DigitalOcean (2)
Sibling records disagree:
- verdict:
compute/digitalocean-2says dead, compute/digitalocean-droplet-1gb says paid-only - identity_kind:
compute/digitalocean-2says institution, compute/digitalocean-droplet-1gb says card
- Free allowance
- none
- Verdict
- deadthe offer or the service no longer exists
- Cost
- no price stated
- Identity
- institutionno card, phone required
- Binding limit
- retention-clampedthe credit expired on a fixed date and the balance did not roll over, so the USD 200 was a clock that ran out, and the provider has left the programme that issued it.
- Evidence
- reported2 sources; a third party said so
- Freshness
- checked 2026-10-22checked 2026-10-22 (live)
| Free tier | not published unit none; metered on wall-clock; one-time-credit |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
|
| Identity | institution the gate was student verification, and the offer is now dead: the GitHub Student Developer Pack changelog dates the withdrawal to July 2026 and addresses "Verified students who have already redeemed the DigitalOcean offer", so the identity cost was the pack's student check rather than a card. The record does not state which documents GitHub Education requires, and no card, phone, hold, debit or prepaid statement appears. The credit expired on 2026-07-31, so nothing is reachable by this route now |
| Egress | not stated |
| Retention | the credit expired on a fixed date and the balance did not roll over, so the USD 200 was a clock that ran out, and the provider has left the programme that issued it. |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | The student pack is the corpus's standard free-identity route, so every credit that leaves the pack removes a chain link that other records assume exists. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | Recorded as a dead end for the credit, not for DigitalOcean the company, which still sells. The corpus holds the GitHub Student Developer Pack only from the storage angle (storage/github-student-developer-pack, verdict fails-quota) and never enumerated the compute-side credits, which is how a USD 200 withdrawal went unrecorded. Clarified 2026-10-22: this record is the withdrawn student credit and stays dead. DigitalOcean still sells Droplets from USD 4.00 a month for 512 MiB / 1 vCPU / 10 GiB / 500 GiB transfer, and that paid floor is recorded in digitalocean and in the micro floor table rather than here. |
Evidence 2
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | www.nodeseek.com/post-774667-1 | re-read 2026-10-22: the page no longer carries the claim it was cited for. This is the check that confirms the shutdown recorded here, not the notice itself |
| 2026-10-22 | raw.githubusercontent.com/github-education-resources/Student | quoted from the GitHub Student Developer Pack changelog, entry dated July 7, 2026: 'DigitalOcean is leaving the Student Developer Pack, and their student credit offer for $200 of platform credit will no longer be available after July 31, 2026. Verified students who have already redeemed the DigitalOcean offer can continue using any existing credits until August 1, 2026. After that date, any remaining credits will expire.' Supports the withdrawal, the USD 200 figure and a fixed expiry with no carry-over; the changelog puts the last usable day at 2026-07-31 with expiry after 2026-08-01, which agrees with the stored 2026-07-31 date to the day boundary |
More fields 1
{
"facets": {
"class": "student-pack",
"free_tier_kind": "one-time-credit",
"shape": {
"vcpu": null,
"ram_gib": null,
"gpu_class": null,
"gpu_count": 0
}
}
}Unknown values 6
$.egress.meteredegress metering was not published$.egress.termsa source was read and is silent on this field$.interfacethe access interface was not established$.per_object_cap.statedthe field does not apply to this kind of offer$.reliability_notenothing of this kind was observed$.toolinga source was read and is silent on this field