Mistral La
mistral.ai · Compute, Inference · 3 records · JSON
- Mistral La Plateforme Computecaveatany-phoneno cardphoneDrequest-rate
- Mistral La Plateforme Inferencecaveatemailno cardDrequest-rate
- Mistral Compute / AI Cloud Computedeademail?card?Rwrite-gated
Mistral La Plateforme Compute
caveatany-phoneno cardphoneDrequest-rate
| Free tier | Free mode still exists and its limits are now unpublished. The docs say 'Free mode lets you create API keys and use included monthly usage within the limits shown on the Limits page', and the help centre names the three limit dimensions, 'Requests per second (RPS)', 'Tokens per minute' and 'Tokens per month'. No figure appears on any public Mistral page: the docs point at admin.mistral.ai/plateforme/limits, which is behind a login. The 'USD 10 /mo in API credits' line that third parties still quote is no longer on mistral.ai/pricing, and a 2026-09-01 archive capture does not carry it either. unit none; metered on wall-clock; recurring-monthly-allowance |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | any-phone a one-time SMS verification on any phone number, and no card: the record's notes report this from third-party signup guides, and state that no Mistral page itself documents a phone step, so this is reported rather than documented. No authorisation amount is stated because no payment method is taken; debit and prepaid acceptance are therefore not applicable on the free mode. What the guides say the SMS is sent to is not recorded |
| Limits |
the number that binds is not published, so the honest answer is that the monthly token cap is unknown until an account exists; third-party guides that still print '1 billion tokens a month' and '1 request a second' describe the retired Experiment plan, whose help pages now return 404. |
| Binding | request-rate the number that binds is not published, so the honest answer is that the monthly token cap is unknown until an account exists; third-party guides that still print '1 billion tokens a month' and '1 request a second' describe the retired Experiment plan, whose help pages now return 404. |
| Interface | rest inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | an unpublished monthly cap is still a cap: the only safe composition is to treat the free key as a prototype lane and move any recurring job to Cloudflare's published 10,000 Neurons a day, which at least prints its meter. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | Refutation of a widely repeated number: '1 billion tokens a month on Mistral's free tier' belongs to the Experiment plan that Mistral retired, and no current Mistral page states it. The 'USD 10 a month in API credits' line was on the pricing page in early October 2026 according to a change tracker; it is absent today and absent from the 2026-09-01 capture, so the exact date it left is unverified and the current state is that no figure is published. Identity: third-party signup guides report a one-time SMS verification and no card, and no Mistral page states a phone step; recorded as any-phone, reported rather than documented. Data on Free mode may be used for training unless opted out, which is a technical reliability fact a batch job should account for. |
| Evidence rung | documented |
| Checked | 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21 |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence (4)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | docs.mistral.ai/admin/billing-usage/usage-limits | 'Free mode lets you create API keys and use included monthly usage within the limits shown on the Limits page', quoted; no figure on the page |
| 2026-10-22 | help.mistral.ai/en/articles/698531-why-am-i-hitting-my-api-u | 'The API enforces three limits: Requests per second (RPS)... Tokens per minute... Tokens per month', and 'See your current limits, usage, and tier on the Limits page', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | mistral.ai/pricing | the Free plan card lists Vibe and Studio features only; no API credit figure appears anywhere on the page |
| 2026-09-01 | web.archive.org/web/20260901163208/https://mistral.ai/pricin | the 2026-09-01 capture also carries no 'USD 10 /mo in API credits' line, so the figure was already gone by September |
More fields (1)
{
"wave2": {
"class": "refutation",
"free_tier_kind": "recurring-monthly-allowance",
"shape": {
"vcpu": null,
"ram_gib": null,
"gpu_class": null,
"gpu_count": null
}
}
}Unknown or withheld values (8)
$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-applicable$.toolingnot-stated
Mistral La Plateforme Inference
caveatemailno cardDrequest-rate
| Free tier | a free API tier exists: 'We offer various tiers on the platform, including a free API tier with restrictive rate limits. The free API tier is designed to allow you to try and explore our API.' No number is published on that page unit requests; metered on request-count; the live page returns 404 today; the text quoted is from the Wayback capture of 2025-10-09T00:54:12Z, reached through the archive broker. The page states the numbers are per workspace and visible only at admin.mistral.ai/plateforme/limits, so the ceiling is behind a login |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable: an inference endpoint stores nothing for the caller |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | the response is the payload; no separate egress term is published |
| Identity | email an account and an API key |
| Limits |
no numeric limit was read. The docs site's tier page returned 404 on 2026-10-22, so the ceiling was not read; the read broker was not retried on an alternative path. |
| Binding | request-rate the per-workspace request and token rates bind, and the free tier's values are behind a login, so the ceiling cannot be sized before an account exists |
| Interface | rest |
| Tooling | any OpenAI-compatible client |
| Composes with | pairs with an agent after a signup; the scarce link is the account, and the free tier's ceiling is unread |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded; no key was available |
| Notes | The archive shows it existed in October 2025 with the same content shape and the same deferral to a post-login limits page, so a move is the more likely and nothing suggests the free tier closed. The rung is documented, not measured: the 401 proves the endpoint and not the allowance. This record is stale by design: its only first-party evidence for the free tier is an archived page 378 days old, because the live documentation path 404s. The alternative was to keep the tier unrecorded, which would have left a claim with no evidence at all. Re-read it when the docs site serves a tier page again. |
| Evidence rung | documented the free tier's existence and its scope are from the archived first-party page, because the live path 404s; the 401 gate was probed today. No number is published in either place, so the ceiling is documented as existing and not as sized. |
| Checked | 2026-10-23 (live); stale on 2026-11-22 |
Evidence (3)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | docs.mistral.ai/deployment/laplateforme/tier/ | returned 404 with a soft-404 body ('¿Meow? Page not found.'), through the raw fetch and the read broker alike. The documentation path has moved |
| 2025-10-09 | web.archive.org/web/20251009005412/https://docs.mistral.ai/d | the archived 'Rate limit and usage tiers' page states 'We offer various tiers on the platform, including a free API tier with restrictive rate limits', that limits are 'set at the workspace level' and defined by usage tier, and that the current values are visible only at admin.mistral.ai/plateforme/limits |
| 2026-10-22 | probe:https://api.mistral.ai/v1/chat/completions | an unauthenticated POST returned 401 with a 29-byte body, {"detail":"Invalid API Key"}. The endpoint exists and gates on a key |
Unknown or withheld values (1)
$.retention.statednot-applicable
Mistral Compute / AI Cloud Compute
deademail?card?Rwrite-gated
| Free tier | not stated unit none; metered on wall-clock |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Retention | not stated |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
| Limits |
not stated |
| Binding | write-gated |
| Interface | unknown |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | not stated |
| Reliability | the product page returns 404 and lands on a support shell |
| Notes | The product page is gone. The URL now lands on a help-centre shell that offers support channels and no product, price or signup, so whatever Mistral sold at /products/aicloud is no longer sold at that address. |
| Evidence rung | reported |
| Checked | 2026-10-23 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-06 |
Evidence (2)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-02 | mistral.ai/products/aicloud/ | not published |
| 2026-10-22 | mistral.ai/products/aicloud/ | the origin returns 404 for mistral.ai/products/aicloud/ on every route, including ?__provider=firecrawl and the raw fetch, on 2026-10-22; the capture is Mistral's help-centre page, which is where the 404 lands |
More fields (13)
{
"talaria_m10h_usd": null,
"talaria_m24h_usd": null,
"nemo_m10h_usd": null,
"keep_rate": null,
"keep_rate_basis": "no field in the source",
"billing_model": "unclassified",
"shape": null,
"session_cap": null,
"persistent_storage": null,
"network_out": null,
"price_note": null,
"free_tier_kind": "none",
"reclassified_from": "dead"
}Unknown or withheld values (19)
$.chainingnot-stated$.confidence_notewithheld$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.evidence[0].provedprocess$.extras.price_noteprocess$.free_tier.noteswithheld$.free_tier.statednot-stated$.identity_cost.detaildefaulted$.identity_cost.kindidentity-defaulted$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.interface_detailwithheld$.limits[0].valuewithheld$.limits_notenot-stated$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-stated$.retention.notesnot-extracted$.retention.statednot-stated$.toolingnot-stated
Corrections
- 2026-10-22 Mistral's AI-cloud page is a 404, and the record sold it as paid capacity