Home / AWS
AWS Cloud Credit
aws.amazon.com/government-education/research-and-technical-cGPU cloudcompute/aws-cloud-creditJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON
- Free allowance
- 'Student awards will be up to a maximum of $5,000.00.
- Verdict
- fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
- Cost
- no price stated
- Identity
- institutionno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- write-gatedthe application needs an institution-issued .edu or .org address and a 90 to 120 day human review, so an unaffiliated applicant cannot submit at all.
- Evidence
- documented3 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
| Free tier | 'Student awards will be up to a maximum of $5,000.00. Faculty and Staff awards are not capped.' Awards are AWS Promotional Credit, and 'Amazon EC2 usage supported by AWS Promotional Credit will be for on-demand and spot instances only'. Review cycle 90 to 120 days. unit none; metered on wall-clock; one-time-credit |
|---|
| Price | none stated |
|---|
| Limits | - write-gated (binding) the application needs an institution-issued .edu or .org address and a 90 to 120 day human review, so an unaffiliated applicant cannot submit at all. source
|
|---|
| Identity | institution an institution-issued email address on a .edu, .org or equivalent domain, plus an eligible role at an accredited research institution (full-time faculty, full-time research staff, or an enrolled graduate/post-graduate/PhD student). The FAQ states 'Applications from non-institution domains will not be accepted.' Review takes 90 to 120 days. No card, hold, debit or prepaid term is stated: the award is credit on an AWS account the applicant already holds. |
|---|
| Egress | not stated |
|---|
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
|---|
| Tooling | not stated |
|---|
| Composes with | None. The credit lands on an AWS account the applicant already holds, and the institution email is the gate that precedes the award, so no chain starts. |
|---|
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
|---|
| Notes | A clean refutation and the most useful negative in this class, because USD 5,000 uncapped-for-staff is the kind of number a reader would otherwise chase. Two separate gates, either of which is fatal: the .edu/.org domain rule, stated as an absolute ('will not be accepted'), and the role list, which has no independent-researcher category. The program itself is alive and global outside greater China, so the verdict is fails-identity rather than dead. |
|---|
Evidence 3
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|
| 2026-10-22 | aws.amazon.com/government-education/research-and-technical-c | 'Student awards will be up to a maximum of $5,000.00. Faculty and Staff awards are not capped' and 'Amazon EC2 usage supported by AWS Promotional Credit will be for on-demand and spot instances only' and 'Typical review cycles are 90 to 120 days', quoted; page 200 |
| 2026-10-22 | aws.amazon.com/government-education/research-and-technical-c | 'We require applicants provide their official institution-issued email ID (.edu, .org, or equivalent) to expedite the verification and decision process. Applications from non-institution domains will not be accepted.' quoted; also 'The only exception is applications from the greater China region' |
| 2026-10-22 | aws.amazon.com/government-education/research-and-technical-c | eligibility list is exactly three roles, all tied to 'an accredited research institution': full-time faculty, full-time research staff, graduate/post-graduate/PhD students enrolled there |
More fields 1
{
"facets": {
"class": "research-credit",
"free_tier_kind": "one-time-credit",
"shape": {
"vcpu": null,
"ram_gib": null,
"gpu_class": null,
"gpu_count": null
}
}
}Unknown values 7
$.egress.metered egress metering was not published$.egress.terms a source was read and is silent on this field$.interface the access interface was not established$.per_object_cap.stated the field does not apply to this kind of offer$.reliability_note nothing of this kind was observed$.retention.stated the field does not apply to this kind of offer$.tooling a source was read and is silent on this field