AWS Activate, Portfolio
Sibling records disagree:
- identity_kind:
compute/aws-activate-founderssays email, compute/aws-activate-portfolio says institution - verdict:
compute/aws-activate-founderssays qualifies-with-caveat, compute/aws-activate-portfolio says fails-identity
- Free allowance
- The Activate Portfolio tier offers up to USD 200,000 in AWS Activate Credits for provider-backed startups.
- Verdict
- fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
- Cost
- no price stated
- Identity
- institutionno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- write-gatedThe Activate Provider Org ID fails first: without a VC or accelerator that is a registered provider, no application can be submitted at all.
- Evidence
- documented2 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
| Free tier | The Activate Portfolio tier offers up to USD 200,000 in AWS Activate Credits for provider-backed startups. Eligibility includes: associated with an Activate Provider and have their Organizational ID, not previously received AWS Activate Credits of equal or greater value, Pre-Series B with the most recent funding round in the last 12 months, a fully functioning company website, and founded in the past 10 years. unit none; metered on wall-clock; one-shot-credit |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
|
| Identity | institution Requires an Organizational ID issued by an Activate Provider, which is a VC, accelerator or startup organization. That is an investor relationship, not a document a user can produce alone. |
| Egress | not stated |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | USD 200,000 of AWS spend would cover a serious training or serving run for a year, and the credits apply to Bedrock third-party models. The chain breaks at the Org ID: it is issued by an investor, so it composes only for a company that has already raised. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | Additional credits above USD 200,000 are stated to exist for AI startups, routed through an AWS account manager, which is a sales conversation rather than a program. The lifetime cap is unnamed on the page. |
Evidence 2
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | aws.amazon.com/startups/learn/everything-you-need-to-know-ab | Portfolio tier offers up to USD 200,000 and requires an Activate Provider Organizational ID plus a funding round in the last 12 months, quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | aws.amazon.com/startups/credits/ | the page names Andreessen Horowitz, Brex, Carta, Greylock, Sequoia and Y Combinator as Activate Providers, which is the class of entity that issues the Org ID, quoted |
More fields 1
{
"facets": {
"class": "startup-credit",
"free_tier_kind": "one-shot-credit",
"shape": null
}
}Unknown values 7
$.egress.meteredegress metering was not published$.egress.termsa source was read and is silent on this field$.interfacethe access interface was not established$.per_object_cap.statedthe field does not apply to this kind of offer$.reliability_notenothing of this kind was observed$.retention.statedthe field does not apply to this kind of offer$.toolinga source was read and is silent on this field