fshy

Home / AWS

Amazon EC2 Spot

aws.amazon.com/free/GPU cloudcompute/amazon-ec2-spotJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON

Free allowance
The AWS Free Tier is now a plan with an instance-type allowlist.
Verdict
fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
Cost
no price stated
Identity
cardcard required, no phone
Binding limit
volume-quotaGPU Spot quota defaults to 0 vCPU and the Free plan blocks the request, so the two gates must both be opened, and opening either one requires an upgraded paid plan.
Evidence
documented12 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Free tierThe AWS Free Tier is now a plan with an instance-type allowlist. New accounts from 15 July 2025 get 'USD 100 in credits immediately' plus 'up to USD 100 more', valid 6 months, and on the Free plan the account 'closes on its own 6 months after you open it or when your credits run out'. Reporting of the console restriction is consistent: 'This instance type is not eligible under the Free Plan. Upgrade your account plan to access this instance type', and the eligible list is T3.micro, T3.small, T4g.micro, T4g.small, C7i-flex.large and M7i-flex.large. No GPU family is on it.
unit none; metered on wall-clock; one-time-credit
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • volume-quota (binding) GPU Spot quota defaults to 0 vCPU and the Free plan blocks the request, so the two gates must both be opened, and opening either one requires an upgraded paid plan. source
Identitycard not published
Egressnot stated
Interfaceunknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withThe USD 100 to 200 credit is real money, but it buys CPU Spot at standard prices rather than GPU time, so it does not multiply a training run.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesTwo separate walls, and the credit is behind both: the plan allowlist blocks the instance type, and the Spot quota blocks the family. A user who upgrades to the paid plan keeps the remaining credit for 12 months, so the credit is not lost by upgrading, which makes upgrading the cheapest way to convert the trial into GPU time. qualifies-with-caveat via a05-spot; qualifies-with-caveat via a05-spot; qualifies-with-caveat via a05-spot; qualifies-with-caveat via a05-spot. The one recorded is the better-evidenced. Spot is a paid product and the rates in this record are purchasable; what blocks a new account is a GPU Spot vCPU quota that defaults to zero, which needs a quota-increase request. fails-quota names that; fails-identity named a gate that is reachable.
Evidence 12
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22aws.amazon.com/free/new Free Tier accounts get 'USD 100 in credits immediately' and 'up to USD 100 more', for 6 months, and the account closes 6 months after opening, quoted
2026-10-22docs.aws.amazon.com/AWSEC2/latest/UserGuide/using-spot-limitAll G and VT Spot Instance Requests default to 0 vCPU, so GPU Spot is closed before the credit is spent
2026-10-22www.reddit.com/r/aws/comments/1m8t9rb/why_is_t2micro_not_frea user quotes the console refusal 'This instance type is not eligible under the Free Plan. Upgrade your account plan to access this instance type', and the eligible list is T3.micro, T3.small, T4g.micro, T4g.small, C7i-flex.large and M7i-flex.large
2026-10-22website.spot.ec2.aws.a2z.com/spot.jsprobe record shows status 200, 7625200 bytes, sha256 3624b033d08f7c2ff9460d6c389713ba640178ed452fa9e4881089a629d3dfeb, header last-modified Mon, 13 May 2024, and the parsed config contains no g6e, p5e or g7e size
2026-10-22www.devzero.io/instances/aws/g6.xlargea live tracker reports g6.xlarge spot in us-east-1 at USD 0.476 and in us-east-2 at USD 0.411, against the feed's 0.1050
2026-10-22www.doit.com/compute/spot/us-east-2/g6.xlargethe page states 'The lowest spot price for AWS EC2 g6.xlarge in us-east-2 is $0.2238 per hour', a third value that also contradicts the feed
2026-10-22www.devzero.io/instances/aws/g6.xlargea per-region table for g6.xlarge gives spot USD 0.476 in us-east-1, 0.411 in us-east-2, 0.408 in us-west-2, 0.176 in eu-north-1, 0.136 in ap-south-2 and 0.566 in ap-northeast-1, against on-demand USD 0.805 in us-east-1
2026-10-22www.doit.com/compute/spot/us-east-2/g6.xlargean independent tracker states 'The lowest spot price for AWS EC2 g6.xlarge in us-east-2 is $0.2238 per hour', which disagrees with the other tracker's 0.411 for the same region, so even a single region has no agreed spot number
2026-10-22docs.aws.amazon.com/AWSEC2/latest/UserGuide/using-spot-limitthe Spot quota table lists All G and VT Spot Instance Requests at a default of 0 and All Standard at 5, quoted
2026-10-22aws.amazon.com/ec2/spot/instance-advisor/AWS states Spot Instances save 'up to 90% compared to On-Demand pricing' and that the average interruption frequency across all Regions and instance types has historically been '<5%'…
2026-10-22docs.aws.amazon.com/AWSEC2/latest/UserGuide/spot-instance-tethe interruption notice is issued two minutes before stop or terminate, delivered via EventBridge and IMDSv2 spot/instance-action, and is best effort, quoted
2026-10-22aws.amazon.com/ec2/spot/instance-advisor/the page states 'save up to 90% compared to On-Demand pricing' and 'the average frequency of interruption across all Regions and instance types has historically been <5%', but the per-pool table did not appear in the extracted text, so the read is marked low confidence
More fields 1
{
 "facets": {
  "class": "spot-arbitrage",
  "free_tier_kind": "one-time-credit",
  "shape": null
 }
}
Unknown values 7
  • $.egress.metered egress metering was not published
  • $.egress.terms a source was read and is silent on this field
  • $.interface the access interface was not established
  • $.per_object_cap.stated the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • $.reliability_note nothing of this kind was observed
  • $.retention.stated the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • $.tooling a source was read and is silent on this field