fshy

Home / AWS

Amazon DynamoDB (Storage)

aws.amazon.com/dynamodb/IaaSstorage/amazon-dynamodbJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON

Free allowance
25 GB of storage, always free (does not expire), plus 25 WCU and 25 RCU provisioned capacity and ~200M requests/month
Verdict
fails: egressdata cannot be read back out at a usable rate or price
Cost
free tier
Identity
card?placeholder, not evidence; card required, phone unknown
Binding limit
noneno named constraint binds
Evidence
reported6 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tier25 GB of storage, always free (does not expire), plus 25 WCU and 25 RCU provisioned capacity and ~200M requests/month
unit GB; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Identitycard (placeholder) inferred from the category 'iaas'; the source record states no identity cost, so this is a class assumption, not evidence
EgressMetered — AWS gives 100 GB/month of data transfer out free, aggregated across all AWS services. 100 GB/month = ~3.3 GB/day vs 500 GB/day: 150x short. Beyond that, standard internet DTO rates.
free allowance: 100 GB per month
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
Interfacerest, cli rest
ToolingAWS SDKs (boto3 etc.), aws dynamodb CLI, PartiQL; native Binary attribute type (raw bytes, base64 on the wire only); DynamoDB Streams + Lambda for processing
Composes with25 GB per account per region, and the docs confirm 'the first 25 GB of storage are included in the AWS Free Tier in each AWS Region' — so N regions x 25 GB. 20 regions = 500 GB in principle, all under one account. This is the single largest structured-store byte allowance found. But the 25 RCU cap is region-global per table, so serving is throttled regardless.
ReliabilityThe catch is throughput: 25 RCU is 25 strongly-consistent 4 KB reads/sec, which is a hard ceiling no amount of sharding within the free tier escapes.
Evidence 6
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21docs.aws.amazon.com/whitepapers/latest/how-aws-pricing-works'Always Free ... Amazon DynamoDB: Up to 200 million requests per month (25 write capacity units (WCUs) and 25 read capacity units (RCUs)); 25 GB of storage.'
2026-10-21aws.amazon.com/dynamodb/pricing/'the first 25 GB of storage are included in the AWS Free Tier'; 'The first 25 GB of storage are included in the AWS Free Tier in each AWS Region'; 'The AWS Free Tier includes 25 WCUs and 25 RCUs'
2026-10-21docs.aws.amazon.com/amazondynamodb/latest/developerguide/Con'The maximum item size in DynamoDB is 400 KB, which includes both attribute name binary length (UTF-8 length) and attribute value lengths'
2026-10-21docs.aws.amazon.com/amazondynamodb/latest/developerguide/Cap'A binary value must be encoded in base64 format before it can be sent to DynamoDB, but the value's raw byte length is used for calculating size'; 'All items in DynamoDB require 100 bytes of storage overhead per item'
2026-10-21aws.amazon.com/ec2/pricing/on-demand/'AWS customers receive 100 GB of free data transfer out to the internet free each month, aggregated across all AWS Services and Regions'
2026-10-21source not publishedarithmetic: 25 RCU x 4 KB = 100 KB/s = 8.64 GB/day of reads — 58x short of 500 GB/day, and this is the BEST op-to-byte ratio among the metered-capacity stores
More fields 1
{
 "dead_end": {
  "failure_class": "retention",
  "why": "25 GB of storage, always free (does not expire), plus 25 WCU and 25 RCU provisioned capacity and ~200M requests/month",
  "retry_when": null,
  "first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
 }
}
Unknown values 5
  • $.binding_note boilerplate
  • $.per_object_cap.notes the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • $.per_object_cap.stated the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • $.retention.notes the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • $.retention.stated the field may be stated in a source that was not read