GCP research credits programme (Cloud for Higher Education)
- Free allowance
- $5,000 one-time for faculty/postdoc; $1,000 per year for PhD students.
- Verdict
- fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- institutionno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- write-gatedreview
- Evidence
- reported3 sources; a third party said so
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
| Free tier | $5,000 one-time for faculty/postdoc; $1,000 per year for PhD students. Credit-denominated, buys GCS at list price (~$20/TB-month Standard). unit TB; metered on unstated |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
Only available in the countries on Google's dropdown; must be a faculty member, postdoc, or PhD student at a listed institution; masters students ineligible. Faculty may apply only once, ever ('you are only eligible to apply one time'). 6-8 week review. One applicant per research proposal. |
| Binding | write-gated the write is a queue with a person or a rule in it, so the upload rate is set by somebody else |
| Identity | institution not published |
| Egress | Metered at standard GCS rates unless fronted by Cloudflare; credit covers it. |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Retention | not stated |
| Interface | s3, rclone s3 |
| Tooling | GCS JSON/XML API, gsutil, rclone 'gcs' backend. |
| Composes with | PhD students can re-apply annually - the only genuinely recurring line here. $1,000/yr is roughly 4 TB-months of Standard storage, so it funds a working set, not an archive. |
| Reliability | Credits expire; GCS bills continue after the credit is exhausted. No data loss, just a bill. |
Evidence 3
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | support.google.com/google-cloud-higher-ed/answer/10724468?hl | 'PhD students conducting research may apply for $1000 in GCP Credit per year'; 'Faculty and Postdoctoral researchers are eligible for one award of up to $5,000 USD' |
| 2026-10-21 | support.google.com/google-cloud-higher-ed/answer/10724468?hl | 'if you are a faculty member or postdoctoral researcher you are only eligible to apply one time' |
| 2026-10-21 | edu.google.com/programs/credits/research/ | 'The program is currently only available in the countries listed'; form requires organisation name and faculty-directory link |
More fields 1
{
"dead_end": {
"failure_class": "quota",
"why": "$5,000 one-time for faculty/postdoc; $1,000 per year for PhD students. Credit-denominated, buys GCS at list price (~$20/TB-month Standard).",
"retry_when": null,
"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
}
}Unknown values 5
$.identity_cost.detailboilerplate$.per_object_cap.notesthe field may be stated in a source that was not read$.per_object_cap.statedthe field may be stated in a source that was not read$.retention.notesthe field may be stated in a source that was not read$.retention.statedthe field may be stated in a source that was not read