fshy

Home / AWS

Amazon Q Developer

aws.amazon.com/q/developer/pricing/Cloud VMcompute/amazon-q-developerJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON

Free allowance
Amazon Q Developer Free Tier: "Included agentic requests (Q&A chat, agentic coding) | 50 agentic requests per month" and "1,000 lines of code per month" for Java transformation, with "Access latest Claude models"…
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
no price stated
Identity
emailno card, no phone
Binding limit
request-rate50 agentic requests a month is about two a working day, so one long refactor consumes the month.
Evidence
documented2 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Free tierAmazon Q Developer Free Tier: "Included agentic requests (Q&A chat, agentic coding) | 50 agentic requests per month" and "1,000 lines of code per month" for Java transformation, with "Access latest Claude models"…
unit none; metered on wall-clock; recurring-allowance
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • request-rate (binding) 50 agentic requests a month is about two a working day, so one long refactor consumes the month. source
Identityemail email: the pricing page states the perpetual Free Tier is 'available to users logged in as an AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) user or AWS Builder ID user', and 'Free Tier limits in the IDE are available only to Builder ID users', so the gate is a Builder ID or an IAM user under an AWS account. Whether a card is required at signup, and whether any hold is taken, is not stated in any evidence row: unknown; the record's chaining field asserts a Builder ID needs no card, but no evidence row says so.
Egressnot stated
Interfacecli inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withan AWS Builder ID needs no card and no AWS spend, so this is a $0 lane to a frontier Claude model through an IDE plugin and a CLI; it composes with any repository and is the cheapest frontier-model access per unit of identity.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThe gate is narrower than an email address: the IDE lane needs a Builder ID specifically, and IAM-user limits count at the account level. The 1,000 LOC Java upgrade is a separate quota and is the larger of the two in practice.
Evidence 2
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22aws.amazon.com/q/developer/pricing/the pricing table gives Free 50 agentic requests per month and 1,000 lines of code per month for transformation, quoted
2026-10-22aws.amazon.com/q/developer/pricing/"Amazon Q Developer offers a perpetual Free Tier with monthly limits available to users logged in as an AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) user or AWS Builder ID user." and "Free Tier limits in the IDE are available only to Builder ID users." quoted
More fields 1
{
 "facets": {
  "class": "perpetual-allowance",
  "free_tier_kind": "recurring-allowance",
  "shape": {
   "vcpu": null,
   "ram_gib": null,
   "gpu_class": null,
   "gpu_count": null
  }
 }
}
Unknown values 6
  • $.egress.metered egress metering was not published
  • $.egress.terms a source was read and is silent on this field
  • $.per_object_cap.stated the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • $.reliability_note nothing of this kind was observed
  • $.retention.stated the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • $.tooling a source was read and is silent on this field