- Free allowance
- Quoted: 'we've provided AWS Promotional Credits to more than 200 different open source projects' since the programme 'launched in 2019', and the credits 'can be used on compute resources, storage, database services, development tools, and testing infrastructure'.
- Verdict
- caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
- Cost
- no price stated
- Identity
- cardcard required, phone required
- Binding limit
- write-gatedAn active AWS account with a valid payment method and no outstanding invoices is required before applying, review is monthly, and December issues no credits at all.
- Evidence
- documented3 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
| Free tier | Quoted: 'we've provided AWS Promotional Credits to more than 200 different open source projects' since the programme 'launched in 2019', and the credits 'can be used on compute resources, storage, database services, development tools, and testing infrastructure'. Applications are an Excel form emailed to [address removed], reviewed and issued 'on a monthly basis', and 'The credits will expire after one year'. unit none; metered on wall-clock; recurring-credit |
|---|
| Price | none stated |
|---|
| Limits | - write-gated (binding) An active AWS account with a valid payment method and no outstanding invoices is required before applying, review is monthly, and December issues no credits at all. source
|
|---|
| Identity | card an active AWS account carrying a valid payment method on file: the 2019 programme post states 'you will need an active AWS Account, including a valid payment method on file', and the record's binding note adds that no outstanding invoices may exist. The authorisation amount is not stated; whether debit or prepaid is accepted is not stated; whether a phone or tax identity is required at AWS signup is not stated |
|---|
| Egress | not stated |
|---|
| Interface | s3-compatible inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
|---|
| Tooling | not stated |
|---|
| Composes with | Credits that cover 'compute resources, storage, database services' are the broadest instrument after a cash grant: the same balance pays for EC2 spot time, S3 and a managed database, so a whole pipeline runs on one award. |
|---|
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
|---|
| Notes | The amount per project is not published on either AWS page, so the number is null; the two public figures are 200+ recipient projects and a one-year expiry, neither of which is a per-project size. Two eligibility lines tilt toward teams: 'not dominated by a single vendor' and a preference for maintainers from multiple entities, which is softer than Datadog's rule and does not exclude a solo maintainer outright. The 2019 post and the 2025 post give different application addresses (awsopen@ and [address removed]), so use the current form. |
|---|