
  • $.retention.stated not-extracted